We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not worth what it costs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Obidos
Certificate of Excellence
sao paulo, sp
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It is not worth what it costs”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Another hotel with a past grandeur and a present decayed reality.
Arrival: no one to help with luggage. The receptionist (vey nice!) was the one to help me with the bags. Prices are high, but even so they charge Euros 5 for scrambled eggs + bacon!! It was the only hotel I have stayed in Portugal that charged for this type of thing. Besides:no frigobar in the room (and the temperatures where very high), no wifi either.
Staff: great, but not enough to compensate these problems. It seems that the owner wants to suck till the last drop from the guests, without giving as much as he/she should.
Never again.

Room Tip: It is better to stay out of the walls of Óbidos. This will save the traveller many problems with ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mskeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    61
    19
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
134
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a great location.

Firstly to address the access concerns,if you can't find/ drive to this hotel you should not be driving in Portugal, it's not hard. If you are concerned get a map from the tourist office outside the gate and follow it.

Staff,decor and overall ambience are excellent. breakfast is limited and just adequate. Rooms/ beds are comfortable with the inevitable shower over the bath.

If hotel management reads this,there a 3 low cost items you need to fix!
* coffee is terrible
* pillows are terrible
* no internet access in room or breakfast area (easily fixed)

Obidos IS worth a visit, really explore the town away from the central tourist route, walk around the town wall, try the bars inside and outside the walls

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Casa das Senhoras Rainhas is a beautiful little hotel, with pretty/clean/charming rooms and elegant communal areas. The complimentary continental breakfast was delicious, and the service very good. Driving to the hotel was exciting through the narrow Obidos entrance gate (immediately turn left after the gate for about 100 meters and you will find hotel) - don't park outside, get inside the town if you arrive during the day. The town is simply beautiful, a gem, completely surrounded by the medieval walls. Good food and elegant artisan shops. On a nice/clear day the town and views are amazing. We used the hotel as the base for a three day weekend and visit Ericeira (little fishing town), Nazare (had dinner in A Tasquina for the best seafood value experience in Portugal) and you could also visit other towns close by. Service was also very good. Great Value overall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgeceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as it is recommended by Fodor. Really beautiful property and room is very large and staffs (like most places in Portugal) are super helpful. However, we had a terrifying time trying to get into the city wall and leaving as the gate is extremely small and not meant for cars. If you decide to eat at the hotel - can be pricey - would definitely suggest the duck.

If I ever pass by again, will definitely stay here. However, I will definitely park the car outside the wall or take a train or bus here.

Room Tip: As stated in the review, it is worth it to just walk through the gate with your luggage and leave th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This hotel was the most difficult to find in all our travels! It's just inside the walled city but actually in the wall! I couldn't believe the car was going to fit thru the key hole opening in the wall around the city! Locals will help direct you...just keep asking "which way?" The staff was helpful and the city of Obidos is truly a step back into the Middle Ages! Was somewhat crowded in the day time but by 5PM all the tourists leave! We had a wonderful room "Lenore" with a big patio facing the wall of the city. It just made me feel as if I was sitting in a part of history I read about ! This place is a nice little gem!

Room Tip: "Lenore" is a great large room with a patio facing the wall of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a tough time finding the entrance to the city but the locals directed us to the little arched entrance that our rental car squeezed through. It was perfectly situated to explore the walled city. The food was very good, especially the codfish specialty. However, because the restaurant is on the lower level it got hot inside.

Room Tip: We got the room above the reception desk with a view of one of the churches. Highly recommend the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryT1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Staying in Obidos is like taking a trip back in time to the middle ages. The Casa das Senhoras hotel adds to the experience with unique rooms and patios onto a courtyard. The breakfast service was great. The staff were very attentive. It felt like we were on the set of Game of Thrones !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Obidos hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Real D'Obidos
Hotel Real D'Obidos
#2 of 13 in Obidos
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
Josefa D'Obidos Hotel
#5 of 13 in Obidos
432 reviews
5.4 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa D'Obidos
Casa D'Obidos
#6 of 13 in Obidos
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
Hotel Vila d'Obidos
#9 of 13 in Obidos
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa de Sao Tiago do Castelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa das Senhoras Rainhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa das Senhoras Rainhas

Property: Casa das Senhoras Rainhas
Address: Rua Padre Nunes Tavares, No. 6, Obidos 2510-999, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Obidos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Obidos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Obidos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa das Senhoras Rainhas 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Casa das Senhoras Rainhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Das Senhoras Rainhas Obidos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing