We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nova Sintra(Sintra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,220 results
Traveller rating
882
244
65
24
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
882
244
65
24
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelreal palacetennis courtsold palaceluxury hotellike royaltypublic roomsold worldport winethe atlantic oceanpastriesfairy talea wonderful staymoorish castlepalaciotivoliportugal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
618 - 623 of 1,220 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I booked this Hotel because it's is an antique palace and part of the portuguese history. I can say that it is just magnificent and the whole service is really good and discrete! They value their costumers and you'll be well treated for sure! I went with my girlfriend and she loved it too. Room cleaning was excellent and they cleaned our room twice a day, I even searched for dust over the mirrors and they were clean.

Also the location of the hotel is just fabulous for some sightseeing and there are several palaces to visit and the 'Serra de Sintra' and the town it self is very charming. It's worth it!

At the Hotel, the breakfast was good and had a good service. Regarding dinner, the menu is great, it took me like half an hour just do decide what to eat because everything sounds delicious, but the main course could be a little bit tastier for a palace restaurant. I definitely recommend the fish soup and the risotto.

The only downpoint at my stay was at the arrival. It was raining a lot when we arrived and after parking in front of the door, we had no umbrella so we had to carry our baggage until the entrance. I think they could have had the attention to assist us and carry our bags inside and provide some umbrellas.

Conclusion: 5* Weekend! Totally recommend it!

Room Tip: our room was number 15. Previous to my reservation they assured that all rooms are like the picture shown on their website and with the same quality. I confirm!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonWiederkehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Dear Simon,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We found the hotel without difficulty using our sat-nav. A nice entrance provided a wonderful impression of this lovely old and imposing building surrounded by beautiful gardens (even in February). Walking in to the reception are was like entering an Agatha Christie film set with magnificent public rooms and that period feeling.
Our bedroom, whilst not large, was not overly cramped and had a queen bed ( the room described by Booking.com as luxurious with a spacious bathroom, however, fell short of those criteria, and the Nespresso coffee machine in the room was charged at 2 euro per capsule - a bit stingy for a 160 euro per night room!). The room was a bit dated and somewhat tired but quirky, but you needed to have the arms of Garth to open the large sash windows, only to find that the counterbalance was not working, and with no locking device, the window immediately shut on release. The facilities in the bedroom and en-suite were satisfactory.
The wi-fi was free, and effective after we had joined the Global Hotel Alliance - an association of independent hotels - in reception.
Dinner was a bit lonely with only seven diners in a magnificently appointed room whilst we were there. Service was attentive and the food was satisfactory but not great.
Breakfast, on the other hand, was tremendous - beautifully presented tables of hot and cold fare and a great start to the day.
The hotel staff throughout our stay were brilliant and extremely helpful, particularly when describing the beautiful city of Sintra and its surroundings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Dear Alistair,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the the Tivoli Palace in Sintra. The hotel was within walking distance of the town but required an uphill climb from Sintra. The public rooms and breakfast were lovely. Our room, with a queen bed, was a bit cramped. We had a nice view of the pool although it was too cold to swim. The one thing that stuck us as odd was that internet was available free in one spot in the hotel. You had to be sitting in certain chairs near reception to get free internet. On our first night at the hotel there was a couple that occupied the area for the entire evening.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your Experience at Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, and our breakfast at Seteais Restaurant.
I would just like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty program - Discovery- you will have free WIFI internet as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay. Sign up on your next visit and you'll also have access to a unique portfolio of local experiences.
I hope we have the chance to receive you again during your next stay in Sintra.
Best Regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel on my daughter's 21st birthday. The hotel was pretty empty (winter season) but the staff was waiting to do anything they could for us. We were the only table in the dining room for the birthday dinner and had a waiter and harpist all to ourselves. It was a lot like being in Downton Abbey! The property is beautiful with large gardens, a 10 minute walk from the charming town center. The room was very nice although not terribly large, since the building goes back a few centuries, but it was very comfortable. This is a great place for a special occasion but not for those on a tight budget. It was a special place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13DKK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016


Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

First of all, if you are going to get to the hotel by car be aware that there are three streets with the same name in Sintra. We and our friends were going by two different cars from two different places and we met near the animal clinic that has exactly the same address. Calling to the hotel didn't help us, because the guy at the reception just could not explain how to get to the hotel. A local man we luckily met showed us the way by driving ahead, and if it wasn't for him we would be searching for a very long time since there were no guide signs. After we finally arrived, we had quite an unpleasant issue when the guy at the reception just dropped our luggage in the middle of the corridor and went to show a room, which was in another wing of the hotel, to our friends. When we claimed that it was not a five star service, the reception guy was like: "I don't see any problems here". The room was ok, so was the breakfast and the hotel itself is fine. But the staff has a bad attitude and this completely spoils the impression.

Room Tip: If you are tall, be aware that in some rooms there are short beds with two headboards
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Evgenia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews