We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I don't know if our expectations were too high after having read the reviews here on tripadvisor...

Our room was huge, with a quite big bathroom. The place is nice, with a garden and a pool, and it's a 10 minutes walk from the town.
We payed about 80 euros for the night, which was a bit on the expensive side. We payed extra for a room "with a view", but there wasn't really much of a view. Had we seen the rooms first, we would have chosen a cheaper room on the back.

The place itself is sweet and old, and has a certain feeling of times past, but don't expect too much from the rooms themselves.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobby44Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sintra Jardim
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

Arriving to the mansion, and greeted by two gigantic dogs, I already felt like I was in paradise. My mother and I stayed in one of the newer rooms, with our windows open, we were greeted by the local cat in the evening. The grounds of the Residencial was well kept, and so was their small swimming pool. It was refreshing to swim in the middle of the green hilly city of Sintra. I recommend this place, it was a lovely stay and well worth the price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasteNOtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

The hotel is housed in an old villa and the rooms are really large. The front rooms have a view and the back ones look onto the hill behind the house. I stayed in a back room which was slightly less expensive but it really didn't make a difference to me since I was never in the room except to sleep and shower. If you pay cash there is also a slight discount. The rooms are basic but clean and large.

The hotel is located outside the town of Sintra but it's an easy walk to town through a nice park. The hotel also has a huge garden and pool which would be nice to take advantage of in warmer weather.

The family that runs the hotel was very nice and very helpful too.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iamwherenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Good location with palatial rooms at a nice price, we would stay again and didn´t want to leave. Sintra is an incredible place not to be missed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamfergesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Our room was appauling. Peeling paint, plaster falling off the walls, black mould growing on all around window and door frames, dark and unwelcoming. This residence looks great from the outside and was highly recommended by Lonely Planet - we were very, very disappointed! OK. Maybe it was just the room we had - but we did book a room with a garden view and got a high hedge anly 2 feet from our window! The location of this hotel is good & the pool area is nice, but the room we stayed in was desparatly in need of paint and renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The Residencial was very relaxing and welcoming. I loved sitting in the back garden, enjoying a cocktail at the end of a day of sightseeing! The owners and staff were extremely gracious and helpful, giving us loads of great suggestions for restaurants & sights. The property is well-worn & could use some upgrades with new paint etc, but the rooms are clean. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajckendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I loved this place. An old manor house converted into a lovely atmospheric pension. It's luxurious, indeed much of the decor hasn't been updated for 50 years or more I doubt but in a way this adds to charm and ambience. The pool was wonderful and very clean and the kids loved playing on the homemade football pitch. The family and staff that work there were effortlessly kind and helpful (it has been in the family for 50 years I gather.

The views from the terrace and gardens and most of the rooms are utterly breathtaking overlooking castles and valleys etc.

Another big plus was its location in San Pedro, a small village just outside Sintra. San Pedro was charming with excellent restaurants and far enough away from the tourist-bustle of Sintra to feel like you were in proper Portugal.

The one minus was dealing with the heat at night. It was scorchio when we were there, and as the room don't have air con you had to leave the windows open, which would be fine except we picked a fair collection of mosquito bites. The window need mosquito nets on them, unless this was an exceptional occurence.

The other thing, while I'm at it, is that the gorgeous terrace with stunning views, is crying out to be used as a place to have pre-evening drinks on and to mix with other guests. Owners - if you read this, can i suggest you put a drink menu and bell or something on the tables on the terrace. Or have a cocktail hour where you have a table of drinks up there with someone serving.

All in all, a gem and to be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra Jardim

Address: Travessa dos Avelares 12 | Sao Pedro de Sintra, Sintra 2710, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £48 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sintra Jardim 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sintra Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Sintra Hotel Sintra Municipality
Pensao Residencial Sintra Sao Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing