We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the moment we arrived Rui Bernardo and his staff made us feel at home and went out of his way to help and advise us. Well located close to the station and the stops for buses to visit the local area. The restaurants recommended were excellent and the historic centre of Sintra an easy walk from the hotel. Our bedroom was clean, larger than I had expected having read some other reviews, and the view of the Castelo dos Mouros was breathtaking. Breakfast could not be faulted and the terrace outside is a great place to sit and have a drink just drinking in the scenery. All in all, the service we received contributed to a fabulous visit - and one we would like to repeat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LS1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    89
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
46
192
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Found this on tripadvisor. Made the mistake of thinking we had plenty of time to book a room since we'd be there in April. We ended up getting the last room. Almost turned it down since it's the smallest room and near the reception desk, so possibly noisy. So glad we decided to stay here for the three nights we spent in Sintra!! The room was small but clean and cozy. We almost never heard anyone at reception and were never awakened by noise.

Rui is the third generation of his family to run this hotel and he would make his ancestors proud. He is attentive, gracious, and goes above and beyond to be helpful. He helped us with restaurant reservations (and suggestions), directions, and the taxi back to Lisbon. The breakfast that's included is a wonderful spread of food that covers both European and American tastes. Rui and/or the employee we met stayed on top of the buffet at all times, replenishing anything that ran low.

The last night we were there we decided to bring sandwiches back for dinner and to enjoy it with a bottle of Rui's wine. It was a little cool out but we decided to eat on the terrace anyway. A few moments after we settled in at a table Rui appeared with two warm blankets (one pink and one blue).

Yes, this is a small "hotel", which seemed more like a bed and breakfast to me. I think it has 3 stars because it's not a shiny new, fancy hotel. I can tell you that we came from spending 2 nights in a 5 star $600.00 a night suite on a Greek Island to this little family run hotel. The suite was definitely more spacious with a huge deck, hot tub, and view to die for. Hotel Nova Sintra provided better, more personal care than the place that cost six times as much.

Rui - you are the best!!! I'm sorry I didn't get around to doing this review sooner!

Obrigada por cuidar tão bem de nós!

Room Tip: Reserve early to get your choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morejourneystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Nova Sintra. Rooms are well appointed. Bathroom good with bidet. Breakfast very good. Owner very helpful. He brought up and took down our luggage to the car. The place has a real character. Airline had misplaced our luggage. He called them and was helpful in getting the luggage . Free parking close by. Highly recommend this hotel. Modestly priced too.

Room Tip: First floor ( American ) room has just as good a view and no steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onkar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Located near train which is perfect if coming from Lisbon, staff was terrific and very helpful with luggage and tips and directions. Looked like a 3 star hotel but with the staff and comfort and location was for me a 5 star !

Room Tip: We stayed in #11, small but quiet and a view of the far off castle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCB11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Hotel Nova Sintra is a great little place - made by the team who run it. They are friendly and could not be more helpful. Offered a choice of rooms on arrival we picked a double with a great view of the castle. The room and commmon areas are all very clean and functional. Good choice at breakfast as well makes this a really good value stay. About a 15 minute walk into the centre of the old town so really good location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Have just returned from a great driving trip through Spain & Portugal. Hotel Nova Sintra stands out as one of the favourite hotels of our trip. The hotel is conveniently located for a visit to the Palacio da Pena and walking distance to the train station for a day-trip to Lisbon. It is also walking distance to the downtown area and old town. Rooms are comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated. Breakfasts are tasty. We enjoyed the large terrace area for a drink. And our room had a nice garden area beyond the window. But what particularly made this hotel stand out in our memory was the concern for the comfort and enjoyment of guests exhibited by the hotel manager and staff. Rui was cheerfully helpful in providing information on restaurants, advise on parking, advise on a train trip to Lisbon and he fully answered the many questions we had during our stay. He seemed even intuitive about any concerns we might have and put us at our ease. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 84Traveller84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel Nova Sintra is a beautiful hotel and is in walking distance to the downtown area. The room I had was spacious and clean. The hotel has a delicious breakfast with lots of different choices: fruit, carbs, protein, sweets and best of all -- great coffee! Rui Bernardo, the manager, was so sweet and helpful. I like to walk and hike, and he gave me a suggestion of a scenic 2-hour walk from Cabo da Roca. He printed off a Google map for me and gave me specific directions. I had a wonderful time on the walk and in Sintra. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I was sad to leave! Thank you, Rui!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choco88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#6 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Property: Hotel Nova Sintra
Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing