We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't let the outside deceive you” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
501 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 663 helpful votes
“Don't let the outside deceive you”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The hotel exterior is very ugly and really doesn’t fit in to the architecture of this old village, but the inside is pleasant and come to find out, the Tivoli chain has the most wonderful sheets! Our room is spacious and clean with nice amenities in the bathroom.

The front desk was very helpful and accommodating. We got there around noon and our room wasn't ready, but they nicely held our luggage so we could go walk the town and get a bite to eat..

Our room looks out onto the Palacio Nacional de Sintra. A royal palace until 1910. And the main square is just a few steps away. Some great shops are just up the cobbled street, which is much photographed. Great coffee/pastry houses and restaurants, too.

You can't beat the location and the quality of the hotel is very acceptable.

On our walk, it doesn't take long before we stop for a glass of wine at Café Paris: a white sparkling wine with some olives. Then back to the hotel for lunch. We ordered a cod dish and a cottage cheese salad. Completely forgetting about the couvert, we eat the appetizer thinking “Is this our cod dish?” (It wasn’t very good and was like a fish stick ball). The cottage cheese was simply a cotted cheese, very mild and a mixed green salad. Very nice. Our cod dish arrives and was nicely done and they split the dish in the kitchen--nice touch. Still, this lunch, that we split, was $33e. A total rip off. So, stick to the hotel for sleeping and eat elsewhere for more authentic food at a reasonable price.

We didn't have the breakfast as part of our rate, but I hear it is a very good breakfast. We needed to leave early, so had pastry and coffee at the end of the main street. A nice way to start the day.

Again, the staff was very helpful in directing us out of Sintra and on our way to Obidos. They also had a great wifi (you need to sign up under the umbrella hotel--they'll help you do it). What was great with that is we could also use the free wifi at Tivoli Coimbra, later in our trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    619
    347
    139
    67
See reviews for
342
692
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This could be a great hotel. It has a perfect location, great views and cheap drinks but the downsides really take from it. We had to change room because the water or the light didn't work in the bathroom. In our new room the water wasn't great either. The rooms need a good cleaning and airing. The wifi is terrible but it's free so you get what you pay for. For two days the toilets were blocked in the restaurant. The bar staff were nice but the rest of the staff have a lot to learn about hospitality. The place does a good breakfast. Sintra has no nightlife so get the train back to Lisbon. I specifically ordered a double bed but alas got two singles.

Room Tip: Get the train out of Sintra at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSprx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sintra hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Central location, great view. Nice environmentally friendly touches. Great toiletries, specially the body lotion (great smell!). I even wanted to nick one before leaving :-), but my conscious boyfriend didn't let me :-). Where can we buy one?! The breakfast was superb. Beautiful room and view. Great food, lots of options.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ath021075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston, ma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Great high location, easy access to the sites, walk to shopping,lots of local restaurants, bus to sites. Cab direct to Lisbon Airport is 43 euros, 1/2 hour. Breath taking views. Room was poor, dirty/stained carpeting, AC did not work, in-room internet access was via a 3rd party vendor/never able to get connection to work, used internet in "business center"/no ink in printer. The female reception staff were very polite,helpful,spoke English but 1 male reception employee was repeatedly impatient and to someone else I was traveling with when he complained to the employee that the room smelled very badly of mold. Buffet breakfast included with room was fresh, plentiful and very good; fresh sliced fruits, variety of breads, coffee cake, eggs, Portuguese bacon, cheeses, sliced ham, cold cereals,yogurt, varitey of teas. Coffee was from a coffee machine so not very much to our liking vs. fresh brewed. The lobby, lounge and dinning room were very nice; but the rooms need a major overhaul. Bathroom was clean, updated, fine.

Room Tip: ask to approve room before unpack, view of valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sograinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

Booked a room with two beds but had a mix up on dates (arrived a day earlier than the booking date - time diff across continents). So, was given a suite with a king (sadly at a higher price than booked). An extra twin was brought in (there was plenty of room) at no extra charge (but again room rate was higher than twin room rate). The hotel was quiet, clean, and offered very nice toilettries. The king bed was soooo comfortable, one of the best hotel sleeps I've had in quite some time. The bedding actually had a sheet as well as the blanket/duvet so you didn't have to crank up the AC to stand using the covers. A very nice breakfast was also included. The location was very good - right in the heart of the tourist area. Easy walking to restaurants/shops etc. There was only 1 free internet kiosk which often had a short queue of folks for use.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldgypse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East End, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2011

Certainly, by far, the ugliest building in Sintra - how did they allow this? But the rooms inside made up for it. Our room was large, clean, the furniture a bit dated - that doesn't bother us. Lots of drawer and closet space. But the most wonderful thing was our HUGE terrace with two loungers with pillows and the incredible view of Sintra with the castle above (room 706). Since we had nice weather, we took advantage and lounged outside for a few hours on two afternoons just enjoying the view.

Breakfast was large both hot and cold food. Eggs Rancheros -yum and great coffee. Nice room with great view. The only problem was the directions from the airport to Sintra. Probably got from mapquest - couldn't find many of the streets....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SashieZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

This hotel is placed directly on the city centre. The place is perfect to go to any existing park there, some by foot or bus. The room was very clean and is very comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felipeperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Property: Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing