We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We'll go back as soon as we can!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“We'll go back as soon as we can!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Do take the news from taxi drivers! I've asked a Sintra taxi driver ' Which is the best place to stay here' 3 years ago. He said ' Tivoli Palacio de Seteais' So I've arranged to stay here after 3 years with R. The rooms' walls are all hand decorated, painted. It's a historical palace. Their restaurant has decent prices as well, but we did not eat there, because we had no time. I recommend you to not forget to wander around all saloons and inhale the beauty of an another era.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank the comments that you were kind enough to leave us after your stay at Hotel Tivoli Palácio Seteais, and I am pleased to know that your stay was really pleasant.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
In case you have any question please contact me on the email joao.cortereal@tivolihotels.com.
Waiting for your esteemed visit again, hopping to have another chance to provide you an even better stay in the near future, we keep at your entire disposal.
Best Regards,
João Corte-Real
General Manager
Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    787
    231
    60
    23
    5
See reviews for
198
683
25
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Using the Seteais palace, this hotel it's like a museum. It takes you back to the monarchy era.

Being itself a Sintra's landmark, I think there's nothing more to say about its beauty and grandiosity.
All decoration remains the same from centuries before. Walking throughout the corridors, you can find several paintings, sculptures, pianos, etc. The gardens are also cared with the same perfection.
The room keeps the same vintage look with all the amenities needed: shower, bath, an huge wardrobe, ironing, umbrella, flat TV, coffee machine, phone and conference phone, etc, etc, etc.
The breakfast is also royal. An amazing variety of fruits, bread, natural juices, jams, cheeses, and so on.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. And the price.. well. It's a five star hotel in a palace. You wouldn't have it all for a low price.

Room Tip: There's no tip I could help with. Even above de reception and right next to the lift we had no p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank André A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I thank the comments that you were kind enough to leave us after your stay at Hotel Tivoli Palácio Seteais, and I am pleased to know that your stay was really pleasant.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
In case you have any question please contact me on the email joao.cortereal@tivolihotels.com.
Waiting for your esteemed visit again, hopping to have another chance to provide you an even better stay in the near future, we keep at your entire disposal.
Best Regards,
João Corte-Real
General Manager Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel and property are magnificent. You certainly feel as if you have stepped back in time. Even though the property and hotel are old - the service and accomodations are prestigous.

Our room (#7) and beds were very comfortable.

WIFI worked well here, in the rooms and in the breakfast area.

The breakfast is extraordinary - just superb. It is certainly a feast.

The property is very convenient to the Regaleira Palace - only a few minutes walk. This property is beyond words (the imagination of a child is let loose for anyone visiting this property).

Our only concern with the hotel (and I hope that management takes notice of this), is that taxi drivers seem to intentionally misdirect customers in the wrong direction (most likely to drive up the taxi fare). We have several examples of this occurring, one in particular was ordering a taxi from this hotel by the receptionist. The driver knew to take us to the National Palace of Pena (Palacio Nacional da Pena). Which is most likely the biggest destination in Sintra. The driver went to the right after leaving the property and then started to try and put the destination into his TomTom (GPS). I had my iPhone and a map and pointed directly to the roads he should have taken us to the left (and pretended to be naive)... and took us for a ride. We complained to the front desk when we returned and they said that they wish drivers would not do that. The next day we had the same driver - and when we said we didn't want this driver and to please provide him with accurate directions - they said they could not do that (and that he was the only driver ths hotel uses). The night earlier we had a very nice driver (we found in town on our own) who took us directly to our destination and was very friendly. The relationship with the taxi driver and the hotel should be addressed.

Other than the taxi debacle - we would have given this hotel a rating of 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dshawger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliHotelsResorts, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Mr. Shawger,
Thank you for your comments about Tivoli Palácio Seteais. I am pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and that you enjoy our services and facilities, specially our breakfast selection, with homemade cakes and various fresh fruits and juices.
We apologize for the inconveniences you had with the taxi driver. When a guest asks for a taxi, the front office calls the taxi rank, and they are sent in a random way (the nearest taxi arrives first).
Despite the fact that this is an external service, not managed by the hotel, we will contact the company and share your feedback with them.
We remain at your entire disposal for any additional explanation you may find necessary and hope you visit us again soon.
Best regards
João Corte Real
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is an amazing hotel. It is small with enormous common area rooms from its days as a grand palace. The verandas to the west offer views that rival Montepulciano or Napa with broad vistas over vineyards that stretch for miles to the horizon. Dine outside for every meal on their huge patio. Sip cognac and puff cigars in the elegant library and sitting room. Its a slice of another place and time and lifestyle. Not far from the beach town of Ericeira which is a delight. We stayed here two nights, drove to Ericeira for two nights and came back to Seteais for two more nights! So amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a view facing west over the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDmovingOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have just returned from this beautiful hotel, the chap at the check in desk - i think his name is Pedro Costa was very helpful and has a great sense of humour, he told us about David Bowie staying there 20 years ago (Room 5), while Bowie was there Mick Jagger walked in to check out the place and they ended up having lunch together. Re Sintra centre, don't bother eating the average food there, you are better eating at the hotel, we made the mistake of checking out Sintra centre at night, it's dead with only average dining available. I found this hotel very relaxing, the staff friendly and the location just superb. I do very much hope to return.

Room Tip: i think all the rooms will be good, ours was room 16 and was very nice, it had two single beds pushe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiceBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Our room was elegant with a view of their gardens. A welcome gift of port and desserts was waiting in our room upon arrival. The staff was wonderful with providing maps and advice on how to reach certain destinations. Breakfast was an enormous spread of anything you could want. It is a bit of a walk to the center of town -- but not a big issue.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsTravels14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Palacio de Seteais has everything going for it - a beautiful historic building just outside a historic town in glorious surroundings. Inside the state of the decoration of the public rooms is exceptional - we were told that the decor was original, though restored.

Staying there as we did in February, it sometimes seemed that we were the only guests. But every member of staff went out of their way to help and be hospitable - the receptionists (all spoke perfect English), the waiters, the bar staff etc.

Our comfortable double room at the front of the hotel had a view of the both the Pena Palace and the Castelo de Mouros (unluckily for us that view was often obscured by low cloud) and overlooked lawn and formal gardens.

One or two minor grumbles - our double bed was maybe a bit narrow, the shower over the bath was less than perfect and in a hotel of this class it is wrong for wifi not to be free to all guests (my access was free, being a Tivoli Gold member, but my wife would have had to pay had a receptionist not taken pity).

The buffet breakfast was good with plates and plates of fresh fruit, choices of breads, cold meats, cheeses etc. Coffee was good. The hot choices under serving covers (the usual scrambled egg, bacon and so on) were OK - a pity though that individual choices of cooked breakfast were not offered).

The dinners were very good with a long selection of typical Portuguese dishes available and a wide choice of good Portuguese wines.

A most enjoyable three night stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this review, 27 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Property: Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Address: Rua Barbosa du Bocage, 8, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing