We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most beautiful hotel 5*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Most beautiful hotel 5*”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We arrived to a warm friendly welcome and in our room was complimentary port, water and local cakes. Lovely touch.
The room was beautifully laid out and restored perfectly. The bed....well this was the BEST bed I have slept in Portugal. It was so good I slept for 12 hours and missed breakfast!!
Breakfast buffet was great and you could order an omelette with the waiter if you wished. Big selection.
We tried the bar and had a lovely glass of wine overlooking the view. The waiters were friendly and overall the staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel. You can park your car for free and put walking shoes on for a ten minute scenic stroll into the town of Sintra. (No need for a gym in this hotel, you will be exhausted from all the walking) A taxi back is €4. Highly recommend it and I will return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z3angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    231
    62
    23
    5
See reviews for
200
685
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Superb, elegant, luxurious are just a few adjectives to use here. This must be one of the worlds best hotels.. The hand painted décor and antique furniture are stunning. Service is friendly and relaxed and the setting is spectacular. The beds are like sleeping on a cloud and the rooms are beautiful.
If you want to niggle..don't expect "everything" ; toiletries are of very good quality but some may find them incomplete. There is no Gym... (but plenty of hills to climb) There is no audio system.... but you're on holiday.. relax and enjoy the superb gardens, restaurants and pool overlooking the valley. Breakfast is very good with a wide choice or you can have something made to your liking.
I will return.. Without a doubt..

Room Tip: Choose a room to the back of the hotel or high on the front. When there are functions it can be quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Forget the word "Palace", rooms are small, it's outdated (our room bath was probably from 1800 ?!) and it really needs a refurbishment. Furnishings are old and dated. Unpleasant staff... Your paying a 3 start hotel for the price of 5 due to it's location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with no yellow water running on the tap!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NRLourenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

This was, without any doubt, the highlight hotel of our tour of Portugal. The palace is amazing, the setting, the beautiful garden, the orange orchard, the beautifully appointed rooms (we had two connecting rooms) the details from the embroidered sheets to the light switches and the antique shoe shine box with the number of the room on it. Everything is real antique (not the fake old/antique you find in remodeled hotels where everything screams cheap.

The renovation has been great and makes you step back in time. When we were there the weather was cool so we couldn’t take advantage of the beautiful terrace with a gorgeous view over the valley and the garden.

It was my sister’s birthday so they sent her flowers to her room and to mine as well, a real touch of class. Service was excellent, plenty of parking right outside the hotel, great location and Sintra is a magic place, not that much the town itself but the beautiful palaces you find there. Do not miss Monserrate Palace very close by, a jewel!

There is space for improvement at the restaurant, it has a beautiful setting, the breakfast is good but the food we had at dinner was very average.

All in all a superb stay, thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Vanderluyden,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

My 12-year-old son and I stayed here for two nights last week. The room was charming and spotless. Everything worked properly. I appreciated that the hotel did not "nickel and dime" us for everything, the way many nicer hotels do: wifi was free when you sign up for their guest program. A welcome snack was just right after flying for many hours. The walk into town is a very pleasant stroll, but we took a taxi home because it seemed safer once it was dark (the road is very narrow).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecsftraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

I cannot overstate how charming this hotel is. It manages to be old fashioned and quaint while still providing very comfortable and luxurious accomodations. Also, the views from the rooms facing west are amazing - you can see all the way down the valley to the ocean! The hotel staff are outstanding and go out of their way to make you comfortable and to help you enjoy Sintra. If I ever return to Sintra I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Dana,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

we stayed there only for one night but enjoyed every minute being there and plan to come back again for longer stay. The hotel is a proper palace of beautiful architechture, gorgeous garden, rooms with a great view..We had absolutely stunning evening meal, great service. Breakfast was very good too, but only buffet though with enough cold and hot meal.

Room Tip: room 5 has a great view to The Palace of Pena and big balcony with proper panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Jane,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Property: Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Address: Rua Barbosa du Bocage, 8, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing