We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quinta das Murtas
Nearby Hotels
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Casa Miradouro(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Pestana Sintra Golf(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Lisboa Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quinta Verde Sintra(Sintra)(Great Value!)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$652
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$620
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveller rating
100
130
55
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
130
55
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housemanor housebreakfast roompool and jacuzzismall pondgarden apartmentold houseold world charmsintra townno elevatorfairy taleparrotsaviaryquintaportugalhillestate
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 322 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed two nights at the hotel and we liked the atmosphere. The room is a good size and very clean. Easy to access the center of Sintra, about ten minutes walk. Breakfast is also good and diversified.
Very pleasant to use the pool when the weather is hot and damp! The garden is a plus for relaxation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syllabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

an ancient palace house with awesome staff, a great spot in the heart of Sintra :) well decorated rooms, clean, good space, nice breakfast and lots of exotic birds...From there you are a walking distance from all the places in Sintra. I will return, no doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We came to Quinta das Murtas with little expectations - it was a good price and they seemed nice when we made the reservation. The reviews here about parrots and stuff intrigued us, but once there, we realized they didn't paint the whole picture. We loved it so much we actually extended our stay in Sintra and QdM was the major reason why. It was amazing: lovely setting, wonderful garden, hot salt water swimming pool, bog pond, little pond, flowers and trees and cabins and little houses spread all around. We stayed first in the Romantic Room and then in a sort of a little apartment down by the pond and it was wonderful. The interiors are designed with lots of taste and, while preserving the Portuguese style and a rustic air, they lack nothing in comfort.

Breakfast was adequate, with choices for all and it was served in a nice salon facing the parrot dens, so it made for entertainment all by itself. They had wi-fi all over as well. In short, wonderful!

Pros: lovely setting, good price for value, perfect for couples, makes visiting Sintra the ideal experience.

Cons: might not be so fun for large families, as the climate is a bit humid nights can get chilly and inside it can be a bit humid as well.

Room Tip: The apartments by the pond are wonderful, but make sure you pull all the curtains tight if you want privacy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Large old manor house.....sort of hippie meets retreat. It 's not easy to find but well worth a couple of night. Parking is readily available and worth its weight in gold in Sintra. 500m from the main town.....down a rather steep hill.....and up again at the end. We were in a top floor room....O.K. it was small, but we were only there for 2 nights. Don't expect hotel modern finish,,,.it's quite dilapidated in parts, but that's the charm. Lovely salon downstairs with parrots, birds, rabbits and guinea pigs around the garden.. Lovely clean bed, good breakfast and a warm welcome. Forget the bits of distressed paintwork......enjoy the feeling of the 18th century. Really, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Some outside rooms look a good choice. However, it's likely to be busy in high season.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manc-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed just one night in this B&B and I do have a bit of mixed feelings about this place.
The B&B is hard to find, so do bring a map or use your smart phone to navigate you. It took us around 15 minutes to get there from the train station. We were smarter after sightseeing and took a taxi from the center of the old town. It was only 4 euro.
The property is indeed beautiful: lovely swimming pool, Jacuzzi and garden shower with small lakes in the garden. It is probably a very nice place to have some rest after sightseeing but we did not use any of the facilities because it was rather cold and windy when we stayed in this B&B.
I have to say that I did not feel extremely welcome at Quinta das Murtas: we were just given the keys and told to pay immediately because we were only staying one night. After I asked where we could go, the hostess gave us a map and marked a couple of things. That's all...Also nobody was there to welcome and serve us during breakfast. I did stay in B&B places before and I found this kind of attitude towards guests a bit cold.
Our room was clean and spacious: it had a bedroom and a small sitting kitchen/sitting area with TV. It was cold so we had to use electric heaters to heat it up before going to bed. The bathroom was huge, but the plumbing was a bit temperamental: it was turning from boiling hot to freezing cold within seconds and it was kind of hard to adjust. There is a hairdryer in the room and also the B&B provides shampoo/shower gel and there is hand soap. Bring your own body lotion if you need it.
Internet is free but you need to go to the main house to use WIFI or computer.
Breakfast was simple, but good: no hot meals but different types of cold cuts and cheese. There were also a couple of breakfast cakes, cereal and nice fresh fruit. You can have tea or coffee. Breakfast is included into the price of the stay.
All in all it is a nice place if you like this type of accommodation... For myself, I think I have figured that i prefer proper hotels to B&B options... B&B is just not my cup of team. I will not be coming back but it does not mean I would not recommend this to other people

Room Tip: there were some lovely detached and semi detached cottages in the garden that looked great. Our room was good, but i think a garden cottage would be better
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenkahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews