We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed with this hotel even though we didn't stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We made an advance booking (about 4 months in advance) via Booking.com. The room rate was good and the conditions clearly set out the cancellation penalties, which included 50% if you cancelled within less than 7 days. Unfortunately our plans changed and we cancelled with only 3 days to go. We were totally prepared to pay the penalty, but the hotel sent us a very nice email back saying they would waive the charge. We confirmed this with Booking.com and they said the hotel was waiving the penalty so there would be no charge. Impressive!

We were actually in Sintra for a few hours and saw the hotel, it looks lovely and is in a great location. We will stay there next time for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Vanmerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
There are newer reviews for Sintra Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

400 - 406 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Sintra Boutique Hotel and I instantly regretted we hadn't booked for longer. It was a fabulous hotel. The staff are just fantastic - Sofia in particular was so brilliant from booking to saying 'Goodbye'. She got us a parking space outside the hotel even - a mean feat - those of you who have been to Sintra will appreciate. We had a lovely room - overlooking the front of the hotel and the National Palace. It had the best double glazing I ever experienced. We never heard any of the noise outside from the constant traffic, tourists etc. as long as the windows were closed. Sintra was absolutely stunning. Traffic was hectic as long as the day trippers were around but usually before 10am and after 7pm it was much quieter and more civilised.

I have never experienced customer service like it. The receptionist came out and greeted us- and escorted us to our room - gave us a tour of the hotel, showed us how everything worked, gave us wifi codes, brochures and advised us on places to visit. They even spotted we were celebrating a special occasion and gave us a beautiful cake and Champagne - totally unexpected.

Breakfast - like the rest of the hotel was seriously elegant and well executed. It was perhaps one of the best breakfasts I ever had. The room is quite minimalistic. All items are 'buffet style' however we did get espressos, toast and 'fresh' orange juice to order. I have never seen such a variety of fresh fruit on a breakfast buffet. The hot section was topped up regularly - so you never had lots of cold greasy food sitting there. I wish I could take a bus tour of restaurateurs here for a breakfast masterclass!!!!! I think overall it was really good value too - you get what you pay for applies here!!!

To sum up - gorgeous classy hotel, brilliant location, fantastic staff, wonderful food. How could you not love it???????

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be good here.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno P, Proprietário at Sintra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and the time you spent leaving your comment at the Sintra Boutique Hotel’s page.

Your opinion is highly appreciated as we are constantly making our way to improve our quality of service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Sintra Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With my very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lovely hotel. Very central location which is perfect. Short taxi ride from train station. Comfortable room with nice bathrooms. Nice view. Staff. On reception very helpful and friendly.
Only thing that let it down was breakfast. You had to order the night before which we did but then the following morning were given some bread and fruit and nothing we had ordered. The following morning was a Buffett and was considerably better. I do not know what went wrong the first morning. The staff at breakfast barely spoke a word. Other than this which was only a slight problem a great hotel

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Greta hotel, modern rooms, good breakfast, very central location in Sintra, friendly staff. Be warned though that traffic in Sintra is a nightmare! I managed to grab one of the 3 parking spaces in front of the hotel - not sure what I would have done otherwise. Almost a constant traffic jam in the town and tough to drive around. Palaces and museums are very good though and well worth a visit - if returning I would do it outside of peak season. The place to eat locally is definitely Tulhas Restaurant - had an excellent meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdavies2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Do amenities excite you? Are bellboys and valets essential part of your life? Do you look for chateaubriand in the room service menu? If you answer yes to any of the above, then this hotel is not for you. Instead, what this hotel offers, behind the unsightly pink exterior facade, is a great location, situated right in the heart of Sintra. With less than 5 minute walk to the National Palace and 10-15 minute walk to Quinta da Regaleira. To get to National Palace of Pena and Moors Castle, you hop on a bus on the next street and after 10 - 15 minutes of winding roads, steep inclines and sweating palms you will arrive your destinations. The hotel offers nice touches such as pillow menu that allows you to choose from variety of pillow(s), free buffet breakfast which included fresh orange juice, fruits, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, pastries and coffee/tea, and even though the hotel is right next to a playground and on a busy street, the sound proof windows kept the room quiet. Prior to our arrival, we were asked to fill out a Guest Preference form, the form allows you to indicate your room temperature preference and the type(s) of welcome amenities you prefer (keep in mind there are costs associated with these amenities). The absolute best part about this hotel is the surprise complementary champagne and chocolate cake to celebrate one of our birthdays. Before I wrap this up, one more thing to keep in mind, the smaller the room numbers the closer you are to the elevator/stairwell, so request a higher number room is you don't want to deal with people going in and out of the elevators/stairs. Our room was 202 and it was right across from the elevator/stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

This Hotel had a great location and views overlooking the National Palace. Is has been completely renovated, recently. And a very new hotel, maybe 1 and half years old. It was an old residence. I AM VERY picky, where I stay (sort of a hotel snob you could say) and this place passes with flying colours. Love the mix of Old and modern. The location is excellent as you are right in the old town and close to everything. The service was excellent. Breakfast was great (As much as I enjoy espressos. It was nice to have a regular Canadian coffee). Freshly squeezed orange juice. Fresh Buns, cheeses and deli meats, fruits and pastries. Just right. We also experienced a dinner there that was excellent. 2 Thumbs up from my kids, who are foodies. Our room was right across from the outdoor patio on our floor. Loved the beds and linens. I booked 3 rooms for 3 nights....This was an excellent value. We will be back with more time.

Room Tip: I like the second floor best. And will ask for room 206 as it is across from the loggia which makes...
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Isabel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno P, Proprietário at Sintra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and the time you spent leaving your comment at the Sintra Boutique Hotel’s page.

Your opinion is highly appreciated as we are constantly making our way to improve our quality of service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Sintra Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With my very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Hotel is in an excellent position with views overlooking the National Palace.
Welcome was very friendly and efficient.
The hotel also provided a lovely birthday cake surprise for my husband, who was celebrating his 50th birthday.
We only stayed 1 night and we should have stayed for 2, as there are a lot of sights to see in and around Sintra.
Both of our rooms were lovely, we had rooms with a window seat looking out towards to Palace and a couple of local restaurants, but without any noise at night. Perfect. I also liked the fact that rooms had different plaques outside the doors relating to Sintra and surrounding area. Novel door access too.
Breakfast was good, not as varied as some places we have stayed but all good quality. We enjoyed the Sintra speciality cheesecakes - good to be able to try these and the freshly squeezed (as we sat down for breakfast) orange juice.
Staff at the hotel were very helpful and ordered us a taxi in the morning chaos to get to Pena Palace. They had also provided very good instructions for how to get the bus to Pena but we got up later than we had planned and the queue was too long.
We would definitely stay here again if in Sintra

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pambolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuno P, Proprietário at Sintra Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2015

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review and the time you spent leaving your comment at the Sintra Boutique Hotel’s page.

Your opinion is highly appreciated as we are constantly making our way to improve our quality of service.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to Sintra Boutique Hotel in the near future.

With my very best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.5 mi away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
0.2 mi away
Lawrence's Hotel
Lawrence's Hotel
#9 of 15 in Sintra
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#4 of 15 in Sintra
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#3 of 15 in Sintra
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
Hotel Tivoli Sintra
#8 of 15 in Sintra
1,601 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
Ibis Lisboa Sintra
#6 of 15 in Sintra
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sintra Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sintra Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde de Monserrate 48, Sintra 2710-591, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Sintra
Price Range: £96 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sintra Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the Boutique Hotel, in the boutique destination that is Sintra where the contemporary art pieces and bespoke decorated rooms will be waiting for you.SBH Group ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sintra Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing