We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location in Sintra...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
South Orange, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Best Location in Sintra...”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This property has a 60's flavor that makes you feel like you are a character in an old Sean Connery era James Bond film. Sure, part of that comes from the fact that the decor is a bit dated, and needs some refreshing, but it is also due the the ideal location of this hotel, and the grandeur of the place. The room was spacious and quite comfortable. Amenities were plentiful, and staff couldn't have been more helpful. The off street indoor parking garage was a real bonus in this quaint little town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Jim
Thanks for sharing your experience at Tivoli Sintra.
We were pleased that you enjoyed our hotel in general, as well as our rooms with excellent dimensions and a panoramic view of the valley and town of Sintra.
We appreciate your comments regarding our staff that is always available to welcome guests with kindness.
We hope to welcome you during your next stay in Sintra.
João Corte Real
General Manager at Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    655
    376
    150
    81
See reviews for
379
748
49
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

First of all, the old town of SINTRA is absolutely darling! We checked into our hotel and were
greeted by an astounding sight of 4 castles from our terrace!!!! The birds were zooming all around us... it was such a treat!!!
The hotel was very beautiful and the service was good but you definitely had to ask for things.
Examples... their wasn't a bartender on duty when we first arrived so I had to go find him.
Our luggage was lost on a TAP flight and I had to keep walking downstairs to check with them.
Our electronic keys were in dire need of replacement so I had to go to the front desk twice.
The staff did accommodate perfectly upon my requests however.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool or spa so the rating system should have an "N/A".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Maureen,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Tivoli Sintra.
We were pleased that you enjoyed our hotel where you can appreciate nature and history that provides the village of Sintra.
We were also glad that you liked our staff, despite some miscommunication, that I will take the appropriate steps to prevent this from happening again as you can prove during the next visit.
We hope to welcome you during your next stay in Sintra.
João Corte Real
General Manager at Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver WA
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location and the view from the small patio was very nice. The rooms are comfortable but the hotel is quite dated. My main complaint was the staff seemed put out when asked for any assistance!
We had a group dinner in the restaurant and our steak was not edible. Others in our group who dined in the restaurant during our stay were pleased with their food.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mags52vancouverWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience at Tivoli Sintra.
We were pleased that you liked the location of our rooms were you can enjoy the great views of Sintra.
We apologize if the service did not meet your expectations. I have shared your comments with the staff and I assure that we will take steps to remedy the lapses identified in your comments.Situations like this are non-recurring in our hotel. We always seek to provide to all our guests a quality service, as you can certainly check on your next visit.
Best Regards
João Corte-Real
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Tivoli Sintra a week before Easter. It is a very nice hotel, good value for money and excellent location in the heart of Sintra with a stunning view.
I had some problems and questions concerning my rental car and needed translation help. Frederico from Front Office helped me, for about one hour, to try to find the right person at Avis, to get help. It wasn' t easy, I could tell. I am so thankful for that service that was much more than I could expect.
We are in Portugal about 6-8 times every year and will absolutely be back in Tivoli Sintra and also recommend it to friends. Ulf from Sweden

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UlfSwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooke, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Excellent small hotel with comfortable clean rooms. Well priced
Very close to the centre of Sintra with a great choice of restaurants nearby. Had breakfast in the hotel which was good. Did not try the restaurant for other meals are there are so many places nearby to choose from. Stayed two nights and would definitely stay there again

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is located in a very convenient area of Sintra. Although a bit far from the train station, it is close to other attractions that you can visit on foot. The hotel itself has an old decor, yet is fully functional and we truly enjoyed staying there. Thank you !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel outside looks not really nicely and doesn't fit into shape of Sintra. But inside the impression changes - a beautiful situation in style of ancient Sintra, the friendly personnel. We reserved standard room overlooking hills, with an additional bed for the third person. View from a balcony the tremendous! In good weather on a balcony it is possible to sit perfectly with a wine glass! At installation of the third bed in the room it was rather small, but the bathroom was big and is well equipped. In the room it was warm, despite bad weather behind a window. The breakfast was very good and was covered indoors with a fine view of Sintra. We traveled on the car and very big plus of this hotel that it has a parking and we always found a place on the street about doors, but at arrival the street parking was occupied and we had to come around on the closed parking, and it was quite difficult on narrow streets of Sintra))
Shortcoming - the paid and quite expensive Internet, but my daughter I used the free Internet in the hotel hall about reception.
As a whole excellent hotel and absolutely remarkable city!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AssiaMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this review, 1 February 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Property: Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing