We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best location in town”
Reviewed 6 June 2007

We spent two nights at the Tivoli Sintra last month and were very pleased with the hotel. It is locaked smack in the middle of town, right next to the Palacio Nacional. Although it’s true that the hotel is not much to look at from the outside, from the inside-out is a totally different story. Our room was at the end of the corridor and it had a little glass-enclosed sitting area from where we watched the side of the mountain dotted with palaces as the sun set beautifully on the horizon. That in itself was worth the stay. In addition, the restaurant turned out to be really good. We had dinner one night and it was excellent, with very reasonable prices. The breakfasts, which were included in the rate, were also among the best we had in Portugal. The parking garage is not too big, but we always found space to park right in front of the hotel without any problems. In a nutshell: if you are going to stay in Sintra (which I strongly recommend), stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    658
    379
    151
    81
See reviews for
382
752
49
146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2007

It is the only ugly building in the Centro Historico of Sintra, but the views are stunning. From our little balcony we could see up the hills to the castles and grand manor homes.

There is a great little wine & cheese bar in the town (up the back street just past the famous pastry shop). Grab some cheese & wine & sit on your balcony as the sun goes down.

Oh yeah, the room was fine, especially for the money (about Euro 70.00 in April)

  • Liked — Views & Price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_Cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2007

After 3 nights in Lisbon at the Tivoli Jardim, see separate review, we spent 2 nights in Sintra at the Tivoli Sintra, and then another night at Tivoli Jardim. Tiv. Sintra is a 40-minute ride by metro and train (Sete Rios station next to and connected with the metro zoo stop). En route to the hotel, we exited at Queluz to visit the well preserved royal palace. To reach the hotel from the Sintra train station, you take a local bus to the right of the Tourist Office which is next to the train station. The hotel is up the hill and around the corner from the National Palace, and an easy and interesting 15 minute walk from the train station. Our non-smoking extremely large room with 2 twin beds faced the rear with a countryside view of the palace at the top of the mountain, was clean, quiet, modern, and very comfortable with adequate closet storage, a mini-fridge, and free safe. Included in our rate,87E, was a nice hot and cold breakfeast buffet with many choices. Staff was professional and knowledgable and offered good recommedations for local dining, including Tulhas around the corner from the Tourist office, where we ate twice--it was that good, the food was fresh, and the atmosphere was pleasant, and it was inexpensive to boot--26E for two for salad, entree--fish and shrimp enterees were very very good, house wine, and a shared dessert. The National Palace is just a few steps away, and you should walk about 15 minutes to visit Quinta Reguleira, an interesting mansion with eclectic grounds and many sculptures out of the local rock. The moorish castle ruins and other palace are reached by bus next to the tourist office-take the first bus at or before 10AM to the place to avoid the crowds, then walk down 10 minutes to the castle ruins, get your ticket, and return to the palce for the bus back to the center of Sintra. There also is a nice viewpoint next to the Tivoli Setais Palace hotel, which is about 15 minutes further uphill from Quinta Reguleira. If you are interest edin art deco, the Modern Art museum in dowtown Cintra, 3 blocks from the Tourist, office, has an excellent special Art Deco exhibit, 3-4 E admission, that is not to be missed, including a 1929 Bugatti car, Lalique, other art deco pottery, and exceptional art deco furniture-superior to the show at the National Gallery in Washington this past year.

  • Liked — clean, central, and modern
  • Disliked — not apply
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puget Sound
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

We got a very good deal on a room at the Tivoli through the hotel website. We found the hotel to be very pleasant. The room, while slightly dated, was large and spotless. The staff was helpful and accomodating and the breakfast was large and delicious. They also offered free internet access, which was a nice extra. The hotel couldn't be more conveniently located, steps from the center of town. All in all, a very good experience.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lmikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2007

we stayed in this hotel for 2 nights over easter. The area is great and lots to see and walking is good option to most sights. We had magical weather so that was a big tick for us. The hotel was okay, we had a room with a glass conervatory on level 6 - and that was a great place to relax and watch the sunset. But we had no outside balcony. Given the time of year this was probably better as not really hot. The breakfast was the best on our trip - great fruit and healthy selections. The dinner in the hotel we took one night was average and would not recommend to others - better to go out.
The bed was hardish - not quiet as bad as others we had stayed at. For the price not too bad.

At night sinta is very quiet and during the day is buzzing with tourists from lisbon.

Best part was the location.... right in the middle of the main sintra town and next to the national palace. Very thing was 10 meters walk away. Good choice for location.

Taxi to airport was fixed price of 40 euros. However if we had taken a metered one the price should have been about 25 euros as the journey is only 30 kms from the hotel door to door. Watch out for hotels that arranged fixed priced taxis - as the journey is only about 30 mins maximum and they try to tell you its much more expensive than it needs to be.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dinner in hotel
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank AngeHowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2006

We have stayed in the Tivoli Sintra mid November 2006 ( low season) so we had the chance to have a very affordable room for the class of this hotel ( 75 eur / room if I remember well ) I think they even gave us a larger room becaus it was very spacious, we had a nice view with a balcony, the room was very fine and clean.

The hotel is perfectly located in the middle of the town, close to all sights of interest

The staff proved to be very gentle and helpfull, the restaurant staff was very kind as well and the food we had there was very fine compared to what we have been served in other locations in "tourist" restaurants across Portugal.

The weak point comes from that 2 churches that you can hear from inside the room, windows and curtains closed at night.
One is ringing every hours, and the other one is ringing every 15 minutes. ( at 15: ding / at 30: ding ding: at 45 : ding ding ding, at the hour : ding ding ding ding) of course one is playing after the other, so at midnight you have 12 + 4 bells rings, at 4h30 : 4 +2
( I had a lot of time to count as I coulnd sleep) try to get asleep in 15 minutes before the next bell ring... I tought It would stop during the night... but not.
The other thing was the minibar fridge wich was also making a lot of noise, but that was easy I disconnected it after 20 min.

So very nice hotels but not If you have a light sleep as I have...
better take your earplugs

  • Liked — It's central location and confort
  • Disliked — You can ear the churches bells during the hole night
  • Tips/Secrets — bring earplugs !
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Pitlafrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sintra hotels

Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2006

This hotel although in a beautiful location is awful. The staff are rude and unhelpful and the reception area is extremely musty and dirty - avoid if possible!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bub2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#5 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.4 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
359 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#4 of 15 in Sintra
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tivoli Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tivoli Sintra

Property: Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Address: Praca da Republica, Sintra 2710-616, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tivoli Sintra 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of the town of Sintra, this is a discreet 4-star Sintra Portugal hotel with private parking which gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the surrounding scenery, history and leisure facilities. Sintra is a UNESCO World Heritage site. Breakfast in the Monserrate restaurant at Tivoli Sintra allows you to enjoy the quality food at this welcoming and friendly Central Sintra hotel. The view from the panoramic bar reveals its stunning location: between the Serra de Sintra and the Palacio da Vila, where the sea can just be seen on the horizon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Tivoli Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing