We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel like a King”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Feel like a King”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Beautiful Palace with elegant rooms and great service and breakfast included for €270. Justa 10 min walk from the main Palace and 5 min from Quinta Regaleira. They have three horses so you can ride through Sintra.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlballesteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 28 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    234
    63
    23
    5
See reviews for
208
704
27
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We recently returned from a two-night stay at Seteais in Sintra and it could not have been a more perfect experience. The hotel is impeccable. To start off with, they checked us in early at 8 am after our overnight flight from New York. Granted, we stayed in January so it was low season. We were given room 19, which is one of only four with a terrace with phenomenal views that stretch to the coast. (The rooms on the other side have wonderful views of Pena Palace, which is especially beautiful lit up at night.) Our room was furnished with gorgeous 18th century antiques, but instead of being fussy, it was still very cozy. Like everything else, the bed and the bed linens were high quality. The towels were thick and even smelled nice and there were bathrobes and slippers. The bathroom was large and modern with a double sink, but decorated in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Of course everything was spotlessly clean.

Outside our room there were numerous common areas to relax in, all perfectly appointed with unusual flower arrangements, wall frescoes, marble-topped tables, antique grandfather clocks, baroque-era pianos, etc. Everything was elegant, but not overly elaborate. The grounds were also amazing - hedge mazes, lemon groves, lots of open green space plus tennis courts and a pool.

On top of all of this, service was fantastic. Everyone from the concierge to housekeeping was kind and helpful. Our only regret is that we missed the buffet breakfast both mornings. But they were so kind as to send us a continental breakfast that we enjoyed on the terrace one morning (weather was so mild!) and the next morning they packed up breakfast boxes for us to take to the airport (and we were not charged extra for either). Very attentive service.

The location is slightly outside the historic center of Sintra, but still a convenient 10 minute walk away (granted it is uphill one way!) and just far enough away that it feels like you are really on vacation. We marveled at how quiet and relaxing everything was, but still very accessible to all the amazing sights of Sintra.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SMAChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 28 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badajoz, España
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Sintra offers some spectacular locations, but the Palacio de Seteais is a must! It is one of the most beautiful Palaces around the village, and you can experience the glamor and luxury of staying a night in it. The antique furniture is impressive, the paintings and tapestries are masterpieces, the garden is a delight, and a visit to Sintra is a must for any traveler. There´s a small swimming pool to enjoy, and the views are fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 28 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We had booked at this beautiful former palace several months in advance as a planned 2 night post-cruise stay. I had contacted the concierge by email to arrange for a driver to pick us up in the cruise port in Lisbon after an 11 day cruise on the Crystal Serenity. As promised a very informative and professional chauffeur was awaiting our disembarkation and drove us to the Hotel in scenic Sintra. It is about 35 minutes. We were quite impressed from the moment we turned onto the long driveway in front of the hotel. The hotel manager greeted us at the door and had us registered within a few minutes.

Recently refurbished by the Tivoli Hotel group in 2009, you feel like you were whisked back in time to a grand palace hundreds of years ago. The fine touches and artwork were very tasteful. Our room was very spacious with a large king size bed, essentially two smaller beds pushed together. Most of the furniture were precious antiques. It had a modern large flat screen TV. Complimentary local pastries and port wine awaited on the antique dresser. The view from the room looked out over the manicured grounds with the coastline and Atlantic Ocean in the distance.

Included was a complimentary extensive buffet breakfast which was quite good. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk downhill to the center of the town on a cobblestone road, or a 4€ taxi ride.

Having just completed an 11 day six star cruise our expectations were high, yet they were certainly met.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mountain_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Everything perfect , all we could expect from a historical portuguese palace, we strongly recomend it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbuerger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
All your comments about the Hotel Tivoli Palácio de Seteais were already shared with the staff, and some may be considered in the near future, to improve our quality standards.
I hope we have the chance to receive you again during your next stay in Sintra.
Best Regards,
Pedro Frazão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

A splendid hotel in a beautiful old portugese manor house. Over the years we have traveled a lot and stayed in some very nice hotels, but I don't think we ever slept in such wonderful comfortable beds. Our room was beautiful appointed, with a large very privat terrace with fantastic views. Even the walk to our room was a pleasure, trough wide corridors and beautiful public rooms decorated with antiques and wonderful hand painted wallpapers.
The staff was wonderful and made you nearly felt you were the owner of this place returning home.
Dinner at the restaurant so was a dissapointment. Nice sounding menu but the food was very average. We had Foi Gras which was served with cold toast made with old bread and the pate itself sprinkled with lots of coarse salt. Bad start. Main course equally dissapointingly bland and unimagenative and dessert just plain bad. Porfiterols fit to play tennis with, the dough thick and chewy and the filling like play dough. Add to that the wine waiters BO problem, not exactly a good evening. But breakfast was wonderful and with absolutly anything one could want.
One small gripe so, in a hotel of this class to charge 2 Euros for the nespresso coffee capsulas in the room is just sad. Surly the price of this should be included in the room rate? On the other hand you had a small caraffe of port wine in the room which was free.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MumofHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
All your comments about the Hotel Tivoli Palácio de Seteais were already shared with the staff, and some may be considered in the near future, to improve our quality standards.
I hope we have the chance to receive you again during your next stay in Sintra.
Best Regards,
Pedro Frazão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich,CT.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Palacio de Setais is an architectural gem nestled in beautiful lush gardens. Walking distance to SIntra, it was nice to be away from the crowds in this amazing paradise. The pool and terrace area made it hard to leave the grounds to visit the nearby sites. There were many exquisite sitting rooms and a lovely terrace overlooking the pool and the gardens. Great place to enjoy dinner or a cocktail at sundown. The dining room was beautiful and the breakfast buffet was extraordinary, I believe there was champagne. Our room was attractive with a garden view but it was small. The staff was helpful and warm and our only complaint was one of our evening meals in the dining room was not up to par. That said, I would return to this very romantic hotel in a flash.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace, they seem to be much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodsidepasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
All your comments about the Hotel Tivoli Palácio de Seteais were already shared with the staff, and some may be considered in the near future, to improve our quality standards.
I hope we have the chance to receive you again during your next stay in Sintra.
Best Regards,
Pedro Frazão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,561 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
662 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Property: Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Address: Rua Barbosa Du Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing