We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance, Charm, and Service in a Beautiful Stting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Elegance, Charm, and Service in a Beautiful Stting”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Our family of 6 recently spent 2 nights (3 rooms) at the Tivoli Palacio. It proved to be a relaxing and luxurious experience for all of us. Our rooms were elegant, well appointed, and had all the modern conveniences we needed. The property is astonishing - a luxurious pool, stables for horseback riding, clay tennis courts, etc. The view from our rooms was breathtaking - we could see the whole valley with the Atlantic in the distance. Although we did not eat a formal dinner there (we enjoyed eating in nearby Sintra too much) - it was only a 20 minute walk to town. The buffet breakfast was magnificent!

The only minor issue I would point out was that a hotel of this caliber (and price) should not charge 2 Euros for each Nespresso pod you might use in their in-room coffee makers (seriously? - just build it into the overall price for the room)

Overall, you won't find a better hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMC7207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 25 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    790
    231
    62
    23
    5
See reviews for
200
685
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed in the Tivoli Palace for two nights. Upon arrival, we found a crystal carafe with port wine, Portuguese pastries, and a welcoming card in our room. Our room was spacious and decorated in old world charm but with comfy beds. The staff (especially Jose) spent a great deal of time giving directions, options, advice on how to make the most of our visit in Sintra and how to see all of the World Heritage Sites in the area. The walk down the promenade from the Palace of Seteasis to the Royal Palace includes the vision of Quinta da Regalia which is a mystical place indeed and dates back to 1898. But the highlight of Sintra was the visit to the Park and Palace of Pena. Pena is the most important part of the cultural landscape of Sintra. Best of all, at the end of the long day of clamoring castle walkways (the Moorish castle a short walk from Pena) it is a special feeling to know that you are going to wake up in the morning having slept in one of these palaces. It would be a sin to visit Portugal and not visit Sintra and I highly recommend at a least one night in Tivoli Palacio. Shop your Internet travel services for the best pricing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Lori,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We started our trip to Portugal in Sintra, and then continued to Porto (including the Douro Valley) and finally Lisbon. After a long flight, Sintra was the perfect starting point. We enjoyed the beautiful historic property of Palacio de Seteais and surroundings for three (3) days/nights.

Pros:
Palacio de Seteais is in an ideal location. The setting is very tranquil and the beautiful panoramic view and sunset add to the romantic atmosphere. The property and grounds are well maintained. The entire Palacio de Seteais team was very professional, but there were a few shining stars. Diogo, Sandro and the gentleman at the reception in the early morning whose name escapes me were extremely attentive and welcoming. Diogo was instrumental in making recommendations for sightseeing, restaurants, etc. On the day of our arrival we received a "Welcome" decanter of Port and some sweat treats which we thought was a nice touch. Breakfast is served in the elegant restaurant and consisted of a wide range of fresh fruits, variety of cheese, breads, etc., which was the perfect way to start off the day. Palacio de Seteais is located outside the Sintra village center. By taxi it is five minutes tops. However, by foot it entails a walk down hill on a narrow cobblestone sidewalk to the village center and a walk up hill to the hotel, but it is scenic and worthwhile.

Cons:
Even in the new wing the room doors still require an old fashion key which we seemed to find challenging when unlocking. The espresso machines in the rooms are worthless! And it will cost 2 Euros per capsule. The lighting in the bathroom is too dim.

Truly enjoyed our stay and Sintra!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CreativeExplorations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I recently stayed at the Tivoli Hotel Seteais. The staff as a whole just seemed to feel like the guests were an imposition on them. We also had a pair of sunglasses stolen but the worst part pf all was the riding center. I show jump and compete at an international level and I have never seen a facility so atrocious, even in third world countries, like Guatemala, where amid mass poverty and violence the horses and stables were immaculate and a source of pride. In your first world country and stunning facility there was no bedding in the stalls other than the horses' own manure. Stalls should generally be clean 2-3 times a day. These had never been cleaned. The horses were grossly skinny and eating hay that any even slightly thin horse would have refused to eat. It was over 37 Celsius and the horses were wearing blankets. They had not been brushed in weeks. I have seen abused horses only days away from starving to death with more muscle than the horses in your stable. Furthermore the pony in the field above the ring was tied with no shade to escape the sun and no water. It was drenched in sweat and no one was there to care for it. The barn it's self also mirrored the evident neglected for the horses. The footing in the arena was so deep that I would not even walk my horses through it. The horses' blankets were ripped and predictably filthy. The scene as a whole was horrifying. I could not recommend this hotel nor would I return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avoidthishotel148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, Gerente geral at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on your visit to Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. We would like to clarify that the Seteais Horse Riding Centre is not managed by the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais and as such the hotel has no responsibility with regard to the situations described in your comments in trip advisor. However, as we have a partnership with this company, we will be seeking a meeting with the directors to inform them of your feedback personally.
In relation to the other matters you brought up, I would like you to check your message box for all further clarifications
Should you have any other queries, please do not hesitate to contact me by email joao.cortereal@tivolihotels.com
Kind Regards

João Corte Real
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

You do feel like you are staying in a stately home rather than a hotel as you wander around the corridors coming across fabulous rooms with magnificent pianos. We had a room overlooking the front of the hotel which was reasonable - there was some noise from passers by, but we were on the first floor thankfully. I wouldn't have wanted a room on the ground floor. and the rooms on the other side with views to the sea were probably much better. Our bed was rather high, but not very wide. Nice decanter of port to welcome us along with some cakes in our room.

The conference attended was held in a room with fabulous wall paintings and chandeliers. The food was a buffet and the cold salad selection was exceptional. So good, that I never got onto the hot stuff. Staff were fine, and helpful. And the location is magic - non residents were visiting just to have a look!

We were unfortunate enough to be there at the beginning of June when some incredibly bad weather struck. It was cold and rainy almost all of the four days we were here and so we did regret the fact that the hotel did not have a gym or spa or other indoor activity. Wifi charges in the room were outrageous and yes - 2€ for a coffee capsule, it has to be said is down right mean (TOP TIP - take your own standard Nespresso capsules).

Room Tip: Definitely the side of the hotel over looking the see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016

Dear´Scorchy,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in this splendid hotel at the end of a walking holiday. The public areas are spacious, elegant and charming. Our bedroom and bathroom were extremely well appointed with perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Breakfast buffet was a very good spread. Terrace, pool and gardens were a treat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValePsE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Overall we enjoyed staying in this 'grand' property located about a 10-minute walk from the Historic part of Sintra, Portugal. Our room was large and well appointed. Unfortunately the Front Desk Staff was quite aloof and we felt we were disturbing them each time we asked a question or turned in our key.

The Dining Room has a dress code requiring that gentlemen wear a jacket.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
341 reviews
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
310 reviews
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,457 reviews
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
258 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Property: Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Address: Rua Barbosa du Bocage, 8, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing