We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go somewhere else!”
Review of Hockey caffee - CLOSED

Hockey caffee
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ventura, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go somewhere else!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

BAD SERVICE AND WAY OVERPRICED! We asked for a drink and got something different. Waiters were no help and never checked back with only two tables with customers.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    67
    70
    76
    187
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
433 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Very average and overpriced”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Happened upon this place after a long day spent visiting the wonderful sights in Sintra, and unfortunately didn't look any further. The cost was exorbitant compared to the quality of the meal - we paid almost twice the price of several of our best meals in Lisbon and Porto, and the food was average at best. We were almost the only people in the MASSIVE restaurant at 6pm, and our food was served literally within minutes of having ordered it. This place definitely caters to the masses with little attention to quality food at reasonable prices. I would avoid it unless you're desperate!!

Helpful?
2 Thank pesti13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Charging approach is a disservice”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The menu is extensive. The service was ok. The space large. The food ok. Decent portions, cooked well and ok. The bill to end the meal - humph. Tourist trap? Scam? Rudeness? Not too sure but adding €15 to our simple meal for the bread and cheese they placed on the table unrequested. They are not alone in doing this and up to €5 seems ok. But €15... Goodbye tip and bitter taste left. Without the billing scam a good, quick, reasonable easy meal location. Not a must go to but hits the spot of filling one up to keep exploring the wonderful Sintra.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overprice tourist trap with rude waiter”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Our tour guide recommended this restaurant as the best for getting diners in and out, giving us more time to visit Sintra. Six of us, three couples, from our tour group shared a table here. When ordering one woman mentioned that she and her husband would be sharing a dish. The waiter actually snickered at her. All three couples shared meals between spouses. There was no drink menu, but four of us ordered beer. Before I could mention "copa" to order a small beer, the waiter was gone, returning with a foot and a half pilsner glasses at 7+ euros each. The food was uniformly mediocre. The staff put plates of olives, ham, bread, butter, that we did not ordered, on the table. We ate olives and the bread, discovering later that we were charged 1 euro for each roll, and more for the butter. Is there any more insufferable habit than the custom of placing food that you have not order on the table? On our tour through Spain and Portugal, we only encountered this at restaurants in Portugal. Our bill was quite high for what we had to eat and we were all justifiably annoyed with our experience. Several of our group let our guide know that she should not direct tour members to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

The view and atmosphere from outside the restaurant was good and the food was overpriced but average. Watch out for the plate of olives, cheese, butter and bread that will arrive on your table as it will set you back an extra €11.50 which literally wiped out any tip I would have given if the food was better quality. I recommend trying one of the other restaurants in Sintra.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StarvinMarvin_1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hockey caffee also viewed

Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
Sintra, Sintra Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing