We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but a little expensive as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of A Raposa

A Raposa
Ranked #6 of 258 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: great little place & they do live music on weekends. she doesn't seem to have a web page. here all i found on line : http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=pt&u=http://videos.wittysparks.com/id/1241914055/&ei=z6xqTZygE8qr8Ab93s3hCw&sa=X&oi=translate&ct=result&resnum=3&ved=0CCsQ7gEwAg&prev=/search%3Fq%3Da%2Braposa%2B%2Bcasa%2Bde%2Bchai%2Bsintra%26hl%3Den%26client%3Dfirefox-a%26hs%3DWvS%26rls%3Dorg.mozilla:en-US:official%26prmd%3Divns
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great food but a little expensive as well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We ordered a salad with fruit, risotto with shrimp and squid and beef fillet. The water and bread served afterwards plus what we ordered cost us more than 50 euros. If we only focus on the food then I have to say it's wonderful. Fresh vegetable, fruits and seasoning make the salad so good. Squid was hidden in the resotto until you have a bite. Beef is also good with the potatoes besides it. Delicious anyway. The decoration inside the restaurant is also beautiful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Addicted_to_scenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    66
    20
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver WA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Memorable meal and evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

A Raposa is a lovely place to enjoy a great meal. We all had something different: salmon, scallops, pork, pasta ...and everyone's meal was beautifully presented and delicious. Enjoyed a couple of bottles of local wine as well. The hostess was charming despite our Portuguese being minimal. I have a feeling she understands more English than she lets on to. I would definitely recommend Trying A Raposa- you won't be sorry :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mags52vancouverWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Bad Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Didn't get to eat here, we left after trying to order due to the attitude of the lady serving us. It felt like we were a complete inconvenience to her so we listened to our gut instinct and left. At first we didn't know if we could get a table but it turned out there were only 8 people in the restaurant. Then they seemed to be out of everything and she kept trying to tell my parner to 'have this, or have that', then she huffed and puffed when he said he needed a minute, then she threw my menu down on the table behind us. I am sure the food would have been good but her attitude stunk.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CLSuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Amazing surprise hidden away in Sintra”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We did not know where to go, desperately looking for a special restaurant in Sintra, away from the touristic center. We got lucky - we found a Raposa. From outside it does not look like much, but once you get inside an amazing surpise awaits you. Hidden away in the town of Sintra you find a delicately decorated restaurant, high ceiling, rough wooden tables and flowers and candles everywhere. The perfect romantic get away as there are only about ten tables. One chef cooking amazing food and an excellent wine menu. The already perfect night was hightened by the waitress, Graciela, a wonderful portuguese women who treated us like family. She gave us the best service posible and she alone makes the restaurant worth a visit. If you get lucky maybe she will give you a musical experience at the end of the night. 100% recomendable.

Emma and David from Madrid

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal at A Raposa. A short walk from the town centre to a town house, up some outside steps and into a huge room, a very surprising space! A Raposa is a tea room and café by day, and a restaurant at night. The food is freshly prepared and cooked with delightful service from the lady. Given my lack of Portuguese, we managed to communicate and she was very patient! A lovely evening - unfortunately, given the time of year and poor weather (rain!), we were the only guests until almost the end of the meal. It surely will be much busier during the season. Do go and eat here!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alisoun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Raposa also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to A Raposa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing