We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Shortly after making my reservation here I was contacted by the manager and advised that the terrace was undergoing renovation and I would be able to cancel my reservation if this would be a problem.
Very glad I didn't cancel- This place was beautiful. The room was large and very clean.
The staff was extremely helpful, and had lots of great tips (restaurants etc) handing me maps of the town.
The hotel location is great- very near to the train station, and a nice walk to town.
On departure they kept my luggage as I took one last walk thru town. I returned to the manager offering me a few glasses of wine before my trip.

Loved this place

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sctt2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    89
    11
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
193
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, FL
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The Hotel Nova Sintra is undergoing renovations to the front patio, but despite this, it's still a great option in tony Sintra. The Nova Sintra is less than one block east of the main Sintra train station, the last stop on the Sintra-Rossio (Lisbon) line, and it's about half a mile walk from Sintra's old center, Sintra Vila. Our room was large and comfy--tv, bidet, fan, good windows, wi-fi. The only bothersome fact was the bed was two twin beds that didn't quite fit together. A gap of about two inches separated each mattress, and there was no way to overcome this. We're not used to sleeping separately. The service was excellent, helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly, and the entire property--except for the part undergoing renovation--was attractive and pleasant. A good value for the money in Portugal's most famous town.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoBeRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Great Hotel. Fabulous location and very friendly helpful staff. We had the misfortune of having our car broken into and the staff were instumental in helping us get our car repaired. Couldnt have done it without them. Walking distance to the old town, bus stop across the road and the train about a 500mt walk. Food was great and the rooms lovely and clean. Would definatley stay again. Would recommend to anyone staying in Sintra.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldyQld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mouth of Wilson, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Just got back from a three-night stay at Pensao Nova Sintra. There were four of us sharing two rooms on the first floor. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It was very hot and humid when we were there, but there were portable air conditioners in the room which kept the room comfortable. The water pressure in the showers was very good. The beds were firm. I always try to choose hotels based on breakfast reviews. We loved the breakfast--yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, brotchen, breads, jams, slices of ham, slices of cheese, specialty coffee, juice, etc. We thoroughly enjoyed starting the morning with a good hearty breakfast in a very pleasant breakfast room. The owner and his assistant are more than happy to give you suggestions, directions, information, anything you want to know about the area. The patios around the hotel are also very pleasant. We'd return in the late afternoon and enjoy relaxing on the patio under the trees with drinks or coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Because of traffic, the rooms on the back would be quieter if you sleep with the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank boondoggie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Good location, 5 minutes walk to the historical city. Clean rooms. Free wi-fi. Helpful staff.
There is a free parking place just across the railway, 5 minutes walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElifSonmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Staff was very friendly, food is very nice.
From the hotel the old town is within walking distance.
There are free parking places very close to the hotel, but not trivial to find an empty one. We were there beginning of May and could only find an empty parking lot in the evening, not during the day. May be even more challenging in the high season.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tohotomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Nova Sintra is a good choice for staying in Sintra - good value, friendly and helpful staff, a comfortable bed, a lovely breakfast and a sunny terrace overlooking the hills on which to eat it. It's a simple B&B, but quite attractive and modern in its decor, particularly the foyer, and has free, reliable wifi. We stayed in an attic room which was facing the wrong way for views, but was comfortable, though prepare to walk up quite a lot of stairs to get there! The breakfast is cereal, cheese and breads, with juice and coffee, which is nice. The hotel is quite a hike from historical Sintra village (about half an hour) though the road is simple and straight, and there are buses, but it might have been nicer being in the historical centre itself for a brief visit. It's worth realising that the area NovaSintra is located is where people actually live, and the best restaurants are located, as opposed to the historical centre which is pretty but touristy. Coming out of Sintra station, turn right, turning almost 180 degrees, and go straight along that main road (not down the road at 90 degrees) to find it (which we failed to do on first attempt!).

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Property: Hotel Nova Sintra
Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing