We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with wonderful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice for Sintra. It is very centrally located, on the palace square. Everything, restaurants, shopping, tourist information, is nearby. The room had a wonderful, large balcony. The style of the hotel was dated, 1960s, but that was fine by us. The breakfast was okay but the view from the restaurant was fantastic, with broad vistas down to the sea. I ordered laundry and it was returned late. There is parking on site. This being Portugal it is quite inexpensive. Wifi was free if you have GHA hotel membership (you can sign up on site).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the village, next to all monuments and places of interest.
In fact, our rooms are quite big and they have a wonderful view for the valley or for village of Sintra.
We are looking forward to welcome you at your next visit to Sintra.
Best Regards,
João Corte Real
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,663)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

528 - 534 of 1,663 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

The staff in this hotel are a dream- so helpful with information dining suggestions and sight seeing.
The decor of the hotel bedrooms is a little out dated but so what-it is great value for a 4 star hotel.
Join the loyalty club to get complimentary water and WiFi whilst you are staying there!
You will probably be best served by eating in one of the many good value restaurants in Sintra
A good location to place oneself whilst reviewing the delights of this wonderful area of Portugal

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank WoIman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Patrick,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us. We were happy to hear that you liked our hotel, where you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the town of Sintra offers. Is nice to hear that our staff fulfill and help you to have even more references of Sintra. We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
João Corte Real
General Manager of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

You really can't beat this location in Sintra, steps to the National Palace and walking distance from most everything else in town. We had a room with a stunning view from a private balcony; gives you time to really appreciate how beautiful Sintra is. Service was excellent. The rooms are pretty standard, with no frills but are spacious if a bit dated. The bed was a bit hard, and WiFi isn't free in the guest rooms. It is free in the guest lobby. Breakfast is also not included, but they have a great selection and it's a good option to grab something fast before starting your day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iamjoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TivoliSintra, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Greetings from Sintra, Portugal
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Tivoli Sintra.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the centre of the town of Sintra, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
Is really important to us your opinion about our large rooms with private terrace and their panoramic views of the Valley of Sintra.
I´ll share your nice words and satisfaction with the service with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
João Corte Real
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Superb location in centre of Sintras old city. A view to the valley is a must, and a view is what you go for when in Sintra. A bit dated, like Sintra itself. Some may feel that as a n old wordly charm, others a slight burden.

Wifi quite expensive, offerred for gha-members free for first 24 hrs.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Xtrttvllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very comfortable hotel, fabulous location and views. The breakfast was amazing including a limitless supply of ripe, juicy cherries. Because we were staying for a week the hotel kindly upgraded us to a room with the valley view which we had not originally booked. They did this without us even asking. If there is one criticism I have it is that the tourist information, leaflets etc in the hotel were more about upmarket fashion shops etc than the local attractions. However the tourist information office is just across the square so no info from the hotel was needed. i am sure the staff would have advised us about sites etc had we asked them. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Sintra and it is well worth staying over for a few days as it would be impossible to see more than one or two of the many sites around and beyond the town in a day trip..

Room Tip: Valley view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoolCaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel is right next to the National Palace and the restaurants of Sintra. It is a fair way from the station but it is a beautiful walk, the views and roadside statues are wonderful. The reception was very friendly and all spoke very good English, recognising my language through my poor pronunciation of Portuguese. They were always friendly and helpful answering all questions. The cleaners were also wonderful. The wifi is an exhorbitant €15 a day, but there is a free internet computer near reception for guests. The rooms are large with very comfortable beds, chairs and a lovely veranda, great for views of the hills, trees, Moorish Castle, Quinta da Regaleira and in the other direction the sea. Perfect for sitting with a cool glass of wine. The bathrooms are large and well equiped with a bath and bidet as well as the usual shower etc. The soap and toiletries are of high quality, you don't have to bring your own. We payed extra for a room overlooking the valley and it is well worth it. The lounge and bar area are beautiful with incredible views. It is like going back in time where elegance and calmness are the norm (perhaps dated but charming, it works). All this at such reasonable cost is extraordinary and you are so close to everything. The National Palace is opposite, the tourist office and local tour bus stops and old town around the corner and Quinta da Regaleira a 5-10 minute walk (our favourite place). We Travelled from Lisbon airport by metro and train from Rossio train station, an easy journey and only €15 return for both of us. If you have luggage use the main road route as cutting across the valley is very steep with many steps, and it is a very pleasant walk. If you need a supermarket or pharmacy they are the other side of the station.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view over the valley are worth paying a bit extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hortonkirbyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
Our rooms are ample in size and are decorated with rustic style furniture with paintings inspired by local landscapes. Most rooms have a panoramic view of the valley and the Sintra Mountains or down to the sea on a clear day.
I would just like to mention that if you sign up to our free loyalty programme - GHA Discovery- you will have free WIFI internet as well as other benefits such as a free bottle of mineral water in your room on arrival and a free daily newspaper of your choice during your stay.
Sign up on your next visit and you'll also have access to a unique portfolio of local experiences
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Sintra is a must see place in Portugal! This modern interior hotel made the visit great! A great buffet breakfast, which can be Included or excluded from your room , or you can pay 10 euros as a separate cost! Great selection of food Including two kinds of scrambled eggs!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PedroFrazao_GM, General Manager at Hotel Tivoli Sintra, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear Jon S,
Thank you for sharing your experience of staying at the Tivoli Sintra with us.
We were happy to hear that you liked the location of our hotel, right in the center of the Sintra Village, next to all the region's monuments and tourist sights.
At Tivoli Sintra you can enjoy the nature, history and leisure which the Sintra Village offers.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back on your next stay in Sintra.
Pedro Frazão
General Director of the Tivoli Sintra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £66 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing