We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice to stay for a visit to Sintra” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Branca Jacinta

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sintra
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Branca Jacinta
Ranked #17 of 38 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice to stay for a visit to Sintra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

This B&B is located in a beautiful villa within a 10-minute walk to the historic centre of Sintra (or 5 minutes to a train station where you can take a hop-on & off bus). The hosts, Filipe and Cristina, are very knowledgeable about the area, the history and how to negotiate the local roads. As world travelers themselves, they know how to prepare their guests for a wonderful stay. The Villa contains 4 rooms on the second floor. Guests have the use of a dining room where you can make coffee or tea. Breakfast is served here as well. My husband and I stayed here 2 nights after traveling in Portugal for 2 weeks. Parking a car is not a problem. We highly recommend this B&B. .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    23
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We were in Sintra in October 2012 and it was wonderful!
The place is beautiful, has a beautiful view of Sintra. Kindness and hospitality of the lady of the house (as it was very hot swapped sheets for our bed sheets linen!) The delights of breakfast I adore my husband and my daughter

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We spent two nights in this ancient Villa in Sintra, very close to the main points of interests and the centre of the town. The B&B is run by really nice woman, her daughter... and their dog! The interior is well furnished, with good taste and a perfect balance between modern and antique style. Rooms are cosy, clean and well lit. The Villa is surrounded by a little garden and a huge tree that makes the atmosphere even more "familiar". Do not miss the breakfast, is part of the experience! Amazingly prepared, fresh and genuine. I miss those pancakes which perfectly match with quince jam.. Muito obrigado!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ABorletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Of the 2 weeks we spent in Portugal, the 3 nights in Villa Branca Jacinta was certainly one of the highlights. The house is beautifully decorated with antique furniture and fresh flowers from the garden, and the rooms were very clean. The location is great - lovely views and a short walk down the hill into Sintra. Maria was a fantastic host, giving us tips on places to eat, to see portugese music, and walks in the region, and her adorable golden labrador gave us much entertainment!

We would absolutely recommend this place to anyone wanting to visit the region, and wouldnt hesitate to go there again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate-Elizabeth33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Villa Branca Jacinta is a gorgeous bed and breakfast place to base yourself in the fairytale town of Sintra. We recently spent 4 nights with Maria here and loved every minute of it. As a hostess, Maria is perfectly welcoming and will help you to enjoy your stay with sightseeing tips and honest country hospitality.
The room we had overlooked the garden, was simply but tastefully decorated and the bed comfy. Each of the rooms has an ensuite.
Enjoy a fresh and cooked breakfast that's deliciously filling to start your day.
I commented to Maria that her loquat tree was laden and the next morning she had fresh loquats for me at breakfast. She is lovely like that.
Maria also speaks 5 languages fluently, so no worries with misunderstandings.
Our tip for finding Villa Branca Jacinta is to download her map before you go. As her gate is not numbered, find number 5 then work back one property from there and push the button on the big metal gate for Maria to let you in.
We found the location ideal for Sintra. Out of the busy, noisy older city area yet still easy access to everywhere as we did not have a car.
Would i stay at Villa Branca Jacinta again? Definately!

Room Tip: It's all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecobotanica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We had a very nice stay in Sintra in this very beautiful villa! Rooms are furnished with very good taste, clean and cosy, the breakfast is one of the best we had during our trip. The house is in a very calm neighborhood,, kept by a very very nice dog, and is well situated. Maria is very talkative - in french with us - and made us discover places that were amazing! A great stop!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Maria is a wonderful host and Villa Branca Jacinta is a great place to stay. The location is pretty much perfect - right in between the historic center and Sao Pedro, so it's easy to walk to both. The Villa itself is very nice and rooms are very clean and comfortable. Maria has many recommendations - follow them! Everything she recommended, we loved. And her breakfasts' are delicious :)
If we return to Sintra (and I hope we do some day!), we would most definitely stay with Maria again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
0.3 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Branca Jacinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Branca Jacinta

Property: Villa Branca Jacinta
Address: Rua Doutor Almada Guerra 3, Sintra 2710-417, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Branca Jacinta was built at the end of the 19th century. It is surrounded by an incredible verdant garden, guarded by a majestic centenary cedar.Here, you will find an ancient house with its own soul. All the windows, doors and staircases are living details of the 19th century.After a full restoration, Villa Branca Jacinta exudes comfort and simplicity. It appeals to a romantic and mystic imagination, recalling the works of Lord Byron or Eça de Queiros.You will find a beautiful place to rest after long walking days through Serra de Sintra, ancient castles and palaces or discovering the magical Quinta da Regaleira. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing