We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't know was so close to Lisbon- beautiful hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 May 2012

An impromptu visit to Almaa had us wishing for more time in Portugal. We didn't get to stay here, just had a picnic lunch with our guide Sofia and Jerome was so hsopitable in the drenching rain.showed us through. We all had lunch together in the huge farmhouse style kitchen, you know the sort, everyone wants to sit around and chat....How we wanted to stay!! Beautiful decor, no excess just perfect. Extremely clean and gorgeous grounds/gardens.
If you get a chance is worth a visit. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

I loved our stay. The staff are friendly, hospitable, and very, very flexible. We felt really at home while there. The place is authentic and beautifully decorated without any excess. There is a big kitchen where groups of people can gather, cook together, bond, etc. The surroundings are beautiful, everything is clean, etc. I think they even grow their own food, which is fantastic. It is so great to stay in place that follows the zero footprint and sustainability philosophy.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have the best view. There is one room on the second floor which has its own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadejda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I just spent a week-end here with a large group of friends and we had a wonderful time. There is a big kitchen which is great for cooking and relaxing together. The terrace has a spectacular view, the rooms are decorated artistically with many feature lamps that are works of art in themselves. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzrovia_Fellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We came to the Almaa Sintra Hostel for a reunion of friends and we couldn't have chosen a better location. The large communal space with its lovely fireplace was excellent for group discussions and big dinners. The big kitchen also allowed us to cook with and for many people and washing up in a bath tub was an adventure! The gardens, water reservoir and winding paths let us discover the beautiful nature that surrounds the hostel. Everything is accessible by foot and the history of Sintra provides more adventures.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliane837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I had such a lovely time at Almaa Sintra Hostel, the people and the place are fantastic and it really is one of the most special hostels i've ever stayed in. The grounds and gardens are a haven, acres of green and flowery, light and shade and a stunning water talk/natural swimming pool - a creative paradise, just minutes away from the old town and the beautiful Palace Regaleira. I will definitely be returning, it's one of those hostels (very rare!) where you can stay and not actually need to leave the grounds to feel like you've had a holiday/retreat. It's friendly and private and plenty of space to do your own thing, I highly recommend staying there

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing, there seems to be something for everyone, i think going as a couple/famil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisemanrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Joao dooes not only have great restaurant tips, also he has turned this centuries-old estate into a simple but nice hostel.
In the hostel, you can escape the touristy feeling you cant shake in and around Sintra. The place has a dreamy, chilled atmosphere, the rooms are colorful and different from what you know from normal Hotels. Breakfast was very good, usually they have handcrafted jams there, i was told.

There is also a stylish stone basin with water from the mountains to swim in - unfortunately it was to cold in March when we were there.

And it's cheap, of course.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Beautiful hostel in an old mansion, very good price. Only 40 min. train from Lisbon and around 30 min. walk from the train station... location is good. You can walk up to the castle and the palace or take a bus. You can use the kitchen, large living room with 2 computers/internet and a fireplace. Beds and shared bathroom were very clean. Only problem was the humidity and it was cold inside during the evening and night. But it was OK in the bed. You can walk the trail going to the pool in the backyard, nice view. Breakfast was included and served; very good. Sleeping there is a must when going to Sintra.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMichel_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
691 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#7 of 32 in Sintra
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#1 of 32 in Sintra
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaa Sintra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaa Sintra Hostel

Address: Caminho dos Frades | Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra 2710-560, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Sintra
Price Range: £13 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almáa Sintra Hostel is a retreat center and an Eco Hostel located in the heart of the Sintra Mountain Range which cultural landscape is classified by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. Our house is sited in a property considered the oldest in Sintra, dated back to the 12st century, with 3,5 ha of luxurious gardens. We offer private and shared rooms in a heavenly environment. The Hostel was named Almáa, which means "The Water" in Arabic, due to the influence of the moors in this region and the fantastic natural spring water that supplies the house, and waters the gardens. "Alma" also means soul in some Latin languages. Our beliefs in sustainability and in helping one another, made us manufacture our furniture with recycled materials done by local artists with the help of third sector entities (charities, voluntary organizations and social enterprises) that are also our main suppliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Almaa Sintra Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing