We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful calm walk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parque de Monserrate

Parque de Monserrate
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.93*
and up
Sintra and Cascais From Lisbon 6 Hour Electric Bike Tour
Ranked #5 of 68 things to do in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful calm walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

It's such an enchanting park with an incredible diversity of trees, plants and shrubs. Try to visit during summer time as you'll see more flowers and more colour. We went on a slight autumn looking day, a lot of clouds around and yet the atmosphere is just priceless.
Price:€7 pp for palace and park

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lovetraveling85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    123
    14
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A very romantic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

These are truly beautiful gardens. A little off the historic center of Sintra, the park allows for some quiet moments of contemplation and botanic observation. At the end of the tour there is a tea pavillion where one can rest and have a drink. The palace on the grounds is also very interesting. I would definitely recommend a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rower4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
232 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Great trip to the Palace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

When entering the grounds we took the Path to the Left. It slowly meanders through the grounds passing water elements, a chapel from days gone by, and a nice array of gentle gardens dotting the hillside. Coming around at the base you will look up and see a spectacular view of the Palace above. Then follow the paths to the top of the hill.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dickd1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An interesting country house sitting in lovely gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We took a bus a short ride out of Sintra where we found a lovely country house on a large estate. We took the difficult route down to the gardens and would recommend keeping to the road. There is a place on the estate where one can have a drink and something to eat. there are many places to visit in Sintra which I would put above this place, but worth a visit if you have time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeAbbeyGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So pleasant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a great place to stroll around and relax for a bit! So peaceful. I don't know if it's allowed, but it would be a lovely place for a picnic.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Parque de Monserrate also viewed

 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Parque de Monserrate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing