We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casal de Sao Pedro

Pool area at the back garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area at the back garden
Front of house Entrance hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Pool area at the back garden
Front of house
Entrance hall
TV room
Bedroom en suite
en suite bathroom
bedroom with king size bed
Bathroom complete
twin bedroom en suite one the ground floor
Bedroom en suite with 4 bunk beds
dining room
Lounge
lounge
Lounge and terrace
terrace
kitchen
kitchen
kitchenette
pool area
Back garden
garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sintra, Sintra Municipality, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NSDT
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were a family group of 7 adults. The property was spacious, well equiped and very comfortable. We were lucky with the weather, so the beautiful garden and pool were well used. Would have no hesitation in recommending the house for a great holiday!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
95Patrick
County Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great place for a family or indeed two!”
Reviewed 2 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Myself, my wife and 2 girls 9 & 10yrs from Dublin stayed for week, we were extremely lucky with the weather (25C plus) for whole duration, got to use pool at Easter!. It's a really lovely house with a history that had everything you'd need. If you stock up on foods you'd never need to leave, never once did kids do the usual of 'we're bored..', they collected lemons and herbs from the garden plus fresh eggs from chicken pen, hunted for little lizards and generally had great fun. Kitchen great for someone who likes to cook, everything available you'd need, really sharp knives. Living room stocked with logs for the fire, is was cool first night so blazing fire nice touch. Bed linen spotless and fresh, we all slept exceptionally well, kids commented on the linen and bed as well.
Caretaker (Croatian Lady) lives on site but completely non intrusive, Gardner around early in the mornings but with our clocks saw him once or twice.
Very large modern shopping centre 10minutes drive, a lot to do and see in the general area, everything we did probably no more that 20-40 minutes drive, including the Aquarium in Lisbon and Cable Car. Not much to do in the village, restaurant few minute walk up road and tiny very traditional shop if you stuck for the basics. There no air conditioning but the house is cool, stone floors and thick old wall, I doubt the at height summer it would be too warm.
Malfada very helpful, so overall it was a great break, house is big can easily accommodate two families without any problem, we would go back. Patrick.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camnal
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casal de Sao Pedro was like an oasis ……..”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were a family of 6 travelling from Australia for a month. Our 10 days here were truly perfect. Mafalda was there to greet us on arrival with freshly baked cookies! The property has beautiful spacious secure grounds complete with a veggie patch, chooks for fresh eggs and a friendly care taker who lives in separate quarters. The entire house was well equipped with everything from pool toys to freshly picked herbs from the garden! The location of the property is excellent as it is only 20 mins from Lisbon airport, 10 mins from World Heritage listed Sintra and 15 mins from the beaches. In saying this, we spent a few days just at home, relaxing by the pool, exploring the garden (including hours of snail hunting by our 4 yr old son!!) A beautiful, relaxing holiday. Thank you Mafalda!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidbD58...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous property”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were 2 families of 4 including teenage boys who shared the bunk bed room , but there was the option of an unused twin room if there was anyone needing some of their own space . .This is a super Portuguese property of immense proportions and space in all rooms and gardens ( watered every night by on site housekeeper ) . The furniture was old but fitted in with the building , and was perfectly acceptable , the floors were a lovely stone which kept the inside cool and there was loads of pans , crockery and a large gas oven ( plus 2 barbeques for Al Fresco dining on the patio ) . The gardens were lovely with a chicken run at the bottom of the garden where we were told to take the fresh eggs every morning , there were fresh limes which enhanced the gin and tonics on an evening , unfortunately the grapes werent ready but anyone staying in September will get to pick them . The swimming pool was super with outdoor shower and gentle access at one end although nearly 2m deep at the other end . There was a wine cellar / storage room full of floaties for the pool , straw hats to counter the sun , numerous games for the kids including table football , dart board , lawn skittles , croquet - the list is endless . The sun tended to go down over the hill by 730pm when we usually went indoors for evening meal as the temperature dropped . The villa is easily located off the main roads and is approx 1.5 miles from a Lidl supermarket if like us you want to self cater although there are 3 eateries in the small village only 100yards away . The restauarant we tried had a well spoken English owner who translated the menu for you , they serve 3 courses at lunch for 7 - 8 Euros . Food and drink here was very reasonable and the food lovely - our bill for 8 persons food and drinks was less than 80 euros for bread , local cheese , olives and a main course . We visited Cascais with its lovely promenade which takes you all the way to Estoril , a 3 km walk either way in front of the fish restaurants and lovely beach and harbour . There was so much more to do , Sintra is only 5miles away and there is a local bus stop only 100 yds away with a regular service if you dont have a car although you are better off hiring one . A lovely relaxing time was had by all and a week wasnt really long enough to get the full benefit of the area , what a lovely part of the world . The only down side was when the local dogs from adjacent properties decided to test their vocal chords all one afternoon for some reason , the lovely Mafalda who made us our stay so special assured us that there was a local petition in the village to overcome this problem , although quite annoying it was only one afternoon . Overall a wonderful property offering perfect relaxation with easy access to sightseeing locations .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space everywhere
Liked least: The dogs barking
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen1010...
Hinsdale, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely delightful and exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We are a group of two couples and two teenagers. The bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely and comfortable. Lots of large windows and natural light. Kitchen is fully stocked and functional. We cooked two nights and ate outside on the terrace. There is plenty of room for everyone to relax comfortably. The grounds are maintained beautifully. There are flowers everywhere and a vegetable garden. We enjoyed feeding the chickens and gathering eggs. The pool was wonderful. Having a property caretaker on site was very nice. Mafalda was easy to work with in setting up the reservation and so gracious in person. Location is easy access to Sintra. We also visited Lisbon, beaches in the area and Obidos. Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Old-world feel of the house, lovely grounds and pool
Liked least: Minor complaint - not very walkable location.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather K
Evanston, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful estate all to ourselves”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We loved staying at Casal de Sao Pedro. When we arrived Mafalda graciously greeted us and showed us around the beautiful home and grounds. The home is meticulously cared for as well as the gardens and pool. It was a paradise that we hope to visit again one day. Thank you for letting us stay at your home!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2017
Très heureux de savoir que vous avez tous passé un merveilleux séjour.
J'espère vous accueillir une autre fois.
Merci Poupard famille.
Mes meilleurs voeux.

Mafalda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing