We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can just to say THANKS”
Review of Lawrence's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lawrence's Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I can just to say THANKS”
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My weekend strated with the best of the sensations, Happiness!!!!!It's wonderful to feel you have choosen the right place to stay. This is the Lawerences Hotel. The people working there are pretty pleasent and the place is amazing also the location. It's the perfecto place to envision the satmosphere of this amazing town Sintra. The hotel keep the feeling of the old style but in very good conditions, very clean and specially romantic. You feel like a princess!!!!the sight from the restaurant is amazing, one side you can see the forest with beatifull trees and you can enjoy a delicious breakfast. Also for dinner teh food is quite good. The location of this hotel is perfect you can walk to the Quinta de Regaleira in 4 minutes. I can only say Thanks for the experience and thanks for make me feel so confortable and special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurita15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    78
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
26
178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Rustic elegance! Lovely balcony, adequate bathroom and sleeping. Breakfast was wonderful! Slightly removed but close walk to all attractions, bus etc.

Room Tip: Quiet, beautiful forest view from patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmax101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The city of Sintra is absolutely enchanting, with its mind-boggling Quinta da Regaleira, exciting Moorish Castle, and exquisite Palacio da Pena, but what made our stay even more special was the wonderful Lawrence's Hotel. We arrived without reservations, and the professional yet empathetic man at the reception provided us with a suite (De Lua). Our suite was oh-so-perfect with Victorian charm, but the bathroom with full amentities (ie. jacuzzi) did not clash with the quaint style. We had a lovely balcony, too. Everything exceeded our expectations.

The breakfast was fantastic. I adored the setting, I loved the food, and once again, the staff was kind but not stuffy. It was, at 150 euro, reasonably priced, but a steal in comparison to the state-run pousadas which were for us, a true disappointment.
I think we were the only young couple (20s) at this hotel; we noticed many older British people. In any case, it was by far my favourite hotel of the trip, and I heartily recommend this place! You will love it, I promise!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ale_Viola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My wife & I spent 1 night only with B&B rate , the 1st of our trip in Portugal . The room was nice and with a small balcony on the garden. Reception is small but people very nice. Parking is difficult but if u don't care of the rules u can find one very fast.
Breakfast was very good ( continetal ) , while the room was small , with all but the woden floor was quite noisy . The light in the bathroom wasn't enough . Unlikely the weather was horrible ( cloudy 16-20 C degrees ) and we couldn't visit all the monuments; be aware this kind of weather is normal there as they informed us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maiawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

we didn't actually stay here or even spend any money - but the proprietor was so helpful when we I lost my hat due to a gust of weekend in the next door inaccesible garden that I felt I should mention it. Give it a try - if only for a drink on the terrace or the highly regarded restaurant.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marco_fawcett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
all over the world on a yacht
Level Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Really nice hotel, the 2nd oldest in europe (!!), with very friendly staff, lovely rooms. decided to spend the night in sintra & drive back to Cascais in the morning, got a room at the last minute (the Jane Lawrence), with a 4 poster bed and cheerful decoration, lovely view!
dinner wasn't great, although the menu is a good one, steak undercooked twice and veggies overcooked...salad had too much dressing, but hey! the wine was fantastic, and the service really was terrific.
breakfast was an enormous buffet, with great cheeses & fruits, cold meats, great yogurt pots, etc. the scrambled eggs were rubbery & full of eggshell, but that seems pretty standard with eggs on a buffet. again, the service was great, so we didn't mind too much.
great location, you can walk to everywhere from here. flat screen tvs in each room & free wireless access.
the bathroom had some mould on the tiles in the showers, but it was in the grouting, not a whole lot you can do about that except re-grout...everything else spanking clean & really nice portuguese embroidered linens. bed reall hard (which we like), and the room soooo quiet, it was great to sleep there! only birdsong in the morning. fantastic!
as i said, we'll be back!
we'll be going back there, as soon as we can! just might check out trip advisor before we go to find another restaurant...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgepig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A perfect hotel for the complete fairytale sintra-experience. We booked a double room through booking.com and got the Lord Biron Suite. A very cosy and historic room in a delightfull hotel where you can smell and feel the history. big balcony, nice livingroom and a comfortable bed in a nice bedroom with ensuite bathroom (with jacuzzi). It was a pity we only stayed for one night on our roadtrip through portugal. We could have stayed a couple more nights there. Nice central location and friendly (very young) staff. Though booking.com says they don't have a parking, they do. Though the staff has to drive with you to the parking area 200 metres further it was perfect since this city is hell for parking. Small and narrow streets with loads of tourist makes it almost impossible to park you car normally in high season. So a big plus.

Room Tip: The Lord Biron Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonFontijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrence's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrence's Hotel

Property: Lawrence's Hotel
Address: Rua Consiglieri Pedroso 38 40, Sintra 2710-550, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lawrence's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawrence's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrences Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing