We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service and tasty food”
Review of O Conquistador

O Conquistador
Ranked #39 of 72 Restaurants in Obidos
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Portuguese, European, Grill, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Plymouth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly service and tasty food”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Although this is a very touristy town, we found this little restaurant along a cobbled street and were not disappointed
The elderly owner, obviously enjoys his work and made us feel welcome
Sat outside and soaked up the local atmosphere with a glass of the excellent house wine
We had the grilled large squid which was fresh and tasty
Once we sat down, all the outside tables filled up very quickly, which tells you the place is popular
I would say that the menu is quite varied, with other people enjoying fish stew and other local dishes

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    32
    17
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service. ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Small restaurant with a fast and great service. The menu is quite good and one can seat outside in the street. Very cozy

Helpful?
1 Thank AlejoMejiaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

A nice little restaurant in a picturesque street of Obidos. We were the only customers, probably due to the off season and early hour (looks like lunch in Portugal is usually served later than 1pm). Food was reasonably good, though service not quite so fast, prices moderate.

Helpful?
Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not really Portuguese food”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

It is a local restaurant looking from outside but don't get attracted by the look of the table as this is not a typical Portuguese restaurant but more a tourist place . Being Portuguese myself even basic receip are not right . The only good stuff is the warm bread and the cheese fresh .... Walk a bit away if you want real good food .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Etanael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best restaurant we found in Obidos”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Restaurants in Obidos are strictly oriented towards tourist. Some of them are good (we ate in 5), but this is the only one we really could say we liked. In some way, it seemed more authentic; the decor cerainly was, quite simple. The food was delicious and the house wine excellent. It was quite inexpensive and the owner is really nice, even though he did not speak much english.

Only restaurant we ate in in Obidos that we would think of going back to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joneall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Conquistador also viewed

 
Obidos, Leiria District
Obidos, Leiria District
 

Been to O Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing