We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place, pleasant owner”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Rhineland-Palatinate
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant place, pleasant owner”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at this homey, comfy place for just one night, but the pleasant owner went to great lengths to make me feel welcome. He went out of his way to help me with parking, help me with all things touristy. One especially nice surprise was the owner's welcome drink--I cannot remember if any hotel has ever offered a welcome drink.

The room was nicely decorated, simple and clean. Breakfast next morning was plenty--I would go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    91
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
209
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pardes Hanna Karkur, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Beautiful hotel with great view of the city and castle, the staff are amazing! great conversation people and very helpful in any way possible. the room had a great view and all I could ask for. Would definitely come back again

Room Tip: take the room with the terrace view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuvalinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location, close to the train station and short stroll to the historical centre of Sintra. That alone makes it a great choice, but the service provided by the staff was excellent, the rooms very clean and a very nice breakfast included. I felt very welcome at this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ren082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevoort, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Excellent choice. A few steps from the station, close to everything and yet quiet. Although a friend and I booked separate rooms for only one night, we got a large, very comfortable and clean room. Breakfast was really good, service friendly. Mr. Rui helped us to an excellent and cheap Portuguese restaurant Dom Pipas. What impressed me also, was the cosy charming house, cute breakfast room, wonderful terrace. I'd definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel strongly.

Room Tip: I was on first floor, room nr. 11, front. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girassol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algarve
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

A friend and I stayed one night here at the end of January and we were delighted with our choice of this hotel. It is clear that this hotel matters to the owners and staff and even though we stayed in the middle of the low season, everything was up to standard. The location is excellent for anyone visiting Sintra by train and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel, after check out, collecting them late in the afternoon, just before jumping on the train. It is about 20 minutes walk to the historical centre of Sintra and near to the bus stop for Quinta da Pena and the Castelo dos Mouros.
The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. The real bonus was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We enjoyed their restaurant recommendation.
For people visiting at warmer times of the year, there is a lovely outdoor seating area.
Overall, good value for money and a place I would certainly retirn to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Service was exceptional! Everybody make our stay the best as possible. Probably among the best places I had stayed. The place looks like a cozy big house. Room was not big, but comfortable with nice view of the hills of the town. Breakfast was good and sufficient (self-serve style), but expect a local type breakfast. The hotel is located just outside the town, very close to the train station and few minutes’ walk to the center; making it a very convenient located place to stay. If I go back to Sintra, I won’t think twice and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LORMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Shortly after making my reservation here I was contacted by the manager and advised that the terrace was undergoing renovation and I would be able to cancel my reservation if this would be a problem.
Very glad I didn't cancel- This place was beautiful. The room was large and very clean.
The staff was extremely helpful, and had lots of great tips (restaurants etc) handing me maps of the town.
The hotel location is great- very near to the train station, and a nice walk to town.
On departure they kept my luggage as I took one last walk thru town. I returned to the manager offering me a few glasses of wine before my trip.

Loved this place

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sctt2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Property: Hotel Nova Sintra
Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing