We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful patio with an awesome view of the city and Castelos dos Mouros”
Review of Hotel Nova Sintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nova Sintra
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a comfortable and quiet stay. The staff is very helpful-- being right there as we opened the gate to help with bags. The street is quiet and not accessible to tourist buses so there is easy parking and no crowds. The hotel is a short walk to the town center, many restaurants and sights. Breakfast is good and there are many choices. For dinner, we were given an excellent recommendation and a reservation was made for us. My favorite memory of Sintra is sitting on the hotel's patio at night watching the mists surround the Castelo dos Mouros. The castle on the mountain is lit brightly at night so the winds and clouds cause an ever-changing beautiful view.

Room Tip: Our rooms at the back of the hotel were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I and two sons stayed recently at the Hotel Nova Sintra and were very happy with every aspect of our stay at the hotel. The train from Rossio station in central Lisbon took only 40 minutes to arrive in Sintra. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the station. We arrived at about 3pm and enjoyed a delicious lunch on the lovely hotel patio shortly thereafter. We were immediately impressed by the quality of the food and how reasonable the price was. Our rooms and bathrooms were excellent, as was breakfast. The staff were very helpful, particularly the proprietor Bernaardo who offered great advice on various places to visit and how to get there using local transport, which is also very reasonably priced. We visited a good few of the historical monuments and loved them, especially Monserrate and the Moorish Castle, as well as the magnificent 45 minute trip on the old tram directly to Praia das Macas where there is not only a beautiful sandy beach but a heated salt water outdoor swimming pool which our sons loved. The restaurants in Sintra (and one in Sao Pedro just up the road) recommended by the hotel for lunch and dinner were very good and were also excellent value, especially the local wine. We have never eaten so much delicious fish and interesting desserts. We loved the beauty of the town of Sintra but would suggest that cars be diverted away from the historical town centre. The surrounding countryside is stunning and there is so much to see locally. If you are looking for good value, a lovely small, friendly family run hotel in an excellent location in the town, then the Nova Sintra is the right choice.

Room Tip: We were very happy with rooms 11 & 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank gaelgeoir67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My husband and I loved Hotel Nova Sintra! The location is great, not far from the train station. We rolled our luggage there with no problem. We enjoyed the wonderful outside gathering areas, and the very helpful and friendly staff. Rui Bernardo is a most gracious host who will help you with whatever you may need. The breakfast was tasty. I recommend the bodega out and to the left, on the other side of the street for picking up some snacks. We would definitely return to this charming hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bebebird2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Nova Sintra. The location was excellent within 5 minutes of the train. The staff was extremely helpful with restaurant and sightseeing suggestions. We liked the location because it was within walking distance of the town center but away from the tour buses and people. The view from the patio was so pretty with the castle in the distance and a lovely breeze. The breakfast was fantastic - much better than hotels we stayed at in other locations in Europe. The return to Lisbon airport was quick (less than 30 minutes) and a van was arranged for us. We would like to come back to Portugal as the people were so nice and the sights were incredible.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor in two rooms next to each other as we were traveling with teenagers. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CALMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I read the reviews written and ratings by other here before going and i thought I would be lodging in a non-plus-ultra hotel to be then disappointed by reality.
Positive points:
the hotel is located at the outskirts of the city making it easy to access it from the main roads to Lisbon and elsewhere without having to drive through the old town that is chronically congested. It is also situated next to a train station and also to the bus stops (5 minutes walk) that would take one to the main tourist attractions. A walk to the historical center would take around 15-20minutes. Most staff are friendly and helpful. They would help you carry your bag from street level to the hotel, at about 2 stories height above street level. The room and sheets were clean. Breakfast was OK but nothing special. Wifi was very good.
Negative points:
This is an old small house that seemed to have been a villa or a chalet before. Our room had a humid and moldy air. The furniture is a mosaic of mostly incompatible "styles", mainly cheep. sound insulation is pretty poor. Our room was located at the first floor and we were able to hear very clearly all what is said in the reception, floor and when our neighbours went in or out of their rooms. One can hear the sound of water flowing in the bathroom of the neighbours. Mostly annoying is a flashing fire detector that has been over the bed. It pulses every second a green light that flashes right into your eye. There is an illuminated exit sign over the room door that renders it impossible to obscure the room in case you need darkness for your sleep. There is a church close by that announces the time every hour between 7am and 10pm. A sleeping mask and earplugs are recommended if your sleep is sensitive to sounds and/or light. My mattress was also not very good and caused me pain in the neck next morning.
More info:
This is a small hotel. It was probably a villa or chalet for rich people from Lisbon. This what would give it the familiar charm that is described by some. This also causes the humidity in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not facing the street as the hotel is located at a street curve and cars are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank FirasES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We enjoyed seeing the Moorish castle from our window, especially at night when it was lit up. There are nice plants on the terrace and the breakfast was very nice with a good variety.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We walked to the castle and palace from the hotel but it is a fair hike.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, middle window. Very nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rla1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is a beautiful, small family hotel where you really feel cared for. We had a lovely room at the top of the building. If you want faceless bland contemporary 4* luxury where you are left alone, don't stay here. But if you want charm, friendly staff who go out of their way to make your stay great and an excellent location, all for really very little cost, stay here. Great place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMR0ss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nova Sintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nova Sintra

Address: Largo Afonso de Albuquerque No 25, Sintra 2710-519, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sintra
#3 Family Hotel in Sintra
Price Range: £57 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Nova Sintra 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nova Sintra has a large sun terrace overlooking the Sintra Mountain Range and a romantic patio shaded by large trees. It features simply decorated rooms and free Wi-Fi.With mountain views, recently renovated rooms at Hotel Nova Sintra come equipped with a satellite TV. They are all uniquely furnished with decorative headboards and antique furniture.Guests can enjoy a breakfast on the patio or the sun terrace. Indoors, there is a small living room that functions as a restaurant and lobby area, serving traditional Portuguese dishes.The villa is situated 1 km from the historical centre and 5 km from the Pena Palace. With the hotel’s car rental service, guests can easily visit Lisbon, a 30-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nova Sintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Nova Hotel Sintra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing