We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Sintra! Hotel was well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Reviewed 23 June 2008

We chose this hotel since it offered a good location, balcony and free parking. Since the rate had increased substantially since my postponed trip in November, I contacted the hotel directly and they offered a better price than that listed on the website. Our room had a small balcony with views over the countryside and a decent breakfast was included. Dinner was much too expensive and very bland. Staff were very helpful in providing directions.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stillhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

652 - 658 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2008

The Tivoli Sintra hotel is a deeply ugly modernish building in the otherwise beautiful hillside town of Sintra.
Car parking in a secure garage under the hotel.
The hotel is generally a little bit shabby and dated, but in a good central location in Sintra.
Our room had a very nice, large terrace overlooking the town and hillside beyond.
BUT.... the room (and most of the rooms) faced the village church, with a bell tower which chimed every fifteen minutes throughout the day and night. Initially charming, but if you're a light sleeper (and especially if you like to have a window open at night), you will be kept awake!
Nice bar/lounge area with a pleasant outside terrace (and good value drinks).
Good buffet breakfast. Poor quality fruit juices as usual in hotels, but otherwise decent (although the restaurant is a bit soul-less and lacks the benefit of any outside eating area which is a shame in such a beautiful location).
We were planning to stay two nights, but the 24-hour church bells sadly caused us to move to another hotel elsewhere for our second night.
So in summary, if you want a hotel in centre of Sintra, and aren't bothered about the sound of the church bells ringing every fifteen minutes all through the night, worth a try. But if you're a light sleeper, and/or you like top-quality hotel facilities - forget it!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeC_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2008

If you go to Sintra - and you should - stay here. Excellent location - not far from train station. Good parking facilities if going by car. Stayed here for one night in March 2008. Booked room directly from the hotel at 85 Euro a night with breakfast. Big room with a terrace with table and chairs and a great view. Clean and new bath room, big, clean but a bit worn sleeping room. Watch the sun going down from the bar while enjoying a drink - dead cheap during happy hour. Great breakfast served with a great view - eggs, bacon, sausages, pan cakes, fresh fruit etc. Restaurant prices cheap - but we decided to eat at Lawrence's. Great dinner for two with wine etc. for around 100 Euro. Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rueskov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2007

This hotel is in a great location right in the middle of Sintra. You can walk to everything. The hotel itself it very outdated, but the rooms are quite big. We had a terrace room which had a great view of the castle. The breakfast was included and was good.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank J.P.A.S.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2007

Stayed for 4 nights in September. We were given a double room on 8th. floor which had a large outside terrace.It had a table and chairs and 2 loungers.
From the terrace we had a grandstand view of Sintra town and the Moors castle. It was excellent.If booking phone and ask if they have a terrace room available.
Breakfast OK . staff very helpful.
Eat in Tulhas one night.Good local atmosphere and about 40 euros for meal for two with wine.
Went to Lawrences and had an excellent meal. Great for a special occasion as was about 150 euros for two with wine.
Would very much recommend Sintra and the Tivoli especially if you can get a terrace room.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Voyager28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

Tivoli Sintra is very well loccated, in village of Sintra.
The hotel from the outside is not very good. Inside is good and the rooms are big.
The breakfast should be better. The view, from the breafast room is great!
The staff is not very kind!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We spent two nights at the Tivoli Sintra last month and were very pleased with the hotel. It is locaked smack in the middle of town, right next to the Palacio Nacional. Although it’s true that the hotel is not much to look at from the outside, from the inside-out is a totally different story. Our room was at the end of the corridor and it had a little glass-enclosed sitting area from where we watched the side of the mountain dotted with palaces as the sun set beautifully on the horizon. That in itself was worth the stay. In addition, the restaurant turned out to be really good. We had dinner one night and it was excellent, with very reasonable prices. The breakfasts, which were included in the rate, were also among the best we had in Portugal. The parking garage is not too big, but we always found space to park right in front of the hotel without any problems. In a nutshell: if you are going to stay in Sintra (which I strongly recommend), stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunnyInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £53 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing