We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Setubal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Setubal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Setubal
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Setubal
GreenLeadersBronze level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“best hotel in Setubal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The location os this hotel is not the best, but the service and amenities definitely makes it the best place to stay in Setubal. I stayed there for about 10 days before moving to another hotel closer to town centre, but regretted:(

The hotel is good only if you are driving, as the centre is about 2-3 kms.

Room Tip: One with good wifii network.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    221
    117
    20
    9
See reviews for
218
122
22
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We have family in Setubal and are quite familiar with the city and where the hotel is located. If you are not familiar with the area, it is worthwhile noting that if you don't have a car, a taxi to the waterfront and historic part of the city (where all the great, cheap restaurants are) is around €5. It is too far to walk.
I will be honest and say I expected more from a Novotel. The rooms are very average, bathrooms really need to be upgraded and the housekeeping didn't come round until after lunch at the earliest. The restaurant deck would be good for a meal but couldn't be enjoyed as there are constantly people out there smoking (including a man who I believe was the manager but perhaps being Australian I am now used to not having to deal with smokers while I eat!)
Pool is quite nice, being at the back of the hotel and a surrounded by trees makes it feel a bit more like a resort and it could go unnoticed that in fact there is a busy road behind and a jail!
Restaurant: The buffet breakfast (€9, free for children) was really good and had a good range of food to choose from. Dinner was ok but service extremely slooooooow.
My main issue was this- we stayed in peak season so naturally there are a lot of kids around (including ours aged 1 & 5) but the kids recreation area and the gym are located in the lobby next to the reception desk and we stayed in room 111 and it is just around the corner from all of this. It is very loud with children shouting and the sound of the running machine. When it got to 2230hrs and still no let up in the noise I went to ask the concierge what time they close the aforementioned. He shrugs and says "probably midnight?". As if this was acceptable in a 4 star hotel to have kids yelling and running around outside rooms of paying guests at midnight. Extremely disappointing attitude, especially as we were booked for 4 nights. If you stay here, insist on one of the rooms further down the hall or perhaps on another level.
All in all, not bad value for money but not to the standard of what I imagined a Novotel to be.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

The rooms need refurbishment. The air conditioning equipment and plant needs a major overhaul. Thv swiming pool area and tennis courts are good and the evening meal are good value for money
Chris Lloyd International property adviser,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDERLLOYD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, restaurant for dinner is for price / value very acceptable. spacious rooms. location bit isoloated, but very quited . need a car. setubal not very exciting. recommandable hotel. good rates

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Eric V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Enjoyed staying here. It's been recently remodelled so the rooms are decent. The common areas are nice. The only downside is the bathrooms are old and tired compared to the newer Novotels. The biggest benefit was the pool it's a great place to hang and catch some sun and they had no problem with us drinking pool side. While its not in the city centre the location is convenient for getting to the motorway

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ethan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Setubal
1.5 mi away
Hotel do Sado Business & Nature
1.2 mi away
Luna Esperanca Centro
Luna Esperanca Centro
#3 of 19 in Setubal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Setubal
Hotel Ibis Setubal
#4 of 19 in Setubal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
RIO Art Guesthouse
RIO Art Guesthouse
#8 of 19 in Setubal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.5 mi away
Solaris Hotel
Solaris Hotel
#5 of 19 in Setubal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.3 mi away
Blue & Green Troia Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Setubal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Setubal

Property: Novotel Setubal
Address: Estrada Nacional 10 | Monte Belo, Setubal 2910-509, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Alentejo > Setubal District > Setubal
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Setubal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Setubal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Setubal 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Setubal is a 3 star hotel in the city of Setubal, near the beaches of Troia and Arrabida, just 45 km from central Lisbon and the international airport. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 105 airconditioned rooms, including 68 non smoking rooms and 1 suite, six meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking, swimming pool,fitness, tennis courts and playground for children. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Agoda, ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Setubal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Setúbal Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing