We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old Pensao.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Good location with palatial rooms at a nice price, we would stay again and didn´t want to leave. Sintra is an incredible place not to be missed!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamfergesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

Our room was appauling. Peeling paint, plaster falling off the walls, black mould growing on all around window and door frames, dark and unwelcoming. This residence looks great from the outside and was highly recommended by Lonely Planet - we were very, very disappointed! OK. Maybe it was just the room we had - but we did book a room with a garden view and got a high hedge anly 2 feet from our window! The location of this hotel is good & the pool area is nice, but the room we stayed in was desparatly in need of paint and renovation.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

The Residencial was very relaxing and welcoming. I loved sitting in the back garden, enjoying a cocktail at the end of a day of sightseeing! The owners and staff were extremely gracious and helpful, giving us loads of great suggestions for restaurants & sights. The property is well-worn & could use some upgrades with new paint etc, but the rooms are clean. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajckendrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

I loved this place. An old manor house converted into a lovely atmospheric pension. It's luxurious, indeed much of the decor hasn't been updated for 50 years or more I doubt but in a way this adds to charm and ambience. The pool was wonderful and very clean and the kids loved playing on the homemade football pitch. The family and staff that work there were effortlessly kind and helpful (it has been in the family for 50 years I gather.

The views from the terrace and gardens and most of the rooms are utterly breathtaking overlooking castles and valleys etc.

Another big plus was its location in San Pedro, a small village just outside Sintra. San Pedro was charming with excellent restaurants and far enough away from the tourist-bustle of Sintra to feel like you were in proper Portugal.

The one minus was dealing with the heat at night. It was scorchio when we were there, and as the room don't have air con you had to leave the windows open, which would be fine except we picked a fair collection of mosquito bites. The window need mosquito nets on them, unless this was an exceptional occurence.

The other thing, while I'm at it, is that the gorgeous terrace with stunning views, is crying out to be used as a place to have pre-evening drinks on and to mix with other guests. Owners - if you read this, can i suggest you put a drink menu and bell or something on the tables on the terrace. Or have a cocktail hour where you have a table of drinks up there with someone serving.

All in all, a gem and to be recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

A converted old manor house overlooking a lush garden and lovely pool, this family owned and run pensão is a real find in touristy Sintra if you are looking for charm and relaxation at a reasonable price.

Located halfway between the village centers of Sintra and São Pedro, the inn is accessible by bus or taxi from the train station (an uphill trip that going back down is easily done on foot.) There is no need for a car here unless one has trouble walking. Local buses and also the tourist bus to Pena Palace and the Castle stop right outside the gate. Taxi service is inexpensive. The National Palace is a 15 minute stroll downhill through a park. Good restaurants in São Pedro are in even closer walking distance. We especially enjoyed dinner at Cantinho de São Pedro.

The accommodations in this old house are simple but comfortable. We chose a room on the back without a view. On the ground floor, it was somewhat dark and a bit musty, but nice and cool at night -- no need for air conditioning. Beds were a bit hard and the bathroom was very small, but with good water pressure in the shower. Breakfast was fine, just a bit limited. There is no restaurant on site but drinks, snacks and sandwiches are available.

We loved our stay here and after 3 days did not want to leave. We enjoyed the B&B feel, the friendly and helpful multi-lingual staff, the luxurious beauty of the setting and most of all the wonderful pool (with plenty of sunbeds and extra towels for the asking) where, after checking out on one of the hottest days of the season, we were welcome to stay on throughout the afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We arrived late in the afternoon to Sintra to find our original choice overbooked. We found the Pensao in our GPS and after a short drive on crazy narrow roads we got there to find to our delight a roomy parking and a wonderful pool with chaise-longs in the shade and fresh made lemonade-what else can you ask for ! Later we walked to the center for dinner (I would recommend flashlights for the walk back, it was a bit dark). Great location for a hike up to the Castelo dos Mouros and Palacio da Pena. Breakfast was a bit too simple for my taste.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We spent two nights here with friends and it was a total chill-out experience. We had rooms overlooking a terrace which in turn looked out over the pool set among grass, trees and flowering shrubs. Hot snacks and drinks are provided in situ (but not meals as such) and we didn't feel we wanted to stir from the place it was so relaxing. Beautiful gardens, lovely staff, a real "old world" feel to the place, a moorish castle up on the skyline... who could want more!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
290 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sintra Jardim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sintra Jardim

Address: Travessa dos Avelares 12 | Sao Pedro de Sintra, Sintra 2710, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £47 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sintra Jardim 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Sintra Jardim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Residencial Sintra Hotel Sintra Municipality
Pensao Residencial Sintra Sao Pedro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing