We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almaa Sintra Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Linz
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Really nice hostel in a stunning, old house and in a perfect setting - the best starting point for any and all Sintra experiences and sightseeing as well as hiking for the entire region! Love to come back at any time!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anti_christl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    39
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
59
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evora, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Almaa hostel is a very peaceful place to relax when visiting the beautiful palaces of Sintra. I specially liked the ecological choices of the furniture, the close contact with nature and the interesting medieval pub next to the hostel.

Almaa is also located in walking distance to the Regaleira Palace with its unique style and amazing garden.

Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EvorAdvenTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a lovely, relaxing, tranquil eco-hostel just outside Sintra. Beautiful peaceful location and grounds (big garden). A little way out of town, which adds to the relaxed vibe, and it's an easy 15 minute walk into the centre of Sintra. Nice big communal kitchen. Very friendly staff. I was in a three-bed room and was lucky enough to have the room to myself, so I had a really nice two day stopover en route from Ericeira to Cascais. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank LM631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

A truely magical place - both the house and the gardens are stunningly beautiful; an abundance of fruit trees, fireflies by night, views of the sunset, a hidden pool, huge old trees and all kinds of other wonders of nature made me feel a little like I had stepped into a fairytale. Incredibly peaceful, and a great place to spend time alone, but also plenty of opportunities to socialise with staff and guests in the common areas if this is what you want. Great collection of books, and lots of good spots to curl up and read undisturbed, both indoors and out.

The place is run in a genuinely ecologically-conscious way: proper recycling facilities, furniture made from discarded materials. Proper breakfasts - fresh sourdough bread each day, and good jams, muesli and coffee. One gets the sense that everything in and about this place is an expression of people who care about all that is worth celebrating in life!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very charming, hostile and proper hostel in an old land house, surrounded by beautiful nature,
view over the hills down to the ocean, large kitchen with gaz oven for kooking.
10 minutes walk to busses and railway to Lisbon and the beaches.
I had a most beautiful time for more then a week, first wanted to stay only a couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 2253333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

It was a pity, we only stayed for 1 night but we've had a very good time. Incredible surrounding, good bed, authentic rooms, natural swimmingpool, nice atmosphere and a very friendly owner. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic0le66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

I had a couple of recommendations before arriving to Almaa and they were right, it was the perfect place. I stayed there for 7 nights and loved and enjoyed all the nature within the property, and the hostel itself is a charming place with a lovely energy and atmosphere. The hosts are very friendly and willing to help in any way they can! And they have the sweetest dog ever, I actually miss them all!. I will stay there next time I visit Sintra, for sure. ❤

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaktiColibri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nice Way Sintra
Nice Way Sintra
#5 of 30 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Moon Hill Hostel
Moon Hill Hostel
#1 of 30 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almaa Sintra Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almaa Sintra Hostel

Property: Almaa Sintra Hostel
Address: Caminho dos Frades | Quinta dos Lobos, Sintra 2710-560, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Almáa Sintra Hostel is a retreat center and an Eco Hostel located in the heart of the Sintra Mountain Range which cultural landscape is classified by Unesco as a World Heritage Site. Our house is sited in a property considered the oldest in Sintra, dated back to the 12st century, with 3,5 ha of luxurious gardens. We offer private and shared rooms in a heavenly environment. The Hostel was named Almáa, which means "The Water" in Arabic, due to the influence of the moors in this region and the fantastic natural spring water that supplies the house, and waters the gardens. "Alma" also means soul in some Latin languages. Our beliefs in sustainability and in helping one another, made us manufacture our furniture with recycled materials done by local artists with the help of third sector entities (charities, voluntary organizations and social enterprises) that are also our main suppliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Almaa Sintra Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing