We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location But Dated Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Good Location But Dated Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We chose this hotel due to its convenient location in the center of old town. The exterior of the building was dated and the lobby had an uninviting atmosphere. When we arrived, no one was available to help with luggage and the lobby was empty. Our room was spacious but the bathroom was very small with fluorescent lights and minimal supply of amenities. The shower is positioned over the bath. Our room had big ceiling to floor windows and was overlooking an alleyway and someone's rooftop - not a great view. The room was reasonably clean except a moldy smell and we found a bird feather on the carpet. Old style furniture and TV perhaps from the 70s. No turn down service. Extra charges for wi-fi.

Room Tip: Choose a room with views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sfonorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    619
    347
    139
    67
See reviews for
342
692
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed here our 1st 2 nights in Portugal. The location is excellent and we enjoyed being able to see the Moorish Castle way up on the hill from our balcony. We didn't eat there, but did feel the customer service generally was good. The terrace off the bar has an amazing view! Too windy for eating though. The parking is under the hotel and is extremely tight for space, but we soon found our that where driving was concerned, everything in Portugal is narrower than we're used to...it's part of the charm. No regrets for having stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sh0rebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed just one night at this hotel. The situation is fantastic, right by the main square with the all the attractions nearby. The hotel is quite modern and has a hard to find but very convenient car park in the basement. The rooms were large and comfortable though the lighting left a little to be desired and the aircon was quite noisy. The lifts operate in the strangest way and we needed a doorman to explain ho they work from the lobby. The restaurant has a lovely view but only serves food which seems a little odd.
The town is very hilly and the main attractions lie at the top of the town. We took a taxi up and walked down. Quite steep and not that well sign posted but was fun.
Aboid the cafes right on the main square. Total rip off and highest prices in Portugal. The hotel recommended some nice places to eat which were very close and much better food and value

Room Tip: Go for room 610. It has the largest balcony I have ever seen and great views! You can go jogging on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puert Rico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We were booked for 3 nights we stayed 1! The Hotel was extremely dated, the rooms were dank with furniture that was very worn and old. The carpet was stained and dirty. The room had not been cleaned properly and when when I looked under the bed there was an empty water bottle from someone else's stay! The breakfast room was very tired looking with more carpets stains and worn furniture. The breakfast was ok but we had to look for our own silverware and napkins. Napkins and table clothes were not ironed. There was absolutely no attention to necessities let alone detail. We left and moved to another Hotel. For us, the only good things about the Hotel were the views which are magnificent and the location, right in the center of Sintra.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolgons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sintra hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Not terribly charming. The hotel's rather modern and would probably be great for a business conference. There is a lovely terrace right off the lobby with a great view, but it gets very windy in the evening! Breakfast is pretty good, and the location's hard to beat, but if you're looking for something a little more charming, Portugal-style, you might look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IluvPapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

This was a lovely hotel, despite the modern 60's concrete look from the outside. Our room was comfortable, spacious with an amazing view overlooking the valley and up to the Moorish castle. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough to make our stay there one we won't forget. The position is great, right in the centre of old Sintra, with plenty of restaurants around, yet quiet and peaceful. We had a room on the 6th floor overlooking the valley. Excellant value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a valley facing room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cybermum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

Spent one night at this hotel on 9th. September. Could not be bettered for location. Difficult to see why you would stay anywhere else if visiting Sintra. A very welcoming reception. We had a superior room with Valley View. This was exactly what we got. Had a package which included dinner. We had a three course meal with a complementary appetiser. More than we could eat. Wait staff were very professional and attentive. Hotel is of 1970's era and in that regard is a bit quaint. very good breakfast also included for a more than fair price.

Room Tip: Choose Valley View if possible. This is why you visit Sintra
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AusTravellers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Property: Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing