We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but a Loooooong wait”

Restaurante da Adraga
Ranked #8 of 260 Restaurants in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food but a Loooooong wait”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Food was good, we had a sea bass. It took them over an hour to seat us but once we were seated, the food got there quickly. Views are beautiful from the windows. We had indoor seating. May try it again but it seems like it is an expensive place. They are the only restaurant at Adraga beach. They take credit cards!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KumarL1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    166
    37
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish- fantastic view”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were taken here on our day out we had with Portugal tours thoroughly enjoyed it! A table by the window was reserved for us which is worth doing if you book yourself as the views over the beach are incredible. There was a fairly extensive menu and myself and my husband enjoyed a whole grilled Sea Bream between us with a salad and chips. It was fantastic- so fresh and tasty and we shared a very acceptable bottle of wine as well. I can't remember exactly what we paid, but it wasn't expensive.
I would highly recommend and would definitely return if I was in the area again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank decourcy200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This place was off the beaten path but worth it. The first thing you notice is that it sits upon the edge of the shore, where ferocious waves were pounding. We were lucky enough to be there when the force of the waves was strong enough that the surf was solidifying into foam. A beautiful site.

Besides that, the food was excellent. I enjoy white fish, and their golden bream was fantastic. The waiter (more on him later) brought in the fish to show me in order to get my approval before cooking. Clearly, this fish had been caught the same day. In addition, another member of our party LOVED the fried shrimp. Plus, our desert (some banana and cream item) was delectable.

Lastly, our server, George, was the friendliest guy. He talked to us about our plans, and when he found out I was a law student, he even offered to help me search for study abroad opportunities in Portugal! Although unnecessary, his amicability was wonderful.

Overall, a great experience after our time at Sintra,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zack K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing fish with amazing waves”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Da Adraga is one of the most exotic restaurant in portuguese cost, specially in winter time. In middle of nowear, in the end of long downhill street from Almocageme village. Beach is empty, only the Atlantic ocean with big waves.
Restaurant itself is simple, little bit like barrack, also inside. But no problem, it´s very good contrast for food. Food is also simple, but amazing well cooked. And when you speak about food, it´s of course totally fresh local fish and all other style of seafood.
As in typical portuguese restaurant, you pay fish per kilo. For 4 person 1,35 kg fish and 0,5 kg prawns as starter was perfect portion with one bottle of local wine. And with very cheap price.
Service was friendly and professional, and small child was also wellcome. Really recommendable experience - but you must have car. Otherwise ricing back to to the village will be too heavy after long lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linnainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing views, even better food”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Spotted this restaurant on TA as we were looking for a place for lunch near Cabo da Roca. Thank god for this place! Views from the window of the tide hitting the rocks and shore cannot be replicated and the seafood is really as good as it gets. Anywhere outside of Portugal you would pay double what we paid for the meal. Our server was incredibly friendly as well and spoke English very well, gave us great directions to Cabo da Roca and other recommendations of things to see around Portugal. If I'm ever back in Portugal/Sintra I will make sure to go back here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaurja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante da Adraga also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Been to Restaurante da Adraga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing