We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleeping like Lord Biron”
Review of Lawrence's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lawrence's Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sleeping like Lord Biron”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A perfect hotel for the complete fairytale sintra-experience. We booked a double room through booking.com and got the Lord Biron Suite. A very cosy and historic room in a delightfull hotel where you can smell and feel the history. big balcony, nice livingroom and a comfortable bed in a nice bedroom with ensuite bathroom (with jacuzzi). It was a pity we only stayed for one night on our roadtrip through portugal. We could have stayed a couple more nights there. Nice central location and friendly (very young) staff. Though booking.com says they don't have a parking, they do. Though the staff has to drive with you to the parking area 200 metres further it was perfect since this city is hell for parking. Small and narrow streets with loads of tourist makes it almost impossible to park you car normally in high season. So a big plus.

Room Tip: The Lord Biron Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonFontijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    78
    41
    15
    10
See reviews for
27
182
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Hy husband and i spent 3 nights at Lawrence's Hotel in July 2011 and found it to be wonderfully charming. It is conveniently situated right off the main square, with easy walking access to shops, restaurants, busses and many of Sintra's historical sites. The decor of the hotel is tasteful and understated with large rooms and cozy public spaces. Instead of numbering the rooms, each is named after a former guest. We stayed in the Lady Jackson room which had a beautiful canopy bed and a large balcony with breathtaking views. The hotel is nestled on a steep hillside covered in a dense forest, so each room looks out onto a lush- almost tropical- landscape full of trees and colorful flowers. The staff was extremely polite and accommodating, although a bit reserved. They seem to take great pride in their hotel. The hotel also has a small bar and a delightful restaurant. The room included a very nice breakfast buffet with a good assortment of pastries, meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurt, etc. The Michelin-rated restaurant was the prefect choice for dinner. I highly recommend Lawrence's for any visit to Sintra.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahElspeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

The hotel location is just a two minute walk from the center of the old town in Sintra. The hotel looks unassuming and compact from the road side but being perched on a steep hillside, it has 4 levels that descend down into tropical looking gardens with quite splendid views.
The derelict building was completely renovated in 1999 in a style in keeping with its long history. We loved the period character of the hotel, the many levels and numerous hidden lounge areas.
We stayed in the ‘William Beckford’ corner room with views down into the town and out over the countryside beyond. The bedroom was light with windows on two sides. The floor was polished wood and not cluttered with rugs and carpets, meaning it looked lovely and is great for tap dancing as long as your neighbors are hard of hearing! The room had a large four poster bed which was very comfortable to sleep on.
The bathroom was decorated in a period style, with a tile floor, bath/shower, bidet and toilet. The shower worked well and a heated towel rail to warm the towels.
The continental breakfast was excellent with a good selection of bread rolls, pastries, cheeses, yogurts and fresh fruit. The hot breakfast (bacon, scrambled egg etc), did not quite match up to the same level.
This is not a hotel if you like large televisions, carpets, large cooked breakfasts and active nightlife. This is a hotel for with a fantastic location for people who love charm, period history and views into sub tropical gardens, many of the reasons people come to Sintra in the first place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not with a road view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Washington, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way to the North of Portugal. Overall the hotel is fine. It's located near the tourist office in town and near the tourist bus to go to the castle and the palace. The staff was friendly (albeit a bit quirky.) If you drive your car (which we did) the guy at the front desk has to run up the block or so with you to park your car securely and then keep running back and forth if other people need to do the same.

Our room (Tradition) was on the first floor and it was also fine. Very dated, the bathroom a little run down and quite noisy since it's near the stairs. I heard people either on the stairs or above me throughout the night.

Breakfast had what I needed before hitting the road (cereal, breads, jams, etc) so no complaints there. The wifi was a bit spotty and did not work down in the restaurant.

We had dinner in the restaurant at night. It was a very nice meal, but very expensive and the service was extremely slow. We waited over 15 minutes for our check while the two servers served cake to another party and had to ask 2-3 times for the check. Overall Sintra, is expensive. Our hotel cost was 139 Euros per night. I learned that I could have spend the night at the Tivoli in the town square for 85 Euros and probably had the same experience. I also spent 135 Euros in Lisbon and in Porto for MUCH nicer hotels.

When we checked out we asked for directions from the main desk and told him we wanted to take the national road. We wanted to cross check his directions with the ones we got from the tourist office. He was very against us taking the longer route even though that's what we wanted and wanted to send us a totally different way. I'm glad we went to the tourist office first as they were much more helpful in terms of directions and places to stop along the way.

Overall this place was fine for one night, but for the price I would check out the Tivoli instead.

I also would recommend spending some time walking around the "regular" town of Sintra past the train station rather than just sticking to the tourist town.

Room Tip: Higher Floors less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

The hotel is located in the middle of the old town. It looks charming. The only issue I had was the isolation between the rooms. We had a room one floor below the top floor and I heard every time the people staying above us made a step or used the toilet. It was especially enoying during the night.
I recommend the rooms looking at the walley.
The restaurant of the hotel is fantastic! The best in Sintra.

Room Tip: looking at the walley and top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hokaboka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

There aren't a lot of options in Sintra for hotels in this category / class. The hotel itself is a charming building very central to the main square. Staff were really very pleasant and tried very hard to help us with a no-show taxi on a hot summer's day. Can't fault them, their service and attempts to help. The room itself however was very forgettable and the bathroom smelt of old pipes. The hotel served its purpose (ie somewhere to sleep for a night) but we were left feeling that we should have just taken a taxi to and from our hotel in Lisbon and done a day trip instead.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelEnthusiast09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a long weekend at Lawrence's Hotel and had a perfect break. The room (Jane Lawrence) was great, with a balcony and lovely views, and the most comfortable bed ever! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the restaurant absolutely faultless. As the hotel is so central to all the 'attractions' it was very easy to get back at the end of the day. We treated ourselves to a taxi back to the airport on departure (the journey via Aerobus and train to Sintra is easy but a bit of a hassle at the end of a long day!) and would highly recommend Geo Taxis (the hotel organised this for us). The 40 minute journey was a breeze. All in all and fabulous hotel; Sintra is packed full of amazing 'sights' and well worth a 2 or 3 day visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandA93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#5 of 15 in Sintra
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
651 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#4 of 15 in Sintra
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrence's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrence's Hotel

Property: Lawrence's Hotel
Address: Rua Consiglieri Pedroso 38 40, Sintra 2710-550, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lawrence's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lawrence's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrences Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing