We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing hotel in beautiful Sintra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Sintra. It is in a quiet location, away from the touristy center of town, but a pleasant, charming walk to any of the attractions, including the Moorish Castle, Pena Park and Palace, Palacio Nacional, and Quinta da Regaleira. (If you are unwilling or unable to walk the hilly terrain of Sintra, you can take advantage of bus service that stops near the hotel.) The front desk provided a detailed map of the area, and we greatly enjoyed exploring on foot, both hiking in the hills and walking into Sao Pedro for dinner. The hotel is a family-run affair, with spacious rooms and charming shared spaces, such as the breakfast room, swimming pool, gardens, and even a glass pavilion with ping pong and foosball. There is plenty of space for kids to run around and unwind. Breakfast was tasty and ample (cereal, toast, bread, ham and cheese, along with coffee, juice or hot chocolate); while there is no restaurant, sandwiches and other light snacks may be ordered throughout the day. The emphasis is on charm and location, not luxury, but the friendly, helpful staff and idyllic setting more than compensate for some deferred maintenance.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RedTurtle91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2009

My partner and I were backpacking around Portugal. Sintra and Lisbon were our last stops, after struggling for a decent hotel in Lisbon, we decided to travel to Sintra and try our luck. We found Pensao Residencial Sintra and didn't go back to Lisbon.

Staff were very friendly, rooms impecable, bathroom clean and airy. Situated in a lovely sight sorrounded by woods. Excellent pool and outdoor terraces for reading and relaxing.

Don't stay in Lisbon, go to Sintra and stay there. The train to Lisbon is only 1.50 euro and about 30 minutes or so. Definitely worth it. Food in Sintra, as in all of Portugal, is fantastic and a couple of bars for the night too.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

My friend and I stayed here in late July 2008 and were both delighted and charmed by this inn. The hotel is located on a lush property with beautiful landscaping including hydrangeas and orange trees. The real delight here is an excellent outdoor swimming pool, perfect for summer tourists. While lounging in pool chairs the Moorish castle stares down from the mountain. Our room was perfect, facing the back, but with a wall of green foliage as a view, and it was quiet and peaceful. We often opened the ceiling- to- floor French doors and just let all the beauty in. There was a large breakfast room which served a lovely continental breakfast, bread, cheese, ham, coffee tea and for an extra euro or two you could order eggs or other special breakfast food. Staff was friendly and warm and arranged an early morning taxi to the airport for us. Sintra is a bit of a spread out place, but the historic center is an easy walk, much through a pretty park. My friend and I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dreema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2008

We had a wonderful time at the Pensao Residencial which we found to be very clean and very comfortable with staff who could not have been more welcoming and helpful. It is very central for visiting many places,including the Moorish castle and the historical centre of Sintra and it is very easy and amazingly cheap to get to Lisbon for the day by train!
It is vital to tell the staff if you have no car, that you need to walk to the nearby villages and train station etc because they can tell you the back ways, paths through the park, and the small roads rather than walking along the main road which is dangerous.
They also reccomended some very nice restaurants quite close by, of varying prices.
It was very easy to get a taxi from the airport at Lisbon to the Pensao -it took about 30 minutes, and cost about £25.
We had a lovely time and would thoroughly reccomend this place for the older traveller who enjoys sight seeing by day and a pleasant and quiet place to stay in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

The photos hardly do it justic. Our room had views to the ruins of the Moorish castle and the lush green hillside. The welcome was wonderfully warm. The building is a gently decaying manor house, and feels very much representative of the faded gentility of Sintra in general. The secured parking and easy in-and-out privileges made it convenient to sight see on foot, then get the car and head out.

We were there after several days of heavy rain, and the room and sheets smelled strongly of damp. I was concened as I have allergies and can't tolerate mildew of any sort. But our first morning dawned bright and clear. We left the windows (French doors really) open all day, aired it out and all was well.

We got a bottle of wine from reception and sat enjoying the view and felt that all was right with the world. It was still much to cold to think about the pool, though some Germans managed to put on their bikinis and lounge beside it. The place is not luxuirous by any means (one towel was threadbare, the maid's cleaning cart was stocked with cans of Raid bug killer), but we felt very much at home and were sorry to leave after 2 nights.

I was really surprised at how easy it was to get to the airport (25 min with no traffic) as it felt a world away. I'd recommend it for an easy, affordable get away.

Stayed: April 2008
1  Thank La_Rubita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Of all the places we stayed at during our 4 weeks in Portugal and Spain, Pensao Residencial Sintra was our favourite! It is a beautiful, old mansion, with a great terrace and pool all surrounded by lovely gardens. The staff there were all extremely friendly and very helpful. We had a room without a view, which was fine, but to make the most of the beautiful surrounds I'd recommend paying the extra amount for a room with a view. It takes about 10 minutes to walk to the old centre through the park. By the way, the Indian restaurant up the hill (away from the old centre) is great!!!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pisces_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2007

Pensao Residencial Sintra was a very relaxing, beautiful old manor house with fabulous large lush garden, clean and good sized swimming pool, table football, tabletennis and a little field with goals to play real football.
Our room was smelled lovely, and was tastefully decorated (wood floors, white and blue curtains). It was cleaned every day, had a television with sky news, and a good bathroom with a strong hot shower and a bath.
Breakfast (included in the very reasonable price) was delicious: fresh bread, jams, cheese, ham, little cakes, cereal, lots and lots of fresh hot coffee and milk.
The staff are unbelievably helpful and accommodating and nothing was too much trouble.
It's about 2 minutes walk up a steep hill to Sao Pedro with cafes and restaurants and some shops and a market, and about 10 minutes down a very steep hill to the historic centre of Sintra. About 25 minutes walk to the station and bus to the Sintra beaches.
Great for people with children, very romantic for couples. My only reservation would be that if you are newly single, all the babies and couples may make you feel a little out of place. And Sintra is not a party town. But if that doesn't worry you, I can't recommend Residencial Sintra enough!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whatkathydid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra Jardim

Address: Travessa dos Avelares 12 | Sao Pedro de Sintra, Sintra 2710, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £48 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sintra Jardim 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Sintra Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Sintra Hotel Sintra Municipality
Pensao Residencial Sintra Sao Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing