We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Lawrence's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lawrence's Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed 19 July 2009

First, take the time if you can to stay in Sintra to have at least a full day to see the castle and palace. A lot of people seem to take day trips from Lisbon, but we were happy to spend time in Sintra. The hotel is really fabulous. It is a bit dated and not fancy, but it has character and was delightful. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The common areas were wonderful to enjoy, and the restaurant was good for both dinner and breakfast. The location is outstanding. We took the bus right outside to the palace and castle, and walked to an amazing wine bar and enjoyed grilled sausage and port! The staff was fantastic and couldn't do enough to help.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LxryTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    78
    41
    15
    9
See reviews for
26
178
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My husband and I are traveling on a strict budget — we're heading around the world for one year. We arrived in Sintra late in the day, hoping to find the youth hostel. The Hostel likely doesn't exist, or it's so far away from central transportation that we just got lost. We stumbled upon the beautiful Lawrence. The desk staff took the time to map several options around Sintra and sympathize with our situation. We left and visited a few other hotels which were equally priced, or more expensive. The properties were lovely, but none as beautiful as the Lawrence. We returned, and were booked into the most luxurious room we'd seen in months! Our own private terrace, a huge 4 poster bed, a sparking bathroom. What a magical experience. It was our luck that a rainstorm drifted over the city at night, and allowed us to laze about a few extra hours in the morning at the Lawrence. The breakfast was exceptional. Hard to believe they allowed such filthy backpackers like us in there, and then treated us with such kindness!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sometourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

I loved this Hotel. Being in Sintra is like being transported into the middle of a fairy tale and I can't think of a more perfect place to stay in Sintra than Lawrences. The location is ideal, the staff was charming and helpful, the restaurant was amazing and I actaully gasped out loud when we were shown to our room and I saw the view from it. It is old, however it was very clean and didn't have a "shabby" feel to it's age. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alwayspacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We stayed at the Lawrence for our first night in Portugal and didn't want to leave---we didn't think that any other hotel could be more perfect than this!
We were given the large suite on the top floor with the french doors to a balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens---without a special request and at no extra charge.
The room was really charming, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The bathroom was modern and even had a huge jacuzzi tub!
The staff was very helpful and gracious, answering many questions and offering very helpful advice.
As we were tired from our plane ride and the weather was poor, we decided to have dinner in the hotel. They had musicians playing in the lovely room, the food was quite good and actually reasonably priced(although we found better, more traditional restaurants as the trip went on!
Breakfast was also good and served in the beautiful dining room.
This is a 5 star inn at a very good price in a magical little town.
Highly recommend the Lawrence---you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcqajbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2009

My husband and I have just spent a long weekend in Lawrence's Hotel. It was perfectly lovely. We had a gorgeous suite on the top floor with a balcony overlooking the tree covered hills. We were not charged extra for the suite. The hotel is certainly not dated, it is charming and old fashioned in the best way. OK so there are no flat screen TVs or spa treatments but who needs that when there are lovely walks and gardens, palaces and castles, restaurants and cafes so close by? Sintra itself is well worth visiting though very busy during the day with visitors and parking is a problem but it is worth the difficulties involved. The staff were excellent and helpful and the buffet breakfast was of the best quality - lovely fresh fruit, cheeses, cold meat and breads.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2009

I have been visiting Sintra since 1995, and staying at the Lawrence's Hotel for the past 8 years or so. I love it, it is in a great location, has a lot of character, cheerful and helpful staff and a wonderful restaurant. I will continue to go back to enjoy this unique and charming hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elche, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2009

Reading the other reviews, I wonder if I actually stayed in the same hotel. Firstly, there is no private parking and on arrival at 4 p.m., it was impossible to park anywhere near it, so we went off to visit elsewhere and returned at 7 p.m. The staff were pleasant enough, but the room allocated was tiny, with a small TV that had just 7 channels, no facilities for making tea or coffee and no information about the hotel or it's services. The buffet breakfast was limited and no cooked breakfast was offered. Sure, the furniture and decor is nice, but in reality this is more of an upmarket B & B than a 4 star hotel. Smokers, be warned that smoking is not allowed anywhere in the hotel - information that was not included on any of the 4 websites I looked at.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badcop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawrence's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrence's Hotel

Property: Lawrence's Hotel
Address: Rua Consiglieri Pedroso 38 40, Sintra 2710-550, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lawrence's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lawrence's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrences Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing