We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly placed, simple and comfortable”
Review of Monte Da Lua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Monte Da Lua
Ranked #29 of 43 Sintra B&B and Inns
Saverdun
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfectly placed, simple and comfortable”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Great location, just in front of the train station (and no, the trains don't wake you up in the morning). You come out of the guesthouse and turn left to go to the new town or right to go to the old town of Sintra, both of which are 5 minutes away by foot. The staff are friendly and competent, and willing to help in any way they can.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timboidicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    25
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was one of our favorite accommodations during our 2 weeks in Spain and Portugal. Monte da Lua was a simple, sweet little guesthouse situated in the middle of one of two commercial districts in Sintra. It is located in the less touristy of the two, and is directly across from the train station (30 minutes to Lisbon). It is a short walk to the other commercial area, where the National Palace is located, as well as tour buses that loop around to other local sites.

The location is great, but the service is absolutely outstanding. Their number 1 priority is to make sure their guests have a great time, and you feel that from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. My memory of our few days in Sintra is very much influenced by the friendliness of the staff here. An extra special thanks to Ezperanza, who helped us with everything from carrying in our luggage to offering guidance on many topics (ATM locations, parking, nearby restaurants, which sights are the best to see with limited time, when is the last train to Lisbon...etc, etc).

We did not meet the owner, Sylvia, but we did correspond with her via email before our arrival. She was very friendly and helpful, and extremely prompt in returning our emails. She also allowed us to make a change in our reservation before we arrived without any fuss. We mentioned in our emails that our stay with them would be the start of our honeymoon. Much to our delight, we found a chilled bottle of sparkling wine and a box of chocolates in our room when we arrived, as a special congratulatory treat from Sylvia. This gesture pretty much sums up the kind of warmth and attention we experienced at Monte da Lua.

The room was tidy and clean, smelled nice, and was decorated with simple but updated decor. The building has the charming features of a restored older building--lovely hardwood floors, high ceilings, and windows that open up completely to let in lots of air and light. One thing to remember is that this is a guesthouse, not a hotel. It is a smaller, more intimate experience, and might I add, a refreshing departure from a big hotel. We found a few important comforts in the room--lots of extra linens in the closet in case you get cold, black out curtains for sleeping late, and a flat screen tv. The amenities are just what you need, but nothing over the top. That was something I really liked a lot--clearly a lot of thought went into guest comfort, but there wasn't a lot of unnecessary fluff in the amenities department. Let's face it, you come to Sintra to see the sights, not to get a shoehorn in your toiletries kit at the hotel.

Breakfast is included in the price, with a little voucher for the delightful little cafe two doors down. Our voucher got us a couple of cafe con leches, a ham and cheese baguette, and a couple of freshly squeezed orange juices. Just enough to start the day.

Oh, and did I mention that the price was a great value? We stayed in the off-season, and the price was about 50 euros/night. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone looking for a charming, affordable accommodation, with all the warmth of staying with family. It was my first trip to Sintra, and if it isn't my last, I'll be booking my stay at Monte da Lua again.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the back of the hotel, with a pretty, sweeping view of wooded hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We had a great stay in this pensao, unfortunately, it was just for one night. After visiting a few other pensaos in the area we decided on Monte Da Lua because the owner was so friendly and the rooms were definitely the prettiest in town (at least within our budget). The owner went out of her way to make us comfortable, and even brought us a kettle to boil water so we could make our own tea and coffee in the morning! Fantastic customer service. My only knock would be that the beds really slanted down toward the middle but not enough to disrupt a night of sleep or anything. Convenient location. You can't go wrong with this choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank surfbird0713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Whether you are traveling with family, on business, or with your partner, you'll find whatever it is you're looking for here - whimsy, fun, inspiration and romance are here at the Monte Da Lua. My boyfriend and I enjoyed a two evening stay and our only regret was not staying longer. It is conveniently located walking distance to the train station and is situated on a hill overlooking sweet Sintra. The owner, Silvia, recently refurbished the guest house - beyond it's clean, contempory-yet-homey vibe, you will find the most comfortable beds in all of Portugal. And if you know Portugal, you know this is hard to find. I have already recommended this inn to my family and friends - two of which are planning to stay next week. The views are breath-taking and local cafes and restaurants around each corner. And perhaps best of all to us Americans - FREE WI-FI - we can only go unconnected for so long!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Owner speakes fluent English, and was very helpful ( the info person at the train station was not) . Right across from train station, easy walk to the center of Sintra Vila, also an easy walk to to the bus station where we got a bus to Mafra. Very close to the bus stop that goes to the vila, the Moor castle and the Pena Palace. There is no internet at this hotel, but there is an internet cafe 2 doors away. No breakfast, but many restaurants in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelphineTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Really special pensao right accross from the train station. Friendly matron. Tasteful "traditionally" decorated rooms. Tiny bathroom (shower / basin / wc / bidet). Absolutely stunning views over the Sintra woodlands from the (tiny) balcony. Good value for money. Blankets could do with a replacement though.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelreporterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,521 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#5 of 15 in Sintra
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#1 of 31 in Sintra
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Valdez Guesthouse
Valdez Guesthouse
#24 of 43 in Sintra
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#5 of 31 in Sintra
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Miradouro
Casa Miradouro
#7 of 43 in Sintra
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monte Da Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Da Lua

Property: Monte Da Lua
Address: Avenida Doutor Miguel Bombarda 51, Sintra 2710-590, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming early 1900's building in the heart of Sintra, across from the Railway station and the tour bus terminal. Recently remodeled rooms, free Wi-Fi and a friendly and professional team make staying at Monte de Lua a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Monte Da Lua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing