We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mature roaming couple”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Mature roaming couple”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely location. The manager and staff are extremely helpful and nothing to much trouble. Really nice atmosphere throughout the hotel. Outside there is a good seating area for drinks. 10-10 for breakfast. The only thing we could fault it on is car parking, there is none at hotel only public parking IF you can find space. It wouldn't put us off coming back. There is much to see and do.

Room Tip: Ask for large double bed not just standard for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    91
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
46
209
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Fantastic find via trip advisor of places to stay in Sintra, all within walking distance of the train and buses and local attractions. All the staff were friendly and accommodating, breakfast more than sufficient (loved the oranges) and dinner recommendations were spot on. Sintra is definitely worth a visit and stay of at least 3 nights. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokidaymaker057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Sintra is the spot where i always go back when i visit Portugal. The surroundings are so beautiful. I stayed for the first time in Nova Sintra and it was a pleasure to me. I will come back here. Good vibes there and a perfect loaction.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FransB178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Great service and warm friendly service. Nothing is too much trouble. Good location and wonderful restaurant recommendations. Very pleased. Definitely recommended. Only criticism is there's a flight of stairs, which might be tricky if there's a lot of luggage or a baby in a buggy, but then even before you start climbing up, there will usually be someone from the reception to help. Very impressed.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double room on the Ground Floor. Was beautifully appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingParomita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We recently went back to Sintra after a 16 year gap and were determined to find the hotel that we stayed in when we first visited. After walking round the town about 3 times, we finally realised that the hotel we were after was Nova Sintra. We're glad to say that our stay there in 2012 was as lovely as our stay in 1996. The staff are simply fantastic, the breakfast's are superb and the hotel itself is a joy with a fantastic view of the hills high above Sintra. I
Don't think about staying anywhere else!!

Room Tip: The double room facing Moorish Castle is excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Wonderful hotel that makes it convienent to everything in the area. Rui Bernardo and his staff were as helpful as anyone could ask. It is easy to get to and close to the train station for trips to Lisbon. Restaurants in the area are close and all have great food. The only down fall is the steps up to the hotel. There are a lot of them and for someone who is elderly it makes it a little tougher, but still well worth the stay

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay. The owners were super helpful and friendly. The room was very cheery and had a with a nice view. The beds were comfortable and everything was very clean.
The breakfast buffet was generous and well presented.
We would be happy to recommend Hotel Nova Sintra.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paddlelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
330 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Property: Hotel Nova Sintra
Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing