We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven't been so positively impressed in a long time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Haven't been so positively impressed in a long time!”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This hotel has really positively surprised me!
The staff’s uniform is medieval, which is a very nice touch! Once you go down the corridors, the entire décor is also medieval, with fantastic armors and weapons, but all very tastefully done. The rooms are named after Portuguese Kings and Queens. The Key to the door is massive, much like the ancient keys! There is also a Massage Service that you need to book with about 1 ½ hours in advance - not with a great choice, but sufficient.
Breakfast was extremely varied and with a great quality.
The hotel also has a garage / parking, which is quite handy.
After returning from dinner, we found that turn down service was also provided, which was greatly appreciated.
All in All, a great experience. I do strongly recommend it and I wish to stay there again in a near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SM1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    159
    45
    11
    4
See reviews for
104
280
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This hotel is very well located. 2 mn from downtown. The ambiance have a medieval touch. You get a huggge key to open your door! The staff is very nice and the breakfast is very genrous with a lot of choice. Avoid rooms next ot the pool since they are located near the laundry and you can hear the washing machine all day long...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I agree with the last couple of reviewers. We were here in late December 2013. The mediaeval theme is fine for those who like that kind of thing - although clearly most of the items were no older than me.

The reception area smelt musty (at least) the whole 2 days. Perhaps they'd had drainage problems - it was a very rainy time.

The room was musty as well - especially the wardrobe, one door of which was blocked from opening by the bedside cabinet. The reception and breakfast staff were fine, but there is no bar as such and breakfast was an uninspiring affair (I prefer quality to quantity - this buffet breakfast was very extensive but nothing was tempting and the coffee pots confused all who used them).

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TakerOfPics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The hotel Real D'Obidos is just ok, but clearly not as amazing as some people report. Rooms could be improved (beginning with the key), breakfast as well (coffee is only offered in thermo and juices are not fresh). The staff is friendly and helpful, but altogether it doesn't meet the expectations of a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillesand, Norway
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The city is like nothing I've ever seen before. Beautiful wall and houses. Great views from the wall. But almost no people...? Was lucky enough to find a small bar for drinks, and some friendly locals to show us around. The hotel has a nice medieval-theme, with armors etc. Located 15 meters from the wall. Free parking The pool has a great view overlooking the wall. But that doesn't help much, when the water is freezing. Staff was a little unfriendly, and lowers the rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyCappNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newhall, California
Level Contributor
331 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After we finally found the hotel (it was a little challenging even with GPS), we found the hotel extremely clean and comfortable. It appeared to be newly remodeled. The staff was very friendly and attentive and the breakfast was excellent. The only difficulty was with the shower head in the bathroom that could not be easily pointed at the tub! The location was excellent and we could slip in and out of the main town through a gate in the walls!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanJ77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sancerre
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Well what can I say? Arrived for 1 night and stayed 3! From the first welcome to the last goodby the staff were fantastic even for Portugal ! Room clean and comfortable, part from been awoken by the plumbing noises from the room next door and above it was a quite place to rest after a hard day sight seeing! Breakfast was quite a treat as well! Only problem " good coffee"

I will go back if I return to the area, hotel well placed to visit the surrounding areas!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlaship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#5 of 13 in Obidos
260 reviews
5.5 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#6 of 13 in Obidos
426 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#9 of 13 in Obidos
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real D'Obidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real D'Obidos

Property: Hotel Real D'Obidos
Address: Rua Dom Joao de Ornelas, Obidos 2510-074, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Real D'Obidos 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque town of Obidos and constructed from a house classified municipal interest , Hotel Real D' Obidos brings to our days living in different times , with each room named after a King of Portugal and with an its decoration alluding to the time of each. The Hotel offers free Wi - Fi, garage, boxes for your pet, a living room with fireplace and honesty bar, 3 meeting rooms and meetings, games, gardens, terrace and an outdoor swimming pool overlooking the walls of Obidos Castle. It's 18 air-conditioned rooms are decorated in a medieval style, but with all the comforts that our clients deserve. Divided into three categories corresponding to three patterns stay, including : - Standard - Superior - Suite (bedroom and living room equipped with a sofa bed for up to two children) All rooms are equipped with : - Air Conditioning - LCD Cable TV - Phone - Full bathroom - Free Amenities - Safe - Minibar(on request) Situated in one of the entries of the Village, the Hotel Real D'Obidos is located in a zone of great accessibility, only 78 km away from Lisbon and only 10 minutes walk from Obidos Train Station, 10 minutes drive from Caldas da Rainha and 20 minutes drive from Peniche and the Atlantic Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Real D'Obidos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real d Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing