We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa
Ranked #4 of 43 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I recently had the pleasure of enjoying two wonderful days at Villa Mira Longa. It turned out to be the perfect place from which to explore charming Sintra. It is situated less than 100 meters from the city center. It also only steps away from a bus stop from which you can easily reach the Palace and the Moorish Castle.

Michel an Oseias purchased the dwelling in 2007 and spent three years restoring it to its former grandeur. It is filled with interesting antiques and architectural details. They have succeeded in reviving its proud spirit and soul.

I stayed in the one bedroom apartment in the lower level. It is very serene and has a private entrance. The view of downtown and the ocean was fantastic. I also appreciated being so close to many good dining choices.

This place is an exceptional value.

Room Tip: Michel will pick you up at the Lisbon airport which is only 25 km from Sintra. The cost each way is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is honestly the best B&B I have ever had the pleasure of staying at. From the very warm welcome to the very comfortable beds to the lavish breakfast- this place is an absolute treat. We were given excellent advice on where to eat (and what to avoid) in Sintra and made to feel very welcome. The shower was just amazing, and the range of facilities provided to guests amazing. For example, they provided you with a whole hair drying kit- including diffuser, brush and curling irons! The rooms are decorated so beautifully and the view from the veranda is spectacular. It's set very slightly out of the tourist centre, but within a 5 minute walk to it, and the bus stop for the palace and castle is located just in front of the B&B. I can not recommend this place strongly enough- stay here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsatterley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I can't find any fault with the Mira Longa. It's a beautifully restored period property, equipped with every comfort and convenience. Set in a lovely garden, it's well located on the edge of the historic centre and on the bus route to Pena Palace. Owners are welcoming and informative. Breakfast is better than we've had in expensive hotels: lots of choice and beautifully presented.
Will definitely stay here again, next time we visit the Lisbon area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden room, but I'd be surprised if the others aren't of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stottytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Villa Mira is an absolute gem! The owners have restored the house so beautifully that it almost seems like you are stepping into a fairy-tale! Michel and Oseias went above and beyond making us feel welcome and because it was Valentine's Day when we arrived they decorated our room and left rose petals, a box of chocolates fruit and wine. The views from the house are stunning. I would highly recommend a stay in this beautiful property. Thank you Michel and Oseias for making our stay extremely special :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yv0nnek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Michel and Oseias are fantastic hosts. Their home is beautiful and the location is convenient to walk to Sintra's major sites. There is a beautiful view from the porch over the town and all the way to the ocean. Our room was spacious and comfortable with all the extra amenities (hair dryer, bottled water, robes, etc.) that one could need. Breakfast was excellent - a selection of breads, hams, cheeses, fruit and coffee. Terrific value and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eca5416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A charming retreat in a magical town. Perched up on a hill overlooking Sintra, Villa Mira Longa is easy to spot against the dark green hills. We arrived in Sintra via train. Took the bus from the train station to city center. From the bus stop it was a fairly short walk to the B&B. ( when you exit the bus, go to your left and look for a flight of steps leading up to the next road, that is the short cut to walk to the B&B). We had the garden room. Large windows open out to the beautiful gardens, The room was nice size, clean, and decorated with style. The adjoining bathroom was equally clean and well decorated. The rest of the property was beautiful. The front porch and deck both had amazing views, both during the day and in the evening. The furniture and antiques were lovely. We enjoyed speaking with Michel. He not only had a wonderful breakfast set for us in the morning, but was also great with recommendations on what to do and see in the area. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at Villa Mira Longa two nights with my wife and I can fully recommend this place to anybody planning a journey to Sintra. The room we had was very nice, everything was well organised and we received a bunch of useful tips and hints for our Sintra adventures. Moreover, the five star breakfast on the terrace with a great view over the valley was something different. It cannot get much better than this. If I ever go to Sintra again, I won't even consider any other places.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa

Address: Estrada da Pena 04, Sintra 2710-609, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: £88 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1898, the Bed & Breakfast - Villa Mira Longa is located in the historic center of Sintra, on the hillside, with a breathtaking view over the historic center, the National Palace, the ocean and the Moorish Castle. The Villa offers: On the ground floor a Standard double room with private bathroom with Garden view (Buffet breakfast included) for 2 persons. On the ground floor (side of the garden) a Estudio-Suite with kitchenette fully equipped and private bathroom. Also a little terrace.( The entrance is independent of the main house) (Buffet breakfast included). On the first floor a Junior Suite with private bathroom, view to historic center and Ocean. (Buffet breakfast included)) for 2 persons. On the top floor two bedroom ensuite ( Superior quadruple room) with private bathroom (Buffet breakfast included). For 3 to 4 persons. On the top floor a Superior double room with private bathroom, view to historic center and Garden (For 2 persons. (Buffet breakfast included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Villa Mira Longa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing