We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

It was my second time in Tivoli, Sintra. Although, we had to wait for our room to be ready, I would recommend this hotel. If you're coming with car they have parking and garage. The minus is no free wi-fi and it's a four stars hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanjatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The staff were very friendly and recommended some nice places to eat. The rooms are large and have great balconies with fantastic views. A very comfortable night's sleep! The breakfast was a lovely surprise, so much choice and it is in a lovely room with huge windows displaying the great views.

I have accidently clicked swimming pool but I did not visit one here!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToHoliday82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

This hotel is located nearly across from The National Palace in Sintra. It's location is ideal for exploring the village of Sintra or walking (or driving) up to the the Moorish Castle and Pena Palace. Wonderful front desk staff. We had a mountain view room but think that a city view could be enjoyable as well. Currently the hotel is being remodeled and the front is covered with a blue tarp. Rooms and bath were spacious and a nice balcony with 2 chairs and table were provided. The TV was not a flat screen but not important if you are American as there is really nothing to watch. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was typical European style but very good. There is an excellent lounge area on the main floor for reading. Parking is available underground. There are limited parking spaces and you should be a pretty good driver to negotiate the very small spaces. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwkrengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This hotel is very conveniently situated in old Sintra and has the advantage of an underground car park. We had a great room (number 800) with a wonderful view over the valley and an huge balcony . But the room was very tired, one of the balcony windows would not open and the room was very hot as the air conditioning didn't work.
Wifi in the room was provided by Swisscom and cost €15 per day. An hotel of this quality should provide WiFi free.
Meals were expensive in line with most restaurants in Sintra but we tried the hotel for dinner. Very poor with over cooked salmon and two hunks of inedible "sirloin" steak.
Breakfast was average with thin tea from a large insulated jug. Coffee was worse being delivered from a machine.
Generally staff were pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Get one high up on the valley side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wobbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Two nights in a magnificent palace at the end of a holiday. Wonderfully situated some 10 minutes walk from centre of Sinatra, but a steep climb up ! Spacious reception rooms, pleasant dining room, nice terrace overlooking extensive gardens and pool (not in use in March).
Good service, dinner quite good, breakfast fine. Rooms are 'old fashioned'with beds which you sink into, smart bathroom with all the amenities. Air conditioned which meant you could not open the windows. Beware of wi-fi charges of 10 euros unless you use it in public areas.

Room Tip: Different size rooms have different aspects. If you want good sized beds for two then ask for twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

I spent 2 nights at the hotel in February.
The staff are efficient, friendly and most helpful. The hotel location is excellent in that there are many sights in the immediate surrounds and the views from the lobby, breakfast room and some rooms are great.
The rooms are large but for those travelers who want modern, this is not it. There is nothing trendy about this hotel.
The furniture is dated as are the bathrooms.
However, the hotel is spotless and the beds comfortable. The towels and inen were fresh.
Breakfast selection is really good, lots of fresh fruit, delicious breads and pastries, and many other choices.
On the downside, the TV reception in the rooms is bad and they could install new TV's.
The heating system works, but it is noisy.
Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed staying at the hotel and would happily stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

Despite the superb views in the centre of delightful Sintra, this hotel is awful in almost every other way. The room was dirty and smelt state, the furnishings were dated and very worn, they looked like the originals from the 1980's. The heating was noisy and ineffective, I was cold at night despite three blankets, duvets are not known to the staff at the Hotel Tivoli , I know because I requested one. The bathroom had seen some updating, but overall a very depressing place to stay. Avoid.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Br1dgewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £59 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing