We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel/palace”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2010

One should feel like a prince or princess in this hotel. The service is fantastic, with all the staff being friendly, attentive and always there to help. The rooms are fantastic, with dream like beds, flat tv, nespresso and a very beautiful and praticable bathroom.
I love the hotel, all the great rooms, the well decorated corridors and the gardens. The pool was closed for the winter. The bar had a good service. The location is soberb. Just a 5 minutes walk from Sintra and even near the Quinta da Regaleira, a must see in this pretty little Portuguese village.
5 star indeed. With a crown also.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuno P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016


Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 675 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2009

We stayed at the Ritz Four Seasons in Lisbon for several nights. We are so glad we decided to stay in Sintra for a couple of days. This is the most beautiful hotel or one of the most hotels I have seen. It has a limited number of rooms so you feel like you are the only guests. The dining room and staff was amazing and breakfast was super. The bathroom was very modern and you could tell the rest of the hotel was newly rennovated.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016


Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing with us your experience of staying at the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais.
We were glad to know that you liked our rooms, decorated with magnificent paintings, tapestries and frescos of rare beauty. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our Hotel and surrounding gardens, a former XVIII Century Palace, totally refurbished in 2008, located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town.
We were happy to hear that you liked the Seteais Restaurant menu, service and breakfast, which can be enjoyed in a romantic and stylish atmosphere.
I will pass on to our team, your satisfaction with the service, with the assurance that it will help to maintain the motivation and commitment of all who are part of the Hotel Staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais
Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The staff, the accomodationand the food were perfect! It is located near the castles and the town. A perfect stayin a perfect place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ht5308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

The room was wonderful -- great hill view. Breakfast and dinners were spectacular. The location next to the National Palace could not have been better. The local castles were all we expected. We would go back tomorrow.
For the hotel staff, all we would ask is that the front desk staff were a little more customer oriented. They were cold, lacked knowledge, and not pleasant to deal with. But once in the hotel and in Sintra, this is a very minor thing.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
3  Thank breeze_of_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

we stayed in 6 of Portugal's finest hotels recently, and both my husband and I agreed that this hotel was the most elegant and comfortable.

Recently closed for one year for renovations, it is fresh and comfortable with modern amenities.

The only hotel that we could open the windows at night and enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside!
enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel4111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Forget Bucaco, Pestana Palace, or Quinta das Lagrimas. The Tivoli Palacio de Seteais is undoubtedly the most beautiful hotel in Portugal. After a much needed (and top quality) restoration, the hotel splendidly maintains all the charm of the 19th century complete with all the must-have amenities of today: excellent bathrooms, plasma TV, nespresso machine, and heavenly featherbeds. The views over Sintra are breathtaking, the gardens magnificent, the pool are is lovely, and the palace, with all it's impeccably restored frescos, stucco, period furniture, wood floor and tapestries, manages to be luxurious yet light, sumptuous but homey.
Small downsides: The restaurant could and should be much better, as the menu is clearly below the standard of the hotel. And quite expensive it was too. Pool service is pretty much missing, it would be great to have a small bar besides the pool, and one or two poolboys to replace towels more often or offer suncream, a newspaper or something to drink. On my second day housekeeping forgot to leave the form to order newspaper and breakfast. But all in all it was a most fabulous weekend in a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PortoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2008

My husband took me to Sintra for my 30th birthday. So he could treat me like a princess, he took me to stay in a palace.
We loved the Palacio de Seteais. The staff were fabulous, with great email communication before we arrived (according to MrMo) resulting in flowers, champagne and pastries arriving in the room just after we checked-in.

Breakfast was lovely - a really wide selection served in the beautiful dining room.

Dinner was even better - by far the best meal we had in Portugal (also the most expensive but 100% worth it) There were only 3 or 4 tables dining when we ate there which was a shame - I guess most people don't make the journey up the hill unless they are staying there. The service was attentive but discrete and the pianist really added to the romantic mood. We got dressed up and felt it was the perfect place to share a special occasion.

I loved the room, no sign of mould or dirt as mentioned by some other reviewers. We wanted to upgrade to a suite but were advised that these rooms only came with twin beds (which might explain why some other reviewers were disappointed) this seemed to be a bit of a theme in the hotels we stayed in in Portugal which was a shame. The bed was fit for a princess - I did consider putting a pea under the mattress to test the theory!

Sintra is charming, and the hotel's near neighbour Quinta da Regaleira is a must - take the tour (we had a charming tour guide to ourselves as it was low season) and then spend time exploring on your own. You won't have seen anything quite like it.

Its only a 10 or 15 minute walk into town and its not particularly taxing as its downhill all the way (nobody would notice if you got a taxi back I'm sure). Also, the tourist bus is great, it goes to all of the out of town places and you buy one ticket for the whole day and then jump on and off as it suits you.

Also, take time after breakfast to explore the gardens. Once out of the formal gardens you enter a magical woodland area that must have once been more formally mapped out but has surrendered back to nature - discover amazing views if you find the way to the other side of the hill.

I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel and Sintra as an amazing place to stay - its deserves so much more time than just a day trip from Lisbon.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MrsMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Palacio de Seteais, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to share your opinion about Tivoli Palácio de Seteais located on the hills of Sintra, UNESCO World Heritage town, with lovely views to the Pena Palace and Moorish Castle. It is a pleasure for us to provide a warm welcoming with excellence service standards and to provide you the opportunity to enjoy the amazing nature of this region, or a pleasant walk to the village, one of the most picturesque in Portugal.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Kind regards,
Pedro Frazão
General Manager of the Tivoli Palácio de Seteais

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
301 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
342 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Palacio de Seteais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Palacio de Seteais

Address: Rua Barbosa Du Bocage 10, Sintra 2710-517, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sintra
#2 Family Hotel in Sintra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range: £264 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Palacio de Seteais 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a five-star Sintra hotel, a luxurious and romantic palace which takes us back to the days of the elegance and architecture of the XVIII century. On the mountainside of Sintra, a town classified as world heritage by UNESCO, and with spectacular views of the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace, enjoy the magnificent surroundings of lush gardens and spectacular scenery. The beautifully decorated rooms with furnishings of extraordinary wealth and the ballrooms with their rich tapestries and incredible frescos make this hotel something quite unique and every event or stay becomes an unforgettable experience. Spend idle hours wandering the mazes or enjoy them from a distance in the comfort of our Seteais Restaurant while you sample the traditional Portuguese cuisine of our master Chef. Rediscover this incredible Sintra castle hotel, now remodelled to surprise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tivoli Palacio de Seteais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Palacio De Seteais Hotel
Palacio De Seteais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing