We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for visiting Sintra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I was over for a friends wedding in August and stayed 4nights in the Tivoli Hotel. It's right in the centre of sintra town, and within 1min walk of all the old towns resturants and bars. We walked to the new town, which was a pleasurly 15minute walk. Hotel is old style, but lovely clean room with fresh towels everyday and full room cleaned every morning. Balcony at the bar has fantastic views over the hills out to the sea, which was lovely place to meet every evening and enjoy a beer before heading out for dinner. The only thing was there is no sunbathing area or pool, but if you ask for a room on floor 1 you get a big terrace balcony with sunbeds so perfect for lounging in the sun!! Perfect hotel for the price!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhonaDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,604)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tivoli Sintra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

560 - 566 of 1,604 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

If you must stay in Sintra and you like to have a nice comfortable time, I believe the Hotel Tivoli Seteais is the only place to stay. This Hotel Tivoli on the other hand, is in centre Sintra, has an interesting 70ies look, and has a friendly staff. And that's about it. The rooms have great views. All is nice, except that the rooms are a bit wore down, the channels on the tv fade in and out, and worst of all the airconditioning made the room warmer- and yes we had it on "cool". A malfunctioning airconditioning is unforgiveable, especially when we were made sure it worked when we arrived. Made it impossible to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The staff are very pleasant and helpful, nothing is a problem.
The valley views and balconies are superb.
Yes maybe some things are faded but very clean. The bathrooms seem new and well stocked.
Everything is available at breakfast that you could want and although maybe it is more fun to eat out in the evening the selection in the hotel is good and staff attentive.
A really good experience.

Room Tip: valley facing are quiet and spectacular views
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Great location in the middle of everything, great view of the countryside. But it definitely needs some updating.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vgeorge19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I travelled here with 2 friends, the hotel staff were very accommodating and put another bed in the room so that we could all share (granted it was a camp bed), but it was comfy enough. Hotel was clean and well sittuated for viewing the sights. Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. The views from the balcony were good. Shower was good. We had room service continental breakfast 2 mornings, and the buffet breakfast on the last morning. There was good choice of breakfast here too. all in all a nice hotel for a short break, but not sure if this would be a place to stay for a whole week for me personally.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank curlynirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Sintra - and especially the Pena castle - is world class.
If you go there - and you should! - the Tivoli hotel is a good choice.
Yes - dated and a bit faded.
New bathrooms at our rooms at 8th. floor.
Street view nice - valley view great.
Good breakfast. Few free parking spaces in front of the hotel + free parking under the hotel.


Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Jens D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We had a room with a small balcony overlooking the valley - the view was stunning.
The room itself was well furnished, if not a little dated. There was a well stocked mini bar, but we resisted the temptation to use it.

The meals in the hotel were very good and the staff extremely helpful.

We found it surprisingly reasonable in price, and represented very good value

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colwyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
294 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £54 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Lastminute, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing