We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, Near everything”
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Miradouro
Ranked #7 of 45 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We discovered this litte gem of a B&B on TA. The building is located about 10-12 minutes walking from the Sintra train station. The walk is hilly and I would not recommend it for anyone with health issues but for the somewhat fit to fit it is a great way to see that side of Sintra.
The castles are viewable from the garden and not far by auto.
The B&B staff is excellent, warm friendly and willing to help in any way and converse in several languages English being one. Breakfast was a treat with the typical meats, cheeses, breads, yogurts, fruits and something special, eggs cooked to order.
They have a lovely sitting area where you can relax and catch-up on your emails with the free WiFi available. The only issue I had was the WiFi was not available en-suite.
The rooms were nicely appointed, very clean and our bath was spacious with a view overlooking the walk I mentioned earlier. Follow-up daily housekeeping was excellent and always completed before we returned from our day's adventure.
Our GPS took us right to the door but parking is on the street. The neighborhood is very safe and we never felt threatened even when walking late into the evening.
Lisbon is only a 30 minute train ride to the central station and trains run frequently. Train is a great way to get to Lisbon. you can leave your car at the B&B to avoid all of the traffic and parking fees.
So if you do not want to stay in Lisbon, but be close by, you want something other than a hotel then stay at the Casa Miradouro

Room Tip: There isn't an elevator and they have three floor, a long way up with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Easy early arrival. Room with view, light and air. Clean. Cheerful. I would recommend a stay and would return here. The unlimited coffee was an added bonus. Parking can be tricky which it turns out is generally the case in Sintra.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cest243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Casa Miradoura was a pleasant place to stay but it did not live up to our expectations from reading 5* 'tripadvisor' reviews. The flaw was attention to detail, probably because the owner (Charlotte?) was not around much and left the running to two young assistants.

Specifically our bedroom (No 4) smelled badly when we arrived, and it was only after pointing out this obvious problem that remedial, and fully successful, action was taken. The weather was unseasonably cold, but no attempt was made to warm our room when we arrived: the heating was put on later in the day. Breakfast was adequate but lacking in variety (very plain bread etc.), but free Nespresso coffee and WiFi was excellent.

In short this was a nice place to stay, but more a 3* than a 5* experience and over-priced in our opinion at 135€ per night.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmt1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is a wonderfully restored and gracious building, with spacious rooms, comfy bed, fine breakfast buffet and very helpful staff. Sintra is a very hilly town, and everything is uphill from the hotel (as it is everywhere in town), so bring your best walking shoes. We stayed early in the season - end of April - and hotel was very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueinseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Casa Miradouro is everything you would want from a bed and breakfast: a well appointed, historic building; welcoming staff; and a good breakfast. The inn is a 10-minute walk from the center of Sintra, which makes it a more peaceful place to stay. (It's an uphill walk to the center, but my 87 year old father did it with no problem.)

Charlotte, Joy, and Donna do a great job.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rickspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

When you make your way to this lovely manor home, you will be greeting by your lovely host Charlotte. You are offered a wonderful glass of port to enjoy while she tells you about all the beautiful sites to see in Sintra. The home is beautifully restored with lovely spacious rooms where the beds are made with fine linens and private baths. The breakfast is very ample to start your day of touring. As it sits at the bottom of the hill from the National Palace, the views are spectacular. I highly recommend this B & B when stopping over in Sintra. Thank you Charlotte for

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lvmcnamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We would like to live here. Very tasteful decor and fittings in a stylishly modernised old house. Master suite 4 not really a suite but a decent sized high-ceilinged room with large bed, antique wardrobe plus 2 comfy chairs & table by the balcony. Working shutters a nice touch. Sun in the evening and long distance views. Bathroom modern -shower only. Three types of pillow.
Free communal Nespresso but espresso cups & caffeinated can run out at busy times - tea lovers can get large cups and use kettle in the kitchen. Hotel provides small water daily and a communal bottle of water in the honesty bar. Not bad prices - Coke €2, port €2-3, bottles of wine available €12 upwards.
Beautiful large lounges better than those of many grander hotels - useful as too cold for the garden in mid-April. Cold breakfast buffet plus eggs cooked to order- all very high quality products. Kindest and most helpful staff in Portugal.
Location 8-10 minutes up very steephill to Palacio Real and buses for other palaces - quite a distance from the part of the town by the train station but taxi €5-6 to and from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pimlicoperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.4 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
0.4 mi away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Address: Rua Soto Maior 55, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing