We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gem”
Review of Quinta das Murtas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quinta das Murtas
Reviewed 16 September 2012

an ancient palace house with awesome staff, a great spot in the heart of Sintra :) well decorated rooms, clean, good space, nice breakfast and lots of exotic birds...From there you are a walking distance from all the places in Sintra. I will return, no doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We came to Quinta das Murtas with little expectations - it was a good price and they seemed nice when we made the reservation. The reviews here about parrots and stuff intrigued us, but once there, we realized they didn't paint the whole picture. We loved it so much we actually extended our stay in Sintra and QdM was the major reason why. It was amazing: lovely setting, wonderful garden, hot salt water swimming pool, bog pond, little pond, flowers and trees and cabins and little houses spread all around. We stayed first in the Romantic Room and then in a sort of a little apartment down by the pond and it was wonderful. The interiors are designed with lots of taste and, while preserving the Portuguese style and a rustic air, they lack nothing in comfort.

Breakfast was adequate, with choices for all and it was served in a nice salon facing the parrot dens, so it made for entertainment all by itself. They had wi-fi all over as well. In short, wonderful!

Pros: lovely setting, good price for value, perfect for couples, makes visiting Sintra the ideal experience.

Cons: might not be so fun for large families, as the climate is a bit humid nights can get chilly and inside it can be a bit humid as well.

Room Tip: The apartments by the pond are wonderful, but make sure you pull all the curtains tight if you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Large old manor house.....sort of hippie meets retreat. It 's not easy to find but well worth a couple of night. Parking is readily available and worth its weight in gold in Sintra. 500m from the main town.....down a rather steep hill.....and up again at the end. We were in a top floor room....O.K. it was small, but we were only there for 2 nights. Don't expect hotel modern finish,,,.it's quite dilapidated in parts, but that's the charm. Lovely salon downstairs with parrots, birds, rabbits and guinea pigs around the garden.. Lovely clean bed, good breakfast and a warm welcome. Forget the bits of distressed paintwork......enjoy the feeling of the 18th century. Really, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Some outside rooms look a good choice. However, it's likely to be busy in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed just one night in this B&B and I do have a bit of mixed feelings about this place.
The B&B is hard to find, so do bring a map or use your smart phone to navigate you. It took us around 15 minutes to get there from the train station. We were smarter after sightseeing and took a taxi from the center of the old town. It was only 4 euro.
The property is indeed beautiful: lovely swimming pool, Jacuzzi and garden shower with small lakes in the garden. It is probably a very nice place to have some rest after sightseeing but we did not use any of the facilities because it was rather cold and windy when we stayed in this B&B.
I have to say that I did not feel extremely welcome at Quinta das Murtas: we were just given the keys and told to pay immediately because we were only staying one night. After I asked where we could go, the hostess gave us a map and marked a couple of things. That's all...Also nobody was there to welcome and serve us during breakfast. I did stay in B&B places before and I found this kind of attitude towards guests a bit cold.
Our room was clean and spacious: it had a bedroom and a small sitting kitchen/sitting area with TV. It was cold so we had to use electric heaters to heat it up before going to bed. The bathroom was huge, but the plumbing was a bit temperamental: it was turning from boiling hot to freezing cold within seconds and it was kind of hard to adjust. There is a hairdryer in the room and also the B&B provides shampoo/shower gel and there is hand soap. Bring your own body lotion if you need it.
Internet is free but you need to go to the main house to use WIFI or computer.
Breakfast was simple, but good: no hot meals but different types of cold cuts and cheese. There were also a couple of breakfast cakes, cereal and nice fresh fruit. You can have tea or coffee. Breakfast is included into the price of the stay.
All in all it is a nice place if you like this type of accommodation... For myself, I think I have figured that i prefer proper hotels to B&B options... B&B is just not my cup of team. I will not be coming back but it does not mean I would not recommend this to other people

Room Tip: there were some lovely detached and semi detached cottages in the garden that looked great. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed one night at Quinta das Murtas and had selected it because of it´s reviews here, closeness to historical centre and because of the pool/garden. Unfortunately, it was raining like crazy, which made our stay in Sintra and at this B&B a bit different than we thought. But our grade of this hotel and our overall experience was lowered by other things than the weather. First; the heavy smell of potpurri in our room, probably covering up an even heavier smell of something not so nice. Second; even though nice - not very helpful and very stressed hostess, she did´nt say a thing about the surroundings, restaurants or such. Standard OK, although surroundings extremely beautiful as mentioned here.
We would not visit this place again.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DinksFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved the relaxed and cosy atmosphere of our apartment. Accommodation is in the manor house and in apartments by the duck pond at the base of the main house. Our apartment was the large one at the head of the pond with its separate bedroom and large lounge/dining/kitchenette area with a spare bed in it. The only little critcism is that it gets very hot as there are large windows around the space but there is an air conditioner. Towels and linen were changed every second day and the buffet breakfast was very good and a nice touch were the cheese scones! They have an area outside the breakfast room that showcases tropical birds and others and several hamsters. Wifi is constricted to the main house and there is a computer for public use with lots of areas to read and listen to music. Outdoors there is table tennis table, swimming pool and a jacuzzi. It is a short walk from the historic centre and well worth the stay.

Room Tip: Apartments in the garden are more spacious than in the house but are a little bit more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbourneJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Good Location very close to the historical city centre.
Very central to all sightseeing places.
nice for the kids to have some fun and open air.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,652 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quinta das Murtas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta das Murtas

Address: Rua Eduardo Vanzeller 4 | Vila Velha Old Town, Sintra 2710-593, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: £42 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta das Murtas 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Quinta das Murtas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing