We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Sintra”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Staff were very kind and have wonderful hospitality. We had a nice staying at this hotel more than we expected. The hotel is located 5mins walk from the train station.
As other comments, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asuka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Rui and the other staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even giving us a cell phone number to call in case we got lost. Comfortable, clean, generous breakfast. Place is not elegant but was exactly what we were looking for--we were fully satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zicolinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again if returning to Sintra.

The hotel is perfectly located a 5 minutes walk from the train station. The outside of the hotel is very nice, lots of sitting groups on the terrace and in the garden. If we had visited Sintra in the summer, we would definitely have used the outdoor place of the hotel.
Rui, the hotel manager, is very welcoming, and made our stay a positive experience. When we arrived, he showed us two rooms, so that we could choose the one we preferred. Our room had a beautiful view over one of the (many) castles in Sintra.
The breakfast was good, and the hotel was clean. I have only positive things to say about Hotel Nova Sintra, and recommend it to anyone going to Sintra.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

So well situated for Lisbon, the coast and Sintra's amazing palaces (the highlight for us). I'd echo all the compliments about Rui - he's a great host, never pushy but always helpful and keen to share insight into the way portugal works. Hotel is in a great position - take the tram to the seaside! - and the rooms and terrace very pleasant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Not a problem -Rui will show you what's available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location. The entrance is up a flight of stairs from the main road, five minutes walk from the main train station. The staff are very helpful, breakfasts excellent. Our bedroom was comfortable, although quite basic.

Room Tip: There is no lift and bedrooms are one or two levels above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We just returned from a 10 day vacation in Portugal and by far our favorite place to stay was at the Nova Sintra. Rui, the hotel manager, immediately made us feel right at home with his hospitality, that at the end of our trip we returned for a few more nights to relax and unwind before our trip home to New York.
SIntra is a beautiful city on its own, but our stay at the Nova Sintra, made it even more desirable.
Thank You Rui- we will return soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but the attic room is delightful with its wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Excellently located near transport & shops. Quiet & comfortable, with a manager who goes out of his way to see to you're comfort & add to you're experience of the area. A lovely terrace on top of the hotel to enjoy the views.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,640 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
Price Range: £56 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing