We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time around...another great stay!”
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Miradouro
Ranked #6 of 39 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second time around...another great stay!”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Two years ago I stayed with my boyfriend at this lovely place. 2 years and a toddler later we stayed here again. Once more we enjoyed our stay. The house and rooms are beautiful, breakfast is a delight, and the staff very helpful and always friendly.
On New Year's eve the hostess even invited us and all other guests to some bubbles and fingerfood which was lovely and made us feel like home.
Sintra remains a treasure and surprises me over and over again. I can highly recommend to go and visit the city when in Portugal. And when in doubt where to stay...choose Casa Miradouro!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabineHavermans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    50
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
206
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very welcoming, beautifully furnished rooms in an old house with great views and an excellent breakfast. As it was just before Christmas, there were also lovely Christmas decorations throughout the public lounge and the bedrooms. Only drawback to be aware of is that it's a longish and very uphill walk up to the town centre. I would certainly choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

A beautifully restored 19th century manor house, with just 8 rooms and very elegant and confy living rooms. A full bar and Nespresso coffee machines so that you can help yourself.
Although the house is in a very quiet lane, you are really close to Sintra's town centre (walk up the lane and you will find yourself in Palácio Real). The lane is a bit steep - but so is all of Sintra.
For those who prefer small charming hotels, where you can feel at home - this is the place. Small and cosy but with all that you need.
The breakfast room is lovely.
The view is beautiful.

Travelling with a one year old child is sometimes difficult - You need access to a kitchen (fridge & microwave oven) - something that is not easy in a big hotel. Or else you have to pay extra for a suite with a kitchenette. They gave me access to the kitchen for these baby issues.

Imagine this was a chain hotel (thank God it's not): I would stay in this chain wherever I'd travel in the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaraSalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We stayed 2 nights here after 4 busy days sight seeing in Lisbon. This place was absolutely delightful. Charlotte, the host, made us feel instantly welcome, offering good tips on the best non-touristy restaurants, and how to get around the town - with a welcoming glass of port each!

The room was beautiful - spacious, comfortable, luxurious with wonderful views across the hills.

Breakfast (served out on the patio) was excellent.

We enjoyed the place so much we spent half of our time in Sintra just relaxing in the hotel itself!

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanW_Ealing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We spent two weeks in Portugal last fall, spending time in Lisboa, Sintra, & Cascais. Portugal is a lovely country with wonderful people, and we couldn't have had a better vacation.
Sintra was, however, the highlight of our trip, and the three nights we stayed in Casa Mirodouro were absolute heaven!!
The house was bright and airy, the breakfast room was just beautiful, and the back garden was a lovely place to spend an evening enjoying the bottle of port we bought in town.
Our room was simply perfect. Sunlit, airy, spotlessly clean, and with a beautiful & *incredibly* comfortable four poster bed with luxurious linens. I can't stress enough how fabulous this bed was! I thought our bed at home was outstanding until I spent time in the Casa's!!
Our bathroom was spotless, spacious, and modern. The shower was a vacation unto itself.
...and then, of course, our balcony overlooking the valley behind the house was exceptional...
All of this plus the sweetest, nicest, most helpful girls that worked there. I think the were three of them (I'm forgetting because it was a year ago now...there may have only been two). They gave exceptionally outstanding service. They remembered that I'm vegetarian and had our favorites and dislikes down to a tee; we never wanted for anything at all and they anticipated our wants and needs perfectly.
Like the bed, I *cannot* overstate the impeccable service.

I know I used a lot of superlatives in this review, but they are all well deserved. I'm fortunate to be a frequent leisure traveler, and have stayed in some very nice places indeed...and I would rate Casa Mirodouro as easily as good an experience as I've ever had. Truly a five star establishment.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kfbolger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2012

After traveling from london to paris, what a pleasant suprise it was to arrive at Casa Miradouro in the beautiful town of Sintra. I arrived in the evening where I was greeted by Charlotte who was very friendly and knowledgable about the town of Sintra and the surrounding beach towns. I had a pleasant sleep in my room and woke up to the most spectacular views and amazing smells from the beautiful breakfast buffet. I ate breakfast on the outside patio where Joy and the staff were most gracious and offered me eggs any style, coffee in a french press, and gluten free bread(i am allergic to wheat.) After eating the best breakfast I had eaten in days, I got an early start to see all Sintra had to offer. Wear a good pair of walking shoes. Sintra is hilly and to get to the bus station and train station you will need to walk at least ten to fifteen minutes. However, there are so many sights to see you will forget you are walking. Bus 434 stop is right in town next to the post office and it costs 5 euro to take it up to Pena Palace and the Moorish Castle which are must sees in Sintra. Words cannot explain the beauty of those two places. There is also the Toy Museum and Palacio National de Sintra. After exploring all that Sintra had to offer, it was so relaxing to end my day at Casa Miradouro. It is a little out of the way of all the heavily traveled tourists spots so you can relax on the lawn or in the sitting rooms where there is a fully stocked self service bar and chessboard. It was difficult for me to leave Casa Miradouro after only three days and I cannot wait to go back. Charlotte called for a taxi to pick me up early that morning to take me back to the Lisbon airport which is also accessible by train. She was so gracious!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveler k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I recently stayed at Casa Miradouro in early August for 3 nights and I really enjoyed my stay there. I had a basic twin room and it was super clean. The room was very charming! (although the small twin bed wasn't the most comfortable really) I went there alone and I was worried at first, but it was the perfect place for me, as I felt super safe and was thrilled with the close location to historical Sintra. It is a tough uphill walk to the centre but I enjoyed the exercise. It takes just under 10 minutes walking to the main area. I loved also how quiet the B&B was so after a day touring around, I liked going back to the B&B and relaxing in the common areas. I did have breakfast there as well and if you are a normal eater than it's worth it because you get fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, eggs, cold cuts, breads, pastries, etc. I am not a big eater, so I could have just gone into town and had a pastry for 1.50 Euros instead. However, 10 euros is still a great deal to have breakfast there. Overall, I really enjoyed my experience there and would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feedyoursoul_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Property: Casa Miradouro
Address: Rua Soto Maior 55, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing