We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seven Sighs in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Seven Sighs in Paradise”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This Hotel has a rather unusual name ''7 Sighs'' and you will be sighing at the sheer beauty of the location, along with the hotel and its setting up high on the mountain amongst the circuit of the Royal Palaces. We didn't even get into Lisbon, we just couldn't tear ourselves away .... We did visit walk down into the town everyday (for coffee and cake) and we managed 3 Palace visits in a week, which most people were doing in a day!

Fabulous relaxing time and we took the advice of someone on Tripadvisor and stayed a week so that we could enjoy the facilities at the Hotel.

Thank you to the Hotel Staff who were very friendly and helpful, especially Diogo and Sandro.

Here are some useful tips:

RIDING SCHOOL: There is an excellent dressage trainer, Antonio, with 3/4 horses and 2 ponies and adult lessons cost 30 Euros per hour. Ride in the morning or early evening to avoid the heat (no shade)

LOCAL BUS: Don't rent a car unless you want to travel further afield. If you want to see the local sights in SINTRA you can do all the Palaces with the local bus (Pena Palace, Montserrat, National Palace, Moorish Palace). You buy a return ticket from the driver on entry (2 Euros p.p) and buses are usually frequent (every 30 mins). Unfortunately, it's difficult to know when it is coming, so you will need to be patient.

TAXI: Reasonable rates and approx 4 Euros to the Hotel from the town.

AIRPORT: We found the Information Staff at Lisbon Airport very rude and unfriendly. They just wanted to sell us the luxury taxi for 60 Euros and wouldn't give us any information on taxi tariffs. We decided to take a cab from outside the arrivals terminal and agreed the price with the taxi driver before leaving. The journey cost 35 Euros, so it was worth it.

RESTAURANTS IN SINTRA: We ate at Tulhos and Tacho Real, both are very good local restaurants, but if you are vegetarian it can be difficult to find something other than a plate of vegetables.

RESTAURANT IN THE HOTEL: We found the food to be very good and there is a good selection of vegetarian options. There is also a nice selection at the bar/terrace if you don't want to eat in a formal environment. There is live music (piano, harp) which can become monotonous after a couple of nights and it is also pleasant to eat on the pool deck at lunchtime.

ROOMS: We had a standard double which had 2 queen beds pushed together and we changed this around so that we had more space. The hotel offers a 'pillow menu' and we found the bed/pillows to be very comfortable. There is not a lot of information provided about the hotel in English - we were expecting a booklet/folder with loads of info about the locality and the hotel/grounds. We spoke to Reception/Concierge and got all our information personally and we recommend you do the same. The rooms are tastefully decorated with antique furniture and with a large spacious bathroom. The Georgian sash windows are a real feature and the views are spectacular.

EVENTS: Understandably the hotel is a very popular wedding venue and on arrival there was a large wedding party checking out. We had to wait 30 mins to check in and think it would be more efficient to have a larger Reception area with more staff at busy times. We were also unable to eat on the terrace/outside due to an event and it was too hot to eat inside so we went to our room instead, where we were surprised to receive a complimentary fresh fruit plate and some tawny port from the Manager!

This hotel is a real gem and we are so happy to have visited - we would like to come back soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherMegaMauriFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    234
    63
    23
    5
See reviews for
208
704
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I went with my wife for a long weekend. I went there last time for tea as a child with my mum some 40 years ago. The room was superb, the bed and linen amazing, the shower in the bathroom was fantastic. The breakfast buffet was from another era - beautifully presented - a gourmet extravanganza fit for a King (or Queen). The service was impeccable.

I cant recommend this establishment enough. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholasfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 28 January 2016

Dear Nicholas,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

What a place to stay!! And we did for a week. We really loved walking around the palace in the evening. Listening to the pianoman, drinking a lovely whisky from the bar...it was perfect. Very friendly staff. No complaints at all!!
And let's not fotget the great beds. The best place to stay in Sintra, especially if you love palaces, castles and gardens like we do. Walking around in the hills around Sintra is really good.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Trui,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tampa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Simply unbelievable. The recently restored castle provided and excellent base while in Sintra, Portugal. The service, historic rooms (complete with a real skeleton key), and huge marble bath were perfectly appointed with rich furnishings from the original period. I do have to say that the review stating that the hotel seems "tired" and "old" was very confusing to me, personally. It's a castle.....it's supposed to be old. It was only restored and opened to the public only a few years ago - and there are case studies on the internet about its fantastic detail and historically respectful renovation. We found the historic furniture and tapestries to be charming.

The bed was THE most comfortable that we've ever slept in, in room fireplace a welcome respite from the cold, and the grounds were perfectly manicured and welcoming for a stroll.

In short, it is an absolutely magical place, in magical Sintra. I'd certainly stay here again - it's absolutely unique in the world and worth the extra funds for the experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meagang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Exquisite small hotel with 30 rooms. The structure itself is a huge rambling house from the 1770's. Room are beautiful with excellent plumbing including shower pressure that is great. The beds are the most comfortable that I have ever slept in! Outstanding service. I was travelling with my wife who was attending a meeting and therefore I do not know what the cost of the room was, but we upgraded from a perfectly good room (7) to an exquisite room (15) and the difference was only 10 Euros/day. Only down side was the restaurant. The group that my wife was with ate dinner at the hotel 1 evening and it was average at best. Breakfasts were OK but repetitive; should be improved

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slabotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

This hotel has a reputation as the best in Sintra and maybe it is. However, the room and the hotel seemed tired and worn. It seemed locked in time. Furnishings seemed old and dated. There is a faded elegance to the hotel but it at least needs to upgrade the rooms. It seemed like our room hadn't changed in thirty years. The television did not work which fortunately wasn't an issue as we had little time to watch television. It was hard opening and closing the creaky doors to the room and the bathroom. On the other hand, the bedding was excellent and so was the food at the hotel. The concierge was most helpful. With a few changes this place could be among the best places to stay in Portugal.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norm5Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I had high expectations going in -- the Tivoli website has an extensive brochure of this hotel on its website -- and they were pretty much met across the board. There were some disappointments, but these are overwhelmed by the pluses of staying here. First of all, the public spaces, which comprise most of the interior of Seteais, are sensational. You are, indeed, staying in a palace. It is perched on a hill just outside of Sintra, which puts it at a remove from the crowds by day and then a sanctuary of silence at night. Not even crickets. Blissfully quiet. There is a large, lovely pool, which due to the intimacy of the hotel and the limited number of guests, is never crowded. There were always several available chaises, and refreshingly there are rules at the hotel which forbid hogging poolside space by leaving a towel for the day -- which I must say I appreciated, having just come from a hotel where the competition for chaises was fierce, because that hotel had no such rules in place, and there were more towels on vacant chaises than people. Very frustrating if you are trying to get some sun!

There are also tennis courts and horses on the property, as well as a stunning garden with hedge mazes that overlooks the valley. The hotel offers tennis equipment if you'd like to play, and you can book a ride on horseback pretty much all day.

The beautiful canopied patio which overlooks the pool is a great retreat for lunch, an afternoon beer, for cocktails and a smoke before dinner (and during) or a late-night snack or nightcap. We had dinner one night in the opulent dining room, again there are not many guests due to the boutique size of the hotel so our dinner was pretty much almost a command performance. But, what a performance! Great service, superb food, a rare and elegant surrounding. Now a wonderful memory, one of the highlights of our trip to Portugal.

I was relieved to see there was air-conditioning in the old rooms, but unfortunately it pretty much didn't work. The room was lovely but somewhat small, but opened onto a spectacular terrace which was furnished as a sitting area. There was a decanter of port in the room, which was a great touch of hospitality. The down beds were soft, and for me not restful, but I need a firm mattress so this might not bother other people. My only regret about this hotel, really, is that we only stayed for two nights and spent most of our days sight-seeing. I would have preferred to have stayed a week, and spent more time relaxing by the poolside at this superb hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,556 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Property: Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Address: Rua Barbosa Du Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing