We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb setting and comfortable, charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pousada Palacio de Queluz
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queluz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Keytel International's reservations team visited this hotel on a trip to explore this area, and we were impressed how easy it is to find this Pousada, an ideal base to see the ''pink palace'' of Queluz, directly in front of the Pousada. The Pousada is comfortable, very calm, and you can appreciate the historical relevance of the building which houses it, in the context of its former function as the guards' room for the defence of the palace 50m in front of it and visible from much of the Pousada. Lovely breakfast with freshly made local pastries, and the restaurant (which is actually in front, set in the palace's original kitchen) is a truly great experience of Portuguese cuisine. The town nearby is a typical small regional one, so enjoyable for a walk and a drink, with some shops. But in my view the Palace and the Pousada are the big attractions here and this is a good stepping stone for exploring the area of Queluz/Sintra/Lisbon and even Estoril and Cascais, all within 30 minutes' drive.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor have the best views over the palace and historic buildings alongside the Pous...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garydrewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada Palacio de Queluz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Gary,

First of all thank you so much for the time you spent on posting your review on Trip Advisor.

It has been a great pleasure to welcome you and Keytel Team and I have no right words to thank you for your so kind feedback which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We looking forward to hosting Keytel Clients and having the oportunity to show them the beautiful places in the sorroundings and share a part of our history.

You will be the most welcome anytime at this or anyother Pousadas in Portugal

Best regards

Arminda Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Pousada Palacio de Queluz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

The building is OK, the rooms clean and relatively comfortable, except for a couple of issues: The old windows are tiny, but their glass allows the noise from the street, which is a main thoroughfare. On the other side, in the back, you hear the hum of the highway. We were three couples, and each on our own asked in the middle of the night to be transferred due to vehicular noise even as we used ear plugs. One couple was put in the basement for lack of another suitable room.

But the biggest drawback of this place is that it sits in the middle of a cobblestoned parking lot. There is no garden, no place to sit outside. On one side, at some distance, is the military barrack, and one can watch the morning exercises. On the other side is the magnificent palace that the hotel claims to be a part of. That is deceiving. Some guides even tout this pousada as being a "do not miss" due to this Versailles-worthy palace. However, entrance fee to that palace and its gardens is high--and the ticket is good for one time only. We visited in the first afternoon, but could not actually go back the next morning to stroll the amazing gardens with a cup of coffee.
Wi-Fi is available only in the lobby, where the TV was blaring in Spanish day and night.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a pitched roof at the end, and that makes them look smaller. The noise there...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MsBizWiz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada Palacio de Queluz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas D.Maria I and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor
We regret to know that this Pousada did not met your expectations, particulary with regard to the building's structure and acoustic issues , wich avoid you to hav a relaxing and peacefully stay.
We will make some renovation in order to avoid these problems.

Thank you for telling us your feedback which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We will be pleased to host you again at any of our Units.
Thank you!

Sincerely Yours
Arminda Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband and I stayed in this pousada for 4 nights during our vacation. Very clean, very convenient (both for driving around this part of Portugal and for taking the train into Lisbon), excellent service by the staff, very pleased with the breakfast. Our room was large and comfortable; the window was small. Great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada Palacio de Queluz, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas D.Maria I and for taking the time to leave your opinion on Trip Advisor.

We do feel very happy to know you have a pleasant stay with us and you have enjoyed our spaces and services.
Thank you for your so kind words which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

We hope to welcome you again someday.

Best regards
Arminda Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I am just back from a trip in Portugal, via pousadas (Queluz, Ourem, Viseu, Viana, Guimaraes). Any of these is excellent, with the same level (HIGH !) of service, the same kind and professional staffs and EXCELLENT food. The buildings themselves are worthy of the trip, if you like fine arcitecture and historical buildings with modern equipment. Guimaraes is an incredible, breathtaking place, with beautiful parquet floors, and very fine furnitures. One special comment on prices : for the first time in my life I have regularly had a la carte dinners with outstanding wines for ... less than 30 Euro per person. Unbelivable ! (at Queluz we ordered the chef suggestion, a DELICIUOS caldeirada, and I come out, wine included, with less than 30 Euro for TWO persons). As I have read in other commets, the only dark spot is the coffee at breakfast. but breakfasts themselves are gorgeous. When in Portugal, go Pousadas !

Room Tip: do not forget to ask for special rates (more than one night, golden age ...)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mario p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada Palacio de Queluz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback concerning Pousadas Portugal .
We very much apreciated your kind words witch help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.
We are very pleased to know you had a very pleasant stay at Pousadas and notice the spirit of this kind of Turism.
In fact we try to show our guest the best of our culture and by staying at Pousadas you have the oportunity to learn a bit of our history and taste the portuguese food.

We truly hope to welcome you again.

Best Regards

Arminda Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Saw this castle the same day that I saw Sintra and Pena and it was definitely worth the visit. You can really see the Versailles inspiration here. The first room you enter is just jaw dropping and reminds you of the mirror room in Versailles. The gardens are pretty as well and the castle is so big you have a hard time getting it all in the camera lens. So fun to imagine the parties they must of had there.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada Palacio de Queluz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your opinion on TripAdvisor.

The feedback of our guests is very important for us, as it help to improve our services.

We are pleased to know you apreciate the National Palace, in fact inspired on Versailles Palace and all the envirement.

We hope to welcome you in the future in this or other Pousada or Hotel of our group.

Best Regards

Arminda Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

the location of the pousada in Queluz is excellent, close to Sintra and the charming seaside town of Cascais. The pousada is located across from the palace, which we toured. The train station is 15 minutes walk from the pousada and the train ride into the center is Lisbon takes 15 minutes.
The staff is very helpful.The breakfast served is a large buffet. All in all a very good stay.

Room Tip: our room had a view of the palae. perfect!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlav745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada Palacio de Queluz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada D.Maria I and for taking the time to leave your feedback trough Trip Advisor

We do feel very happy to know you have a pleasant stay and our staff exceeded your expectations and you have enjoyed particulary Breakfast Service .
Thank you for your so kind words which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.

Best Regards
Arminda Teixeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights whilst we toured the surrounding area including a day trip to Lisbon .
Actually if you only intend to tour Lisbon then I would recommend a stay in a City central hotel.

But if your plan is to visit the stunning palaces of Sintra or the great coastal towns near Lisbon
then the Pousada Queluz is ideal especially with one of the palaces just across the road .
tip. avoid vsiiting the Sintra Palaces on a Sunday....its just too busy.

The staff will tell you that you can catch a train to downtown Lisbon but I would caution against it.
Its a good 15 minute walk to Luz station through a rather tired district and as with any other major City
petty crime can be an issue. The reason I mention this is that a couple were mugged taking that route when we stayed at the Queluz Palace . Take a taxi instead.

The hotel is quite small despite the imposing frontage . The bar and breakfast area are limited but perfectly comfortable . The hotel restaurant is across the road in the Palace old kitchen which makes for an unusal but very pleasant setting . We had one very average meal but on the next visit had a great meal so I guess its down to what you order . I found the surrounding local restaurants poor by Portugese Algarve standards.

The staff were very good at the hotel and in the restaurant as they tend to be in all the Pousads we have stayed in .

So in summary if the Pousada Queluz location suits your plans then it is worth a one or two night stop over.

Room Tip: One facing the rear of the hotel has no traffic noise.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank loganjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_DMaria, Gerente at Pousada Palacio de Queluz, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousadas D.Maria I and for taking the time to post your opinion on TripAdviser.

We do feel very happy to know you have a pleasant stay and you have enjoy the restaurant
( althought if you did not choose à la carte), the National Palace and the charming city of Sintra.
Thank you for your so kind words which certainly help and motivate us to keep on improving the quality of our services.
We also would like to thank for your important tips about visitng Sintra on Week- ends and
travelling by train, what can in fact be not so safe sometimes, specially on turistic places .

We hope to host you agian in one of our hotels or pousadas in future.
Best regards

Arminda Teixeira
Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Queluz
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa, Praca do Comercio
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,602 reviews
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Palacio de Queluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Palacio de Queluz

Address: Largo do Palacio Nacional, Queluz 2745-191, Portugal (Formerly Pousada de Dona Maria I)
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Queluz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Queluz
Price Range: £73 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada Palacio de Queluz 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pousada de Queluz is found in the clock tower building, next to the National Palace of Queluz, known as the " Portuguese Versailles " and the permanent residence of the royal family from 1794. The building of the Tower is by the architect and staff sergeant Manuel Caetano de Sousa, and served as a warehouse and as the quarters for the staff in service to the palace. With a unique and sumptuous decor, the Pousada de Queluz, D. Maria I, is a treasure waiting to be discovered and marvelled at. The air-conditioned rooms of the Pousada de Queluz are individually decorated, with warm colours and elegant wooden furniture. The Pousada is a point of reference for whoever is looking for the Lisbon business area, idyllically situated around 14 km from Sintra and 20 km from Cascais. It comfortable decor and its rigorous rehabilitation makes the 2 rooms an excellent choice, having been carefully reconstructed for the purpose of meetings and seminars. The rooms have natural lighting and access to the internet fixed of wireless, air conditioning among other characteristics. Free parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Palacio de Queluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing