We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, good location with friendly and helpful staff”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good location with friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and got some great local advice from Mr Rui and he could not have been more welcoming. We had an attic room, with its own bathroom, and breakfast was included in the rate. Our car was broken into while in Cascais for the day, and Mr Rui was extremely kind to us, even offering to drive us back to Cascais when a few of the items that were stolen were found by a local person. Unfortunately my camera was also stolen, so I can't share my photos with you, but I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. We couldn't make use of the beautiful roof terrace, as the weather was cold and rainy, but it would be a real bonus in the summer.

Room Tip: Our attic room was very quiet and spacious. The compromise was the shower which was rather small an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    89
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
46
200
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geilenkirchen, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The hotel was OK and not very far from the historical center.
My room was small with no air conditioning. Breakfast was just OK.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
178 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel must be the best place to stay in Sintra if you like unpretentious places which are good value. We were in room 4 which has a great view and was very quiet. You are made to feel welcome and all the staff are friendly, interesting and helpful. We are independent travellers and because the hotel is so near the station and all the local buses you do not need a car. When you come out of the train station turn right and keep waking on the right for 100m. You will see the hotel to the left on top of a terrace and you reach the hotel by a stairway from the road. If you travel by train it is the terminal station that you exit. We stayed for 6 nights and took our time to see the historical sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McdonaldsLinlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhineland-Palatinate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at this homey, comfy place for just one night, but the pleasant owner went to great lengths to make me feel welcome. He went out of his way to help me with parking, help me with all things touristy. One especially nice surprise was the owner's welcome drink--I cannot remember if any hotel has ever offered a welcome drink.

The room was nicely decorated, simple and clean. Breakfast next morning was plenty--I would go back any time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeCurious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pardes Hanna Karkur, Israel
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Beautiful hotel with great view of the city and castle, the staff are amazing! great conversation people and very helpful in any way possible. the room had a great view and all I could ask for. Would definitely come back again

Room Tip: take the room with the terrace view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuvalinbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location, close to the train station and short stroll to the historical centre of Sintra. That alone makes it a great choice, but the service provided by the staff was excellent, the rooms very clean and a very nice breakfast included. I felt very welcome at this hotel!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ren082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevoort, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Excellent choice. A few steps from the station, close to everything and yet quiet. Although a friend and I booked separate rooms for only one night, we got a large, very comfortable and clean room. Breakfast was really good, service friendly. Mr. Rui helped us to an excellent and cheap Portuguese restaurant Dom Pipas. What impressed me also, was the cosy charming house, cute breakfast room, wonderful terrace. I'd definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel strongly.

Room Tip: I was on first floor, room nr. 11, front. No noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girassol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
321 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
635 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Property: Hotel Nova Sintra
Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing