We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waiter that knows how to sell”
Review of Pateo do Garrett

Pateo do Garrett
Ranked #121 of 271 Restaurants in Sintra
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Situated in the Historic Centre of the Old Town – Sintra, a World Heritage – The Restaurant offers tree Dining Rooms to accommodate 130 guests, and two Terraces with exceptional views. Where gastronomic Portuguese dishes will be enjoyed by all. After your visit, Restaurant Páteo do Garrett, will become a meeting point. Where you will want all your friends and the family to enjoy the magic of its exceptional cuisine and tranquil friendly hospitality.
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Waiter that knows how to sell”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a lunch here. The food was good. But first the waiter was the keypoint. He spoke 5 different languages with each different table. He made jokes, guided you for the meal and served well. First, he brough olives and goat cheese which was great. He said the clams are fresh and special which we chose. Then we had sardines and salted cod. Finally mango mouse to finish. We ahd house white wine which was excellent as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    41
    29
    16
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Restaurant was just closing but stayed open for us. It had been recommended by a local tourist guide as the best place in Sintra to eat. The food was excellent ,could not fault it and the staff very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ednaclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cozy lil restaurant with nice service& good food”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

After coming back from the Pena palace, our tourguide recommended us to have lunch here. We ordered the Bacalhau by accident which apparently it's the Portuguese traditional dish (when the waiter described it to us, it sounded like fish& chips..which my husband loves). Although it turned out to be different than what we expected, but my husband loved it too and he said that was his best lunch in our entire 5 days Portugal trip! Thank GOD! Coz it was also our 10th anniversary on that day! I'm glad we both really enjoyed our anniversary lunch there! :D

So when you visit Sintra little village (after the Pena palace tour) and the tour guide will drop you off at that small palace with 2 white chimneys on its roof and he gives you only 1 to 1.5 hour free time to have lunch+ window shopping/ souvenirs hunting, ask him to drive you all t(he way to the top where this restaurant located :p). Then after lunch, you just walk down through the village back to that chimney palace which normally will only takes you about 5 minutes.. but for us was 20 mins coz we stopped by at several souvenir shops along the alley.
Anyway it's more effective (time wise), easier, and not tiring at all, rather than doing the opposite order.
Bon a petit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ang_Kw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Don't order the fish platter”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our tour guide took us to this attractive patio restaurant around the corner from our hotel. We were interested in the salmon and cod and a couple other fish so the waiter said he could make a mixed grill fish platter for us. We thought this sounded a splendid idea, but when it arrived it had none of the fish we were interested in, only prawns, baby octupus and sardines. Very disappointing. The meal for 4 cost 95 euros when normally would cost around 60 for 4 people for lunch (including two beers and an inexpensive bottle of wine). The saving grace was the waiter, who was heaps of fun and flirted shamelessly with my mum.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OzCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Hideaway”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is a neat spot tucked away on an less traveled street. The diners were all local except for our 2 tables. The owner is really fun and friendly. We did not look at the menu and let him choose for us. They started us with some olives and bread. We had a carafe of wine and 4 different types of fish grilled right there on the patio. The fish came with a side of vegetables. Everything was very good. This was a great surprise!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JACfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pateo do Garrett also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Pateo do Garrett? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing