We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best stay of our entire Portugal trip”
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Miradouro
Ranked #8 of 41 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“best stay of our entire Portugal trip”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We spent two weeks in Portugal last fall, spending time in Lisboa, Sintra, & Cascais. Portugal is a lovely country with wonderful people, and we couldn't have had a better vacation.
Sintra was, however, the highlight of our trip, and the three nights we stayed in Casa Mirodouro were absolute heaven!!
The house was bright and airy, the breakfast room was just beautiful, and the back garden was a lovely place to spend an evening enjoying the bottle of port we bought in town.
Our room was simply perfect. Sunlit, airy, spotlessly clean, and with a beautiful & *incredibly* comfortable four poster bed with luxurious linens. I can't stress enough how fabulous this bed was! I thought our bed at home was outstanding until I spent time in the Casa's!!
Our bathroom was spotless, spacious, and modern. The shower was a vacation unto itself.
...and then, of course, our balcony overlooking the valley behind the house was exceptional...
All of this plus the sweetest, nicest, most helpful girls that worked there. I think the were three of them (I'm forgetting because it was a year ago now...there may have only been two). They gave exceptionally outstanding service. They remembered that I'm vegetarian and had our favorites and dislikes down to a tee; we never wanted for anything at all and they anticipated our wants and needs perfectly.
Like the bed, I *cannot* overstate the impeccable service.

I know I used a lot of superlatives in this review, but they are all well deserved. I'm fortunate to be a frequent leisure traveler, and have stayed in some very nice places indeed...and I would rate Casa Mirodouro as easily as good an experience as I've ever had. Truly a five star establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfbolger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    52
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
207
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After traveling from london to paris, what a pleasant suprise it was to arrive at Casa Miradouro in the beautiful town of Sintra. I arrived in the evening where I was greeted by Charlotte who was very friendly and knowledgable about the town of Sintra and the surrounding beach towns. I had a pleasant sleep in my room and woke up to the most spectacular views and amazing smells from the beautiful breakfast buffet. I ate breakfast on the outside patio where Joy and the staff were most gracious and offered me eggs any style, coffee in a french press, and gluten free bread(i am allergic to wheat.) After eating the best breakfast I had eaten in days, I got an early start to see all Sintra had to offer. Wear a good pair of walking shoes. Sintra is hilly and to get to the bus station and train station you will need to walk at least ten to fifteen minutes. However, there are so many sights to see you will forget you are walking. Bus 434 stop is right in town next to the post office and it costs 5 euro to take it up to Pena Palace and the Moorish Castle which are must sees in Sintra. Words cannot explain the beauty of those two places. There is also the Toy Museum and Palacio National de Sintra. After exploring all that Sintra had to offer, it was so relaxing to end my day at Casa Miradouro. It is a little out of the way of all the heavily traveled tourists spots so you can relax on the lawn or in the sitting rooms where there is a fully stocked self service bar and chessboard. It was difficult for me to leave Casa Miradouro after only three days and I cannot wait to go back. Charlotte called for a taxi to pick me up early that morning to take me back to the Lisbon airport which is also accessible by train. She was so gracious!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveler k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I recently stayed at Casa Miradouro in early August for 3 nights and I really enjoyed my stay there. I had a basic twin room and it was super clean. The room was very charming! (although the small twin bed wasn't the most comfortable really) I went there alone and I was worried at first, but it was the perfect place for me, as I felt super safe and was thrilled with the close location to historical Sintra. It is a tough uphill walk to the centre but I enjoyed the exercise. It takes just under 10 minutes walking to the main area. I loved also how quiet the B&B was so after a day touring around, I liked going back to the B&B and relaxing in the common areas. I did have breakfast there as well and if you are a normal eater than it's worth it because you get fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, eggs, cold cuts, breads, pastries, etc. I am not a big eater, so I could have just gone into town and had a pastry for 1.50 Euros instead. However, 10 euros is still a great deal to have breakfast there. Overall, I really enjoyed my experience there and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feedyoursoul_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This slightly out of the way B & B was charming and beautiful, just like Charlotte & Joy, who greeted us at the door with a welcoming glass of port. There are so many tasteful touches. We had the top balcony room with a view of the Palace on the hill. We don't usually opt for the breakfast and prefer to explore but we did here, and we weren't disappointed - eggs cooked to order and served on the terrace or inside, with other typical Portuguese items. It is only a short walk into town, but it is all uphill and very steep! This wasn't a problem at all but it might be if you have any physical issues. Parking is on the street but close by. They were all very helpful and knowlegeable about Sintra and all of Portugal really! ( No elevator but staff was willing to assist with bags if needed). Stay here, you will love it!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony or attic room with a view - very high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Casa Miradouro is truely a lovely B&B that one should opt to stay in Sintra. Nicely sitted on a hillside, it offers a great view of Sintra valley and beyond. We were checked into an attic (a pleasant surprise for us) where the room is real cozy and comfortably setup with ample space for one to chill while enjoying the view out of the window. The B&B has been thoughtful in providing a nespresso coffee machine with wide selection of coffee capsule and homemade local pastry to be self served all day long which is really delighting. The breakfast served in the morning was superb with a considerably wide spread for such a small scale of lodging. We really love the stay at Casa Miradouro and would highly recommend to anyone to stay here!! Great job Casa Miraduoro!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciaT47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2012

All aspects of the accommodations were as wonderful as expected. The facilities are well maintained, the staff is excellent, the breakfast is nicely prepared and served either inside or out, the views are some of the best in Sintra, the location is out of the main stream of Sintra activity which is great for relaxation at the end of the day, and Charlotte's recommendations are very helpful. Visiting in August, we really enjoyed being able to sleep with the large windows open for the fresh air cooled by the Atlantic Ocean which can be seen in the distance.

Room Tip: Some rooms have better views than others. Room 4 is one of the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Luxurious boutique B&B - beautfully decorated with lots of original features and a nice mix of modern and older style furniture. Large, airy, clean rooms with sitting areas. Great breakfast, honesty bar and coffee available all day. Comfortable and welcoming communal areas with classical music playing and free wifi. Quiet location just a 5 minute walk from the centre of Sintra. Friendly and helpful owner/manager and staff (fluent in English). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
2.6 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Property: Casa Miradouro
Address: Rua Soto Maior 55, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing